the ap was impress with the condition inside!! and i mean thus is a high hour machine,doing training....
so i must differ from u oaks in all respect!

Did he open up the engine. The problem would not show at the piston side, but at the crankcase side. Remember, the fuel get sucked into crank cavity, and from there pushed into the cylinder for combustion. Most dirt will be trapped inside the crankcase, and crankshaft. The dirt that gets through to the cylinder will be worked out of engine in time.pietskiet02 wrote:eish.. i had it inspected the other day.
the ap was impress with the condition inside!! and i mean thus is a high hour machine,doing training....
so i must differ from u oaks in all respect!![]()
Washing in clean fuel (not premix) is all that my AP will allow.Miskiet wrote:I am washing my filters in fuel.
So K&N does not complain about damage to the fibres, but to the rubber structure of the filters. As to re-oiling it, the K&N oil is a 'tacking agent' and not a lubricant. It is designed to attract and trap dust - I doubt 2 stroke oil will do that effectively.18. Can I use anything other than K&N cleaner and oil?
For best results, we recommend that you use K&N air filter recharging oil and K&N air filter cleaner. K&N air filter oil is a special compound which forms a very efficient tacking agent that helps capture dust. Our cleaner is a non-detergent degreaser. Petroleum products such as transmission fluid and motor oil will soften and destroy the rubber sealing edges. Harsh solvents and gasoline will harden the rubber seals causing the filter to distort (shrink). A mild detergent can be used in a pinch, but care should be taken to fully rinse it out. Rinsing detergent out of a filter is similar to getting soap out of a sponge; it’s not that easy to do. Always make sure the filter is dry before re-oiling.
Phoned Boet today.John Young wrote:2. Have a mate accelerate your trike at full power on the runway and as the trike passes you, notice the fine mist spray emitting from the carbs.
Oh yes, with a GT450 it should not be a problem.John Young wrote:Phoned Boet today.John Young wrote:2. Have a mate accelerate your trike at full power on the runway and as the trike passes you, notice the fine mist spray emitting from the carbs.
Had a lekker laugh - thanks for making my day Boet.
When I said "Read The Firkin Manual you dee double oh es" Boet nearly collapsed from laughing.![]()
![]()
![]()
Seriously - try the above experiment. I know about / of the rubbers supposedly hardening. This whole K&N oil on filter story smacks of back-end sales IMHO.
Boet says "I RTFM and FTFM and that's why I'm still flying." (I Read and Follow the Firkin Manual).![]()
![]()
Will see you in Loeries sometime.
John ZU-sEXY
Arnulf wrote:Oh yes, with a GT450 it should not be a problem.