New Wing Design

Postby The Agent » Sat Jan 10, 2009 6:41 pm

Well with the steerman (assistant ground pilot) in his post and the rest of the guys helping to get the speed up the latest swept back wing test was not so successful today. (-)

Ok thats all bull shit what realy happened was that a student pilooooot last it with the help of a crosswind and ended up upside down in the bean patch. ($$)
We (thats now Hugo and yourstruly) helped him out of the trike and then turned it up right again and put it in tow back to the hanger. puff

Nou wat was die man se naam nou weer, bliksem this german desease is not doing me any good. (-)

Cant remember all the names but all assited and mainly the ego of a 1.5 hour solo pilot was severely dented, shame boet but afterthe doctor had checkeed him out and it was nogal a gyny doctor because he fell his P#$%^&*()_s off, so that was relevant to the incident.

Only a small cut on the lower leg (dis nou net so bo die maermerrie) and lots of ground and dust other than that I think he is ok, but will feel it tonight.

Good luck mate and trust to see you in the air soon.
(**)
PIctures 020.jpg
PIctures 020.jpg (41.89 KiB) Viewed 2200 times
kloot piloot

Re: New Wing Design

Postby kloot piloot » Sat Jan 10, 2009 7:30 pm

That is one cool wing. Can be used for slow flying and observation.

How much damage to the veggies in the back ground ? vhpy
Roel Jansen
Never say: "I should have ..."
ZU-IAR powered by BMW 1200
Stephan van Tonder

Postby Stephan van Tonder » Sat Jan 10, 2009 7:40 pm

Amazingly little damage to the veggies. He'll be fine but going to be very stiff tomorrow for sure. Never underestimate that silly little crosswind.
Nuts about Cheetahs. Petit is the place.
Kiewiet

Postby Kiewiet » Sun Jan 11, 2009 10:05 am

Just want to give a special thanks to Graham and Hugo for assisting me to get out of the Bean Patch,

All is well and I hope to be in the Air soon after myself and Andy has rebuilt ZS-ATT
Rudix

Postby Rudix » Sun Jan 11, 2009 10:09 am

Kiewiet wrote:Just want to give a special thanks to Graham and Hugo for assisting me to get out of the Bean Patch,

All is well and I hope to be in the Air soon after myself and Andy has rebuilt ZS-ATT
Glad you are ok !

I have a few hours on ATT, sweet old bird, hope she flies again soon (^^)

Fly safe,
"Never be afraid to try something new. Remember that a lone amateur built the Ark. A large group of professionals built the Titanic." ;)
mcfly

Postby mcfly » Sun Jan 11, 2009 3:12 pm

Kiewiet

You gave us a hell of a fright!...... I trust that you will put this one behind you and write it down to expierience. Get focussed and move on. I'm sure that every pilot could tell a similar tale.

Wisdom comes from experience, experience comes from mistakes!

Mcfly
How can I soar with eagles when I'm surrounded by turkeys

Polaris Skin ZU-BKP
Nkwazi

Postby Nkwazi » Sun Jan 11, 2009 10:22 pm

Ja Kiewiet - dont let this deter you from taking your next lesson - it happens to the best of us - glad you ok, you gave us a fright

Postby Gyronaut » Mon Jan 12, 2009 8:06 am

Funny thing about experience... its what you get just after you needed it! :shock:

Glad you're OK Kiewiet!
Fly Safe

PS, congrats on the 500 posts Nkwazi!

Postby Big-D » Mon Jan 12, 2009 12:01 pm

Kiewiet, I met you at Kroon about 2 weeks ago when your Boet was up in the Challenger

Sorry to hea of your misfurtune buddy - These things happen - You will laugh about it in a while

Postby Dish » Mon Jan 12, 2009 3:36 pm

Aggggg - ou agent baas, if you only had a buck for every time you have helped a oke put his plane away ???/ - i say this why, .... because almost 15 moths ago ole agent helped me pull the challie out at Rhino.. man that was work.... think agent might still have a pic of that..??

Kiewiet - glad your okay mate, put it behind you and safe flying in the future...
(**) (**)
Kiewiet

Postby Kiewiet » Mon Jan 12, 2009 3:47 pm

Thx for all the word of encouragement guys. I am glad to say that the old lady ZS-ATT will soon be back in the air with me strapped in tightly. Just waiting on Jenya to fix the wing and she is back in business. vhpy

Postby Tailspin » Mon Jan 12, 2009 3:57 pm

Hey Kiewiet

i think just about all of us have had an oops over time.
Glad you are ok and just get back in the saddle and keep on flying.
Bayliner

Postby Bayliner » Mon Jan 12, 2009 4:10 pm

A similar experience happened to me. Repairs cost 60K. Have paid half already and trying to find the other half so that the instructor can help me finish my MPL. Until that time, no flying for me.
AWACS

Postby AWACS » Mon Jan 12, 2009 4:57 pm

Kiewiet,
Ons was baie verlig om te hoor jy is OK! Die ding is maar soos perdry..afgeval, opgeklim en weer gery. (**)
Ons wag vir die dag wanneer jy jou lisensie het.
Sterkte!
Raptor 582
ZU-Sling 2
Jetman

Postby Jetman » Mon Jan 12, 2009 9:31 pm

Kiewiet, my pa het ons geleer dat as n perd jou afgooi, dan moet jy hom so vinnig moontlik weer klim. Kry so vinnig as moontlik weer wind op daai windlassie se neus met n instrukteur, vergeet van cross winds en gooi kole. Sal jou nog ontmoet. Groete Skin
ZU-FDE Apollo Delta Jet
ZU-IHK Sling
ONE LIFE....LIVE IT