Here we be and here we stay so we wll

Uncle Spud Murphy

Here we be and here we stay so we wll

Postby Uncle Spud Murphy » Thu Jan 08, 2009 1:01 pm

Groete to you one and all,

I have been wanting to write an update now for some time, but the words would never come. Enthusiasm and self confidence has taken a bit of a knock so I needed to climb back up into the tree again. Finally off the ground now, so the only way is up (God I hate that song)!!!!!!!. New war-cry for Murphy Improvise, Overcome, Adapt ------- Laugh

Let's get rid of the blucsum (Spelt wrong I know) kak first shall we. The plan was simple. Sell house. Sell car. Sell furniture. Retire. Fly to SA with softness and cat. Buy house. Fix Dartboard to wall, near fridge, in Lapa by pool. Learn to fly. Buy Microlight. See Africa from the air as often as. Live the dream, be buried in the Kruger. Lekker plan.

Reality verses the dream is a bit different. Softness feels the need to start a business which she has always wanted to do, so the house we are buying does not quite fit the original plan of roasting meat, klippies, darts and flying. Budget for the microlight is also going on something else, so that dream will lay on the shelf for some time to come. It will happen, I will learn to fly eventually, but not now. Have other expences too that I did not budget for, so standing on the street corner for a while under a shade cloth is looking a distinct possibility. Sunglasses or Bananas???????? :-(-( :-(-(

Flip the coin now. I have only worn jeans once since arriving here. Grubs excellent and the people also. Been to Nelspruit and driven through Bush Buck Ridge (Daytime). Seen the mountains and watched the sunrise and the sunset. It may be my imagination, but I also feel healthier - Despite the booze that softness frowns upon. The black population that I deal with daily!!! Some are nice, some not so nice. When they are nice, so am I. When they are not, neither am I and that's how I handle it so I do (**) (**)

Finally: I made a plan and here we are. The plan I made is not to be, so like a good South African I make another plan. Our future is here and I will be buried here in the land of my choosing with a Klipdrift for company on the long journey. The first thing to do is buy a home and continue to progress from there. The house has been chosen and if it interest's you I would be very happy to send you pictures. Just give me your email. Asseblief, come to the house warming when we are ready to welcome you one and all <*> <*> <*>

Dankie guys and Ladies. Dankie to all of you and the list of names is just toooooooooooooo looooooooooooong to include you all. Leftseat. JetRanger. BadNav. Wart. Tailspin. Demon. Grumpy. Gunter. Dish. Slysi. Eieesh guys, you are just too many so my apoligies to those not mentioned. To you all I raise my glass and salute you for all that you mean to me !!!! !!!! !!!!

Alles van die beste (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^)
Uncle Spud Murphy

Telling it as it is saves explaining later. Alles van die beste
kloot piloot

Re: Here we be and here we stay so we wll

Postby kloot piloot » Thu Jan 08, 2009 1:11 pm

Well said Unc'. Hang in there, good things always takes time to come your way, as long as you have the patience (and Klippies) ! (^^)
Roel Jansen
Never say: "I should have ..."
ZU-IAR powered by BMW 1200

Postby AndyG » Thu Jan 08, 2009 1:19 pm

Of course you are staying. we would not have let you leave.

Regarding the housewarming let us know when and Wart and I will drive up there as discussed before. I will even bring a bottle of Klipdrift Premium, to be consumed on the night of the party of course.

Don't be a stranger and keep in touch with all your mates on the forum.

Cheers, Spud, (^^) (^^) (^^)

Andy

Postby John Boucher » Thu Jan 08, 2009 2:41 pm

You have seen my suggestion regarding Carnarvorn Fly-In Spuddy.... plan for it now! I know we're going so is Jetranger and his Gyro squadron.

