K&N Filters

Technical questions, advice, sharing information etc (aircraft, engines, instruments, weather and such)
pietskiet02

Re: K&N Filters

Postby pietskiet02 » Thu Jun 19, 2008 7:41 pm

eish.. i had it inspected the other day.

the ap was impress with the condition inside!! and i mean thus is a high hour machine,doing training....

so i must differ from u oaks in all respect! :lol: :!:
Wargames

Postby Wargames » Thu Jun 19, 2008 8:26 pm

pietskiet02 wrote:eish.. i had it inspected the other day.

the ap was impress with the condition inside!! and i mean thus is a high hour machine,doing training....

so i must differ from u oaks in all respect! :lol: :!:
Did he open up the engine. The problem would not show at the piston side, but at the crankcase side. Remember, the fuel get sucked into crank cavity, and from there pushed into the cylinder for combustion. Most dirt will be trapped inside the crankcase, and crankshaft. The dirt that gets through to the cylinder will be worked out of engine in time.

Any opinions??
The Naked Trike
ZU-AVL
"I hate CIRCLIPS!!"
Miskiet

Postby Miskiet » Fri Jun 20, 2008 7:31 am

I am washing my filters in fuel. I know of a school plane that has done over 1200hrs - filters washed in fuel every 25hrs. It's crank was inspected and was still within wear limits! (582). It was a school plane and the school was located between maize fields - plenty of dust around.

Now if K&N says that fuel swells the fibres of their filters and their filters are woven from these fibres it would follow that the open area of a fuel washed filter is less (it will filter out more particles) .i.e. a better filter. The drawback is it will flow less air leading to a small drop in power (I don't see this on my trike but you only notice if you change to new filters). My 503 with the standard Geo-killey prop still revs to 6500 static so I can't lose too much power.

I reckon this K&N recommendation came out of their focus on making power (racing bikes,cars) and not because of filtration performance.

When you spray oil only the outside of the woven mesh is covered, if you wash it in dilute fuel/oil and the fuel evaporates the entire mesh is uniformly coated - or am I missing something? It is also very easy to apply the spray oil too heavily or unevenly....

I've got my bulletproof/flameproof coat on - let's hear it ! :roll:

P.S. - Maybe that plane's engine lasted so long because we deviated from procedure and "modified" the filter to a better one (by washing it in fuel!)
pietskiet02

Postby pietskiet02 » Fri Jun 20, 2008 5:49 pm

yes the engine was open completely.

and we have somebody who is agreeing with what i said.

it can be washed with petrol,no harm done!!! what so ever as long as u use some part of lubrication!!!

heee ha (^^)

K&N Filters

Postby John Young » Sat Jun 21, 2008 4:43 am

Miskiet wrote:I am washing my filters in fuel.
Washing in clean fuel (not premix) is all that my AP will allow. !!!!

However, be sure to only wash / rinse the outside to loosen and remove particles.

Experiment for those that don’t know –

1. Remove the air cleaner/s.
2. Have a mate accelerate your trike at full power on the runway and as the trike passes you, notice the fine mist spray emitting from the carbs.
3. Therefore – not washing in fuel equates to utter bollocks.

IMHO spraying oil on in a dusty environment is looking for K@K. :shock: :shock: (**)

John ZU-sEXY
justin.schoeman

Postby justin.schoeman » Sat Jun 21, 2008 12:12 pm

From http://www.knfilters.com/faq.htm:
18. Can I use anything other than K&N cleaner and oil?

For best results, we recommend that you use K&N air filter recharging oil and K&N air filter cleaner. K&N air filter oil is a special compound which forms a very efficient tacking agent that helps capture dust. Our cleaner is a non-detergent degreaser. Petroleum products such as transmission fluid and motor oil will soften and destroy the rubber sealing edges. Harsh solvents and gasoline will harden the rubber seals causing the filter to distort (shrink). A mild detergent can be used in a pinch, but care should be taken to fully rinse it out. Rinsing detergent out of a filter is similar to getting soap out of a sponge; it’s not that easy to do. Always make sure the filter is dry before re-oiling.
So K&N does not complain about damage to the fibres, but to the rubber structure of the filters. As to re-oiling it, the K&N oil is a 'tacking agent' and not a lubricant. It is designed to attract and trap dust - I doubt 2 stroke oil will do that effectively.
pietskiet02

Postby pietskiet02 » Sat Jun 21, 2008 12:20 pm

hmmm very interessting.

we will stay away from k...k vhpy vhpy

Postby Boet » Sun Jun 22, 2008 9:29 am

I REST MY CASE!! vhpy vhpy :roll:
pietskiet02

Postby pietskiet02 » Tue Jun 24, 2008 2:27 pm

thank u boet.....! :P

Postby Boet » Wed Jun 25, 2008 6:13 am

Ja ek sien tog jy is BAAAAIIE slimmer as ek...... :roll:

K&N Filters

Postby John Young » Mon Jul 07, 2008 6:51 pm

John Young wrote:2. Have a mate accelerate your trike at full power on the runway and as the trike passes you, notice the fine mist spray emitting from the carbs.
Phoned Boet today.

Had a lekker laugh - thanks for making my day Boet. !!!!

When I said "Read The Firkin Manual you dee double oh es" Boet nearly collapsed from laughing. (**) vhpy vhpy

Seriously - try the above experiment. I know about / of the rubbers supposedly hardening. This whole K&N oil on filter story smacks of back-end sales IMHO.

Boet says "I RTFM and FTFM and that's why I'm still flying." (I Read and Follow the Firkin Manual). vhpy vhpy

Will see you in Loeries sometime. !!!!

John ZU-sEXY

Postby Boet » Mon Jul 07, 2008 8:50 pm

:lol: Thanks for the call John, hope to meet soon. I enjoy the people I meet on this forum. It is my only daily connection with the rest of the flying community. Met a lot of fantastic people, and made some very good friends! vhpy
Arnulf

Postby Arnulf » Tue Jul 08, 2008 12:50 pm

John Young wrote:
John Young wrote:2. Have a mate accelerate your trike at full power on the runway and as the trike passes you, notice the fine mist spray emitting from the carbs.
Phoned Boet today.

Had a lekker laugh - thanks for making my day Boet. !!!!

When I said "Read The Firkin Manual you dee double oh es" Boet nearly collapsed from laughing. (**) vhpy vhpy

Seriously - try the above experiment. I know about / of the rubbers supposedly hardening. This whole K&N oil on filter story smacks of back-end sales IMHO.

Boet says "I RTFM and FTFM and that's why I'm still flying." (I Read and Follow the Firkin Manual). vhpy vhpy

Will see you in Loeries sometime. !!!!

John ZU-sEXY
Oh yes, with a GT450 it should not be a problem. :lol:

Postby John Young » Thu Jul 10, 2008 6:44 pm

Arnulf wrote:Oh yes, with a GT450 it should not be a problem. :lol:
vhpy vhpy vhpy

Yes, but at 85mph it is still a "moerofalongway" with my trusted softness doing the ground support.

Better to bum a ride with you (mind you the view is not so good from 33 000 feet). vhpy

John ZU-sEXY