Bushbaby Fuel Tank Spanner

Technical questions, advice, sharing information etc (aircraft, engines, instruments, weather and such)

Bushbaby Fuel Tank Spanner

Postby Morph » Thu Dec 11, 2008 10:18 am

Now maybe it's just me for being such a short sh!t, or maybe I am getting weak with age but the damn fuel tank caps on the Bushbaby are a pain in the arse. You can close them gently until the you just feel it binding and the little pipe is facing forward. The next time you try to open it, it has seized solid. I thought of using those strap type oil filter removal tools but the strap squeezes the cap tighter and it is even more difficult to get loose.

So I thought back to my biking days and remembered a c-spanner used for the rear suspension and I made a very rough spanner out of aluminium. I took this across to my mate Ranger and he has cut me a more professional version using his CNC cutting machines.

If there is enough interest, i.e. from the BB factory or other BB owners then we will work out a price. It's cut out of 4.5mm Alluminium and works brilliantly

I know the older BB's with the 35liter tanks use a different size. However these don't seem to have the same problem. But is there is a requirement for the smaller size we will make those as well

But wait that's not all. The handle can be used as a dip stick, which you will calibrate using small scratch marks to give you an idea of the fuel quantity

Added to that, the alluminium can be polished to a shine, and this can be used in case of emergency as a signalling mirror

All this for R80 incl VAT ex Postage

Call now

er on de arre hand Darrem, pm or email me
Bushbaby tank cap spanner.jpg
Bushbaby tank cap spanner.jpg (57.81 KiB) Viewed 2916 times
priester

Re: Bushbaby Fuel Tank Spanner

Postby priester » Thu Dec 11, 2008 3:10 pm

Morph,

The problem is that the tank fitting and the cap is PVC, and tend to bind.

The solution is to take an 50mm steel waterpipe socket. (The PVC fitting on the tank is 50 mm BSP) Machine the outside of the socket down to reduce weight. Knurl the outside, part off two pieces, make a 2mm thick steel washer and weld to one end of the socket. Drill hole to suit ventpipe. Get a 2-3mm thick piece of rubberised cork gasket and cut a full gasket to fit inside the cap, with the ventpipe bolted through the gasket, use a large washer on the inside. (The rubberised cork is not affected by 95 unleaded)

Viola, no more problem :idea:

If interested I can take photo and supply measurements
The truth, nothing but the truth
Brian

Postby Brian » Thu Dec 11, 2008 9:22 pm

Hi Morph

I would definitaly take two.

One to use and one spare for "justincase"

Please advise banking details etc. when you are in production

Thanx
Brian (^^)
Bennie Vorster

Postby Bennie Vorster » Fri Dec 12, 2008 6:58 am

Morph book me one please. :wink:

I do grease my fuel caps from time to time and it works well, but every now and then it gets stuck. :wink:
Growing old is far more dangerous than flying !!!
Bennie Vorster
083 277 5110

Postby Grumpy » Fri Dec 12, 2008 8:57 am

Where is it moving to next?

Postby Morph » Fri Dec 12, 2008 10:59 am

Ranger will cut 6 next week. I just need to work out the shipping costs and will post it with the bank details

Postby Boet » Fri Dec 12, 2008 8:53 pm

Mmmmm. Smatest thing since sliced bread. I`l take 5 please. vhpy
KFA

Postby KFA » Fri Dec 12, 2008 9:02 pm

I'll take 10. Volume discount please (-) (^^)

Postby Boet » Fri Dec 12, 2008 9:23 pm

Ek dink dis n die moer in lekker patent. Sny "spanner" gaatjies in die steel vir 6mm en 8mm moertjies. (Nood spanner) Buff die een kant moerse blink,( nood spieel.) Merk af en gebruik vir n tenk dip stick, hoeveel go-go juice is nog innie tenk. Maak safety-belt cutter in die punt. Morph, net my naam en selfoon no op die ander kant asb.(Advertising space? (!!) ) sien julle ous Vrydag in die Fairest.

Postby Boet » Fri Dec 12, 2008 9:26 pm

Next BB will have the breather underneath the wing. No more pipe standing UP on top of the petrol caps. Will explain later with pics how I want to go about it. vhpy This will make it easier to open the caps.

Postby Morph » Sun Dec 14, 2008 6:14 am

KFA wrote:I'll take 10. Volume discount please (-) (^^)
I'll talk to Ranger

Do you want any contact details engraved, i.e. yours and Mogas's cell numbers?
Mogas

Postby Mogas » Sun Dec 14, 2008 7:33 am

Speaking for KFA :roll:
I think he means we will sell them on to Kit Planes customers.
Very neat product guys, well done.
My old tool is a piece of broom stick with a soft rope tied to the end of it, I wrap the rope round the cap clamp it with the stick and turn. It has worked well for years but I must say yours is much more professional (^^)
Nottaquitta
KFA

Postby KFA » Sun Dec 14, 2008 10:54 am

Yip, what I meant. It's a good item to add to our options list. Please pm or mail me all the details Morph. Thanks.

Postby Morph » Mon Dec 15, 2008 11:55 am

Spoke to Ranger today and he running with huge orders he needs to get out for other business before they close on Friday. We will try get the single orders and Boet's out before the end of this week

If the factory guys can wait till early Jan it would be appreciated.

The engraving slows things down.
KFA

Postby KFA » Mon Dec 15, 2008 8:02 pm

No Probl. Will need a couple in Jan 8)