Somewhere along the line we are going to get vrot on Klippies or Red Heart.... (^^)

Postby Tailspin » Thu Jan 08, 2009 2:44 pm

Hey Uncle Spud

I will also get a bottle of Klippies that i will bring with me when i go for a holiday up there.
Vas Byt OOM.
Shout if you need anything and i am sure we will get something sorted. (^^) (^^)

Welcome to the Mother Land. Africa - not a place for Sissies. xxx ## ($$) (^^)
RV Sometime

Postby RV Sometime » Thu Jan 08, 2009 3:47 pm

Hey Jerry

Thanks for the pics, sure looks like a lovely spot to me & I wish you & Babs the best with her venture. When you have the housewarmin, I certainly will be there, driving up & will have seats for 4 Microlighters to come up with me. Twill be great to catch up with you guys soon. vhpy vhpy vhpy vhpy vhpy
Nkwazi

Postby Nkwazi » Thu Jan 08, 2009 6:22 pm

As they say in these parts, "Vasbyt boet" - good luck and all the best with your venture. Also many thanks for the new years messsage mate - appreciated.
Uncle Spud Murphy

Postby Uncle Spud Murphy » Fri Jan 09, 2009 6:16 pm

Baie Dankie for the comments guys, baie dankie.

Signed the line where indicated today agreed to buy the house. Now we are really committed to South Africa and that of course means standing up to shower head when he fails to put the country first. Mind you, an mp caring for the country that elects them is as rare as finding elephant kak on a cloud (Aviation content hehehehe) s024

Now that I am committed, asseblief view our house. Bit of work needs doing but house warming should take place around August/September which I do believe is a good time of the year for flying (And another aviation content heheheh) s024 s024

Bring along the swimming costumes and the bar by the pool is already there for you (Ice on tap so it is)

Alles va die beste
135 Front Resized.jpg
135 Looking Out Resized.jpg
Uncle Spud Murphy

Postby Uncle Spud Murphy » Fri Jan 09, 2009 6:20 pm

Ek is jammer guys, screwed up. Heres a couple more. Missed the beer mugs too. Eieesh

Alles van die beste now (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^)
135 Right Side Entrance Resized.jpg
135 Small Braai Resized.jpg
Uncle Spud Murphy

Nkwazi

Postby Nkwazi » Fri Jan 09, 2009 6:24 pm

Looks great - hope you have many happy years there. Congrats (^^)
swiftprop

Postby swiftprop » Fri Jan 09, 2009 6:58 pm

Hi Uncle Spud congratulations with the house! Looks like a nice place to entertain fellow aviators and wanna beez. Are you that Ouk sitting outside the house.

Literary note:
Ouk is the S.A version of the UK Bloke

(^^) (^^)
Andre
will phone you again but you always seem to be galavanting ## ##
Newguy

Postby Newguy » Fri Jan 09, 2009 7:25 pm

Hey Uncle Spud

Looks wonderful. But why would you be buying up there without visiting the cape first??? :P (Here comes the flack :) :) )
Stephan van Tonder

Postby Stephan van Tonder » Fri Jan 09, 2009 9:19 pm

Looks nice. Aug/sept is normally windy and not a fantatic time to fly but it should be OK enough.
Nuts about Cheetahs. Petit is the place.
Uncle Spud Murphy

Postby Uncle Spud Murphy » Fri Jan 09, 2009 9:53 pm

swiftprop wrote:Hi Uncle Spud congratulations with the house! Looks like a nice place to entertain fellow aviators and wanna beez. Are you that Ouk sitting outside the house.

Literary note:
Ouk is the S.A version of the UK Bloke

(^^) (^^)
Andre
will phone you again but you always seem to be galavanting ## ##
Newguy wrote:Hey Uncle Spud

Looks wonderful. But why would you be buying up there without visiting the cape first??? :P (Here comes the flack :) :) )

Dankie for the call Swiftprop, good to talk to you. Nope, the Ouk as you say is the seller Barry. He is the one who had the house built originally. Nice guy and his Wife is a nice lady also.

Newguy mfwetu. I really need to get down to Cape Town but I is with woman so I am. That means priorities come first my son, their priorities. When they have what they want, they let us have what we want. Law of the land so it is.

Alles van die beste (^^) (^^) (^^)
Uncle Spud Murphy

Postby Gyronaut » Sat Jan 10, 2009 11:33 am

Wise words...
Uncle Spud Murphy wrote: When they have what they want, they let us have what we want
Aint that a fact!! A wise man recognises that and uses it to his advantage; or his life will be hell!

Congratulations on the purchase of your own piece of Africa Uncle Spud! Sure looks like a stunning place. Hope you are very happy there.

See you in the Cape soon.

Rgds to Babs

Len