Re: Building the new Bushbaby SAFARI
Happy birthday Boet
Thanks for all the help and advice
Rob
Thanks for all the help and advice
Rob

Hi Oupa G
I would like to put my name down for your BMW kit.Keep me up to date with progress please, you can email me on info@menaimarine.biz Boet has been helping me with progress via email .Hope to have the fisrt bushbaby exp powered buy BMW flying in the UK.Wales
thats shock from the cold!!!!
thanks Rob Coulon
I would like to put my name down for your BMW kit.Keep me up to date with progress please, you can email me on info@menaimarine.biz Boet has been helping me with progress via email .Hope to have the fisrt bushbaby exp powered buy BMW flying in the UK.Wales

thanks Rob Coulon
- KFA
Hi Rob, when you have time contact me regarding those papers you were looking for. Also the new electronic Explorer and Safari manuals will be available soon. Rick has finished them very professionally and we are just busy proof reading them to check for errors and changes. I must congratulate Rick on a job well done, gone are the days of cursing the scribe
while building. 

Just an update on the cowling. Did some fitting and drilling, Cleco's are wonderful gadgets . The Camloc fittings are superb we are using stainless fittings Boet's cowling fit very well. Just some foto's to wet the appatite
Cheers Oupa-G
- Attachments
- Cowl5.jpg (33.77 KiB) Viewed 6676 times
- Cowl4.jpg (22 KiB) Viewed 6665 times
Last edited by Oupa-G on Wed Dec 10, 2008 12:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Another one
Oupa-G
Oupa-G
- Attachments
- Cowl1.jpg (37 KiB) Viewed 6673 times
- Cowl3.jpg (22.95 KiB) Viewed 6663 times
- Cowl2.jpg (33.5 KiB) Viewed 6666 times
- RV4ker (RIP)
Man I wish I had a garach like that... Drooool...
PS
Nice looking pics...
PS
Nice looking pics...
you have no idea how lekka this workshop is and the best part of it is you can build what ever you want!!!!
SKUNKWORKS
SKUNKWORKS
- RV4ker (RIP)
Jaaa ek is yaloers (sp?), but am building my own skunkworks during next yearvliegvark wrote:you have no idea how lekka this workshop is and the best part of it is you can build what ever you want!!!!
SKUNKWORKS

Wat wil jy in jou "Skunkworks" garage bou?? Ook n Safari? Safari no 2 en 3 is reeds ver gevorder. Ons draf fluks voort om by te bou met die "B" team.. 

- RV4ker (RIP)
Dream beeeg...Boet wrote:Wat wil jy in jou "Skunkworks" garage bou?? Ook n Safari? Safari no 2 en 3 is reeds ver gevorder. Ons draf fluks voort om by te bou met die "B" team..

but maybe start smaller

Of een van daai MOOI errietjies wat mike-hulle nou bou...... My hart pomp skoon custard. Hoekom invoer end die yanks ondersteun as daar net sulke lekker erries plaaslik beskikbaar is? 

- RV4ker (RIP)
Ja dis sterk opsie. Daar is nog baie tyd voor ek begin rivets slaan, pop en pull. Will net skunkworks van grond af kry. Will klomp instrument and fairing mods op die Meercat doen in meen time...

The eternal question is the wing on top or at the bottom. I have had several aircraft with wings at the bottom a midwing aerobatic and high wing ,but if you want to really see something of mother earth the high wing beats the final equasion. Meanwhile I have been measuring cutting on the guilotine and bending brake to form the back part of the cowling support. With simple hand tools and "geduld" I have shaped the curvature. It is wonderfull the amount of strenght is added with a 90degree lippie.
Some foto's the keep the apatite wetted. The bending tool made in house by Vliegvark and a nice flat pair of pliers by Knipex does wonders around the bend.
Cheers Oupa-G
Some foto's the keep the apatite wetted. The bending tool made in house by Vliegvark and a nice flat pair of pliers by Knipex does wonders around the bend.
Cheers Oupa-G
- Attachments
- Support measured on the aircraft
- Cowl6.jpg (23.75 KiB) Viewed 6406 times
- Outside of the lippie note the tools
- Cowl7.jpg (19.98 KiB) Viewed 6405 times
- Inside of the lippie
- Cowl8.jpg (19.63 KiB) Viewed 6407 times
Mmmm. Moooi. Terwyl Oupa nou besig is........
Lekker as n man aan die gang is, dan is dit makliker om nog n stel te maak. of hoe?? For a while now I noticed that the water in the Venture`s radiator "vanishes". Took the cyl head off, and fair enough, cyl head gasket in it`s moer in. Bloody cheap gasket someone else fitted when I asked, and PAYED for the best.
So, for most of today I was a motorcar mechanic. Fired it up later this afternoon, sound as a whistle, and rearing to go. Back to the love of my love. Aeroplanes. MUCH nicer to be working with tube and fabric.