Traffic on the Roads

Postby AndyG » Wed Aug 06, 2008 12:42 pm

Any idea why the roads are so quite today. Anything happening that i should know about?
Funny i don't have any staff at work either vhpy
coastwise

Re: Traffic on the Roads

Postby coastwise » Wed Aug 06, 2008 2:13 pm

Must be another holiday declared by the union's :lol: :lol: :lol:
Aviate Raptor
Thermal

Postby Thermal » Wed Aug 06, 2008 6:00 pm

cant they strike every day?

What a joy in the traffic today!

T
Microlighting gives you wings!

ZU - ZIP (Nothing?!) yet!

Postby The Agent » Wed Aug 06, 2008 8:04 pm

Got from Edenvale to otherside JHB in 15 minutes was a pleasure.

And back in peak traffic at 16:00 never going less that 110 k[h and through Galoolies at 130 nevr at that time of the day before, normally standing still because sipo stuffed up in the front. (^^) puff

Postby Boet » Wed Aug 06, 2008 8:25 pm

Elke pyn het sy plesier ook. vhpy Tot wanneer wil die broeders nou staak? :evil:

Postby Gyronaut » Wed Aug 06, 2008 8:42 pm

You guys scare me

Are you seriously not aware of the COSATU strike today?? Where have you been? Ostrich syndrome?
Lefseat bru, I mean this with all due respect and so far I have enjoyed your posts but you scare me....

No wonder the 'million man' against crime was a f...up!

Its because of the apathy of the logical, reasonable thinking, people like you/us that idiots [braindead never worked a day in his life prick] Julius Malema get to call the shots.

Time we woke up and stood together.

Ek raak nou gatvol vir die kak.

Forgive me but I am sick and tired of South African citizens rolling over and playing dead and then bitching about it after the event.

FFS ##
Koevoet

Postby Koevoet » Wed Aug 06, 2008 8:48 pm

JetRanger wrote:
Forgive me but I am sick and tired of South African citizens rolling over and playing dead and then bitching about it after the event.

FFS ##
Have to agree with this one - especially the bitching part.

Jaco
Nothing is impossible in life.
Very happy Scout Piloooot
http://www.facebook.com/home.php#!/home ... p_activity
Uncle Spud Murphy

Postby Uncle Spud Murphy » Wed Aug 06, 2008 9:57 pm

JetRanger wrote:You guys scare me

Are you seriously not aware of the COSATU strike today?? Where have you been? Ostrich syndrome?
Lefseat bru, I mean this with all due respect and so far I have enjoyed your posts but you scare me....

No wonder the 'million man' against crime was a fuckup!

Its because of the apathy of the logical, reasonable thinking, people like you/us that idiots [braindead never worked a day in his life prick] Julius Malema get to call the shots.

Time we woke up and stood together.

Ek raak nou gatvol vir die kak.

FFS ##

Vriendelik Groete Gentlemen,

Now I am going to put my feet right into the Olifant k@k. I am a stranger and should keep my nose out I know but I cannot especially when the fight is right. Well done JetRanger for speaking out. I have been most interested in SA Politics and commerce and I agree with everything you say. Hitler and his thugs got away with it because the people let them to until it was too late. Same with Stalin, Lenin, Pol Pot and uncle Tom #ucking Cobley and all. You want the Black man (And there are a lot of bloody good one's too, I know, I have met them) to keep telling you how you live for as long as you live. Fine, get on with it. You want the Black man behind the screen to treat you like something they stepped in? Fine, get on with it. You wouldn't take k@k from a white man would you? So why take it from a Black man? Apartheid ended 15 years ago but it didn't did it? It just changed sides. Your the one who has to watch what you say. Your the one who loses his job because of another mans colour and your the one who is always at fault when the Black policeman arrives.

South Africa was built into a strong country by stronger men and they built a good country with good people. Black and White can work together because most of you already do and please do not tell me that there are Black people for whom you have no respect just because of there colour. If that were true, then there is no hope for South Africa. Look at your Rugby team, by Christ what an outstanding match that was and they ALL worked together, Black and White as a team to achieve the same goal. It is not race that's a problem in SA, it's bloody apathy. Toast some meat, have a few klipdrift's and put holes in the air, yeah, were ok!! Are you fcuk. You allow it to continue as it is now and SA will crumble and you all know why, don't you? Because of the the despots. The Hitlers, the Stalin's, Pol Pot and Uncle Tom #ucking Cobley and all. Open your eyes gentlemen, see what is happening around you and DO something about it. Get rid of the corrupt @ssholes destroying your country, white and Black and I assure you that South Africa will then become the greatest nation on this planet and nothing can stop that from happening and what about your future generations to come, what about them????????????????????????????????????????????????/

JetRanger!! Thank you for crossing your thumbs. Had a meeting today with a prospective buyer and we have come to an agreement. Hope to you and your softness soon <*>

Right then gents!! I already have a deep fondness for South Africa and it hurts me to see what is happening. I do care and when I care I say so. I have no intention to offend and I do not expect you to agree with my views. This may be the last time I am allowed on the forum, but I tell you this. I would rather have not said what I felt I needed to say because it was never needed to be said in the first place. The ANC and the Black South Africans have had 15 years to get their act together and guess what - so have the White South Africans. Working together can work wonders.

