Thunder storm and some heavy winds
- pietmeyer
- Pilot in Command
Thunder storm and some heavy winds
On Wednesday I flew my trike from Centurion to Lichtenburg in the morning and noticed that the wind started to pick up when I got there. In the afternoon the wind turned into a fairly heavy but constant wind from the west. Phoned Lanceria for a weather update and then took off on the trip back to Centurion. Close to Koster the wind changed and a heavy wind from the north caught up with me. Had a few scary moments in the air, dodged a few rain clouds and looked for alternative landing area.
I managed to land at Crosswinds to meet up with Trevor Davies who offered me some hanager space. What a great guy. This is what makes microlighting fun. Good people always willing to help. My friend Tracer came to pick me up. Needless to say I was still shaking an hour or so after I touched down.
Thanks Trevor and Tracer.
I do not think that there is another group of people out there like the microlighters. I am proud to be part of such a community
I managed to land at Crosswinds to meet up with Trevor Davies who offered me some hanager space. What a great guy. This is what makes microlighting fun. Good people always willing to help. My friend Tracer came to pick me up. Needless to say I was still shaking an hour or so after I touched down.
Thanks Trevor and Tracer.
I do not think that there is another group of people out there like the microlighters. I am proud to be part of such a community
Piet Meyer
Jabi J400 ZU-DUU (Wonderboom)
Re: Thunder storm and some heavy winds
Ja, similar incident with me in Cullinan (Jag) - Okes always willing to help
- wiskeyfoxtrot
- Top Gun
Hey Piet,
Its called a warm hotel room with "alternative " entertainment.
Glad you got out of that one okay !
Later
Its called a warm hotel room with "alternative " entertainment.

Glad you got out of that one okay !
Later
" Excuse me while i kiss the sky "
Aeroprakt A22 Foxbat
ZU - DYE
Sport Cruiser
ZU - LSA
Aeroprakt A22 Foxbat
ZU - DYE
Sport Cruiser
ZU - LSA
No problem...... Just felt weird driving to Crosswinds and not flying 

Speaking of storms:
I have shared this some time ago - One day I was at Aviators Airfield with storm brewing outside, wind so bad that the hanger doors were SHAKING violently - Next thing I hear a trike overhead, it was IMPOSSIBLE for anyone to fly in that pre-storm-wind and survive.....I started praying for the oke and heard woman at the clubhouse scream in terror watching the poor guy try to land but he got MO@ERed by mountain rotor and had to abort landing - Dale from AP radio's him to land in Brits, he responded calmly and flew to Brits and landed no problem
Found out weeks later it was our mate STray dog - Let me tell you, I have never seen anything like it - Courage under fire (And a GT450)

I have shared this some time ago - One day I was at Aviators Airfield with storm brewing outside, wind so bad that the hanger doors were SHAKING violently - Next thing I hear a trike overhead, it was IMPOSSIBLE for anyone to fly in that pre-storm-wind and survive.....I started praying for the oke and heard woman at the clubhouse scream in terror watching the poor guy try to land but he got MO@ERed by mountain rotor and had to abort landing - Dale from AP radio's him to land in Brits, he responded calmly and flew to Brits and landed no problem
Found out weeks later it was our mate STray dog - Let me tell you, I have never seen anything like it - Courage under fire (And a GT450)

- Dish
Stray dog flies his plane lads ... a hell of a pilot - doesnt take chances but doesnt easily get rattled either...
if he was rattled then condidtions must have been abismal !!!
Fly safe boys - the weather turns fast these days !!
if he was rattled then condidtions must have been abismal !!!

Fly safe boys - the weather turns fast these days !!
Don't worry Dish, the only storm you will see is in a teacup

- Dish
Gee leftseat - you put a hell of a lot of thought into that comment - CHOP... yeah listen seriously the bantam is to slow to out run storms so i gotta be very careful - cabbage patch tea cup flyer -???? thas me.. !!
The thing is that bad wx and wind has less impact on heavier planes than light ones.
You must not worry Dish. You have ample ballast
I am referring to your wide shoulders and big muscles of course

You must not worry Dish. You have ample ballast

I am referring to your wide shoulders and big muscles of course

[quote][cabbage patch tea cup flyer -???? thas me.. !!/quote]
Kaaaa*k, Tommorow Zebula China - Nothing cabbage patch about that

- Dish
Yep WX depending a trip to Zebula is on the cards - quite a lekker trip -
Will call you later to discuss the details..

Maybe we must start a list (almost like the guys on AVCOM) where one can find help if stuck at some remote place??
I will start.topflight wrote:Maybe we must start a list (almost like the guys on AVCOM) where one can find help if stuck at some remote place??
If you are in the Port Edward area. My number is 0834598673.
Fly safe.
Vernon.
- RV4ker (RIP)
Harties (Coves) or Vryburg area
George oh 82 882 three755 (sms works best. I tend to ignore numbers I don't know and especially "private no" callers
)
George oh 82 882 three755 (sms works best. I tend to ignore numbers I don't know and especially "private no" callers

Cato Ridge and highway area,(KZN)
oh72eight68four 5 nine too
Can help obtain fuel, transport, accom etc or just put you onto the right people.
oh72eight68four 5 nine too
Can help obtain fuel, transport, accom etc or just put you onto the right people.