Thunder storm and some heavy winds

pietmeyer

Thunder storm and some heavy winds

Postby pietmeyer » Fri Oct 23, 2009 6:24 am

On Wednesday I flew my trike from Centurion to Lichtenburg in the morning and noticed that the wind started to pick up when I got there. In the afternoon the wind turned into a fairly heavy but constant wind from the west. Phoned Lanceria for a weather update and then took off on the trip back to Centurion. Close to Koster the wind changed and a heavy wind from the north caught up with me. Had a few scary moments in the air, dodged a few rain clouds and looked for alternative landing area.

I managed to land at Crosswinds to meet up with Trevor Davies who offered me some hanager space. What a great guy. This is what makes microlighting fun. Good people always willing to help. My friend Tracer came to pick me up. Needless to say I was still shaking an hour or so after I touched down.

Thanks Trevor and Tracer.

I do not think that there is another group of people out there like the microlighters. I am proud to be part of such a community
Piet Meyer
Jabi J400 ZU-DUU (Wonderboom)

Re: Thunder storm and some heavy winds

Postby Big-D » Fri Oct 23, 2009 6:59 am

Ja, similar incident with me in Cullinan (Jag) - Okes always willing to help

wiskeyfoxtrot

Postby wiskeyfoxtrot » Fri Oct 23, 2009 7:07 am

Hey Piet,
Its called a warm hotel room with "alternative " entertainment.
:shock: :shock: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Glad you got out of that one okay !

Later
" Excuse me while i kiss the sky "

Aeroprakt A22 Foxbat
ZU - DYE
Sport Cruiser
ZU - LSA
Tracer

Postby Tracer » Fri Oct 23, 2009 7:43 am

No problem...... Just felt weird driving to Crosswinds and not flying :lol:

Postby Big-D » Fri Oct 23, 2009 7:53 am

Speaking of storms:

I have shared this some time ago - One day I was at Aviators Airfield with storm brewing outside, wind so bad that the hanger doors were SHAKING violently - Next thing I hear a trike overhead, it was IMPOSSIBLE for anyone to fly in that pre-storm-wind and survive.....I started praying for the oke and heard woman at the clubhouse scream in terror watching the poor guy try to land but he got MO@ERed by mountain rotor and had to abort landing - Dale from AP radio's him to land in Brits, he responded calmly and flew to Brits and landed no problem

Found out weeks later it was our mate STray dog - Let me tell you, I have never seen anything like it - Courage under fire (And a GT450) (^^) (!!)

Postby Dish » Fri Oct 23, 2009 10:21 am

Stray dog flies his plane lads ... a hell of a pilot - doesnt take chances but doesnt easily get rattled either...

if he was rattled then condidtions must have been abismal !!! vhpy vhpy

Fly safe boys - the weather turns fast these days !!

Postby AndyG » Fri Oct 23, 2009 10:52 am

Don't worry Dish, the only storm you will see is in a teacup vhpy (^^)

Postby Dish » Fri Oct 23, 2009 11:02 am

Gee leftseat - you put a hell of a lot of thought into that comment - CHOP... yeah listen seriously the bantam is to slow to out run storms so i gotta be very careful - cabbage patch tea cup flyer -???? thas me.. !!
Thatchman

Postby Thatchman » Fri Oct 23, 2009 11:13 am

The thing is that bad wx and wind has less impact on heavier planes than light ones.

You must not worry Dish. You have ample ballast :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

I am referring to your wide shoulders and big muscles of course :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby Big-D » Fri Oct 23, 2009 11:18 am

[quote][cabbage patch tea cup flyer -???? thas me.. !!/quote]

Kaaaa*k, Tommorow Zebula China - Nothing cabbage patch about that puff

Postby Dish » Fri Oct 23, 2009 12:32 pm

Yep WX depending a trip to Zebula is on the cards - quite a lekker trip - vhpy vhpy

Will call you later to discuss the details..
topflight
Survived first engine out

Postby topflight » Fri Oct 23, 2009 2:32 pm

Maybe we must start a list (almost like the guys on AVCOM) where one can find help if stuck at some remote place??
vernon11

Postby vernon11 » Sun Oct 25, 2009 1:47 pm

topflight wrote:Maybe we must start a list (almost like the guys on AVCOM) where one can find help if stuck at some remote place??
I will start.
If you are in the Port Edward area. My number is 0834598673.
Fly safe.
Vernon.

Postby RV4ker (RIP) » Sun Oct 25, 2009 2:25 pm

Harties (Coves) or Vryburg area
George oh 82 882 three755 (sms works best. I tend to ignore numbers I don't know and especially "private no" callers :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: )

Postby AndyG » Mon Oct 26, 2009 7:22 am

Cato Ridge and highway area,(KZN)

oh72eight68four 5 nine too

Can help obtain fuel, transport, accom etc or just put you onto the right people.