Whatever the outcome for voicing my opinion I have the greatest respect for you all and your Nation.

Alles van die beste (^^) (^^)
Uncle Spud Murphy

Telling it as it is saves explaining later. Alles van die beste
grostek

Postby grostek » Wed Aug 06, 2008 10:27 pm

Hi All,

Eish guys, yes it all probably needed to be said, but cant we keep this on an aviation basis, after all there are enough other forums out there where such "wake up" messages will probably have more effect.

If I stepped on someones toes, I apologise but I believe we should try to stick to aviation as far as possible.

Kind regards,

Gunter Rostek.

Postby AndyG » Wed Aug 06, 2008 11:25 pm

Hey guys,

I said it tongue in cheek. I am not an imbecile. Trust me this stay away cost my company big bucks today. If I have offended anyone then I apologise but I was just trying to inject a little humour into the day.

Sorry all

Postby The Agent » Thu Aug 07, 2008 8:30 am

One day I hopped in a taxi and we took off for the airport. We were
driving in the right lane when suddenly a black car jumped out of a
parking space right in front of us. My taxi driver slammed on his
breaks, skidded, and missed the other car by just inches! The driver
of the other car whipped his head around and started yelling at us. My
taxi driver just smiled and waved at the guy. And I mean, he was
really friendly.

So I asked, 'Why did you just do that? This guy almost ruined your car
and sent us to the hospital!' This is when my taxi driver taught me
what I now call, 'The Law of the Garbage Truck.'

He explained that many people are like garbage trucks. They run around
full of garbage, full of frustration, full of anger, and full of
disappointment.
As their garbage piles up, they need a place to dump it and sometimes
they'll dump it on you. Don't take it personally. Just smile, wave,
wish them well, and move on. Don't take their garbage and spread it to
other people at work, at home or on the streets.

The bottom line is that successful people do not let garbage trucks
take over their day. Life's too short to wake up in the morning with
regrets, so..... 'Love the people who treat you right.. Pray for the
ones who don't.'

Life is ten percent what you make it and ninety percent how you take
it!

Postby AndyG » Thu Aug 07, 2008 9:53 am

Good advice, I am waving and smiling (^^)

Postby Gyronaut » Thu Aug 07, 2008 9:57 am

Forgive me Leftseat. My Bad.

^*^^

Hear-hear Uncle Spud and The Agent =D*

... and yep, Grostek, you are right, hardly the place for me to vent. Forgive me.

Len

Postby Tailspin » Thu Aug 07, 2008 11:49 am

Funny

Yesterday it still took me 8 mins to walk to work ($$) So did not notice any diff in the trafic :twisted:

And was great - Quiet the whole day - virtually no users at work - xxx Cosatu

Definately not good for the economy though ## ##

Postby Tumbleweed » Thu Aug 07, 2008 12:49 pm

Whilst touring in Switzerland, as my wife and I enter the (always orderly and efficient) train station, the place gets swamped by the whole comunity boarding the trains.

Turns out it's a holiday. Kids, ouma, the disabled, all start passing around food, starting sing-alongs and super excited about all going hiking in the mountains. What spirit.

One tannie explains that they all make a conscious effort to get out the cities and towns and by hiking the trails with families observe their holiday and obviously inquires where we're from and how would we be sharing their holiday. But they were really curious as to how we as South Africans ( Oh Mandela) observed our holidays.

Of course I wore my serious face and between bites of cookies and sips of peach rum :oops: explained that our whole nation also travels on trains to venture out and hike a bit ( left out the dop 'n chop, klippies n' Castle bit :twisted: )

Point is; Seriously - should'nt we also for once also observe a collected front and all stay away from work - to protest against unrealistic price hikes to which we can jack anyway- and then make full use of this protest and arrange a lekker fly-in with the family and friends following by car and enjoying a braai and the day out?

I mean, at the financial year end, can we really say that one day made all the difference? (Says me who pushes 07h00 - 20h00)

(Now I'm rambling)- my brat's teacher approaches me the other day and asks,

" Why when I asked the kids what they want to be when they grow up, yours answers " A LANDLORD :twisted:? "