Forum influence ?

Postby Low Level » Mon Nov 10, 2008 1:02 pm

Been thinking this morning :idea: - I know scary thought, me thinking. :shock:

Has anybody joined this forum, for the sole intention of selling his flying toy, cause it's been gathering dust, or being bored at work and surfing the net and got to this forum by accident, and then, after reading the doings and screwings of the microlighters, started flying (again), and not selling his toy, or buying one, or another one.....

Does it makes sense. #-0

I find myself, when a bit down and out, I don't post for a week or so, cause you don't feel like it - s064 - but the forum tends to lift my spirit and gets me looking forward to some flying fun. I tend get a quick fix from the garble on the forum, and the more I read, the more I need to take to the skies, and then I sommer feel like bietjie k@kpraat, like this thread.

As I said, just been thinking. s115

Re: Forum influence ?

Postby Gyronaut » Mon Nov 10, 2008 1:08 pm

Ldel,

I am like you when it comes to the forum... generally browse around reading the k@kpraat and enjoying the varying views and opinions of other enthusiasts. Microlighters seems far more laid back than Avcom and I am very very careful what I say there since it seems people are waiting to pounce where here they are waiting to give you a hand up.

genoeg k@kgepraat vir vandag

124.8 zone out

Postby Dish » Mon Nov 10, 2008 1:54 pm

Havent ever thought of selling my plane without the idea of purchasing a new one, but i certainly do gain a ton of "inspiration" (for want of a better word) from yakking to my mates on the site... i try and apply advice to my flying and it often works etc..... vhpy vhpy -
slysi

Postby slysi » Mon Nov 10, 2008 2:01 pm

The forum keeps my dream alive. I look forward to the day that I can start a thread with the title "slysi takes to the skies"

-0< -0< -0<
Simon
Student Pilot
skybound®

Postby skybound® » Mon Nov 10, 2008 2:26 pm

JetRanger wrote:... far more laid back than Avcom and I am very very careful what I say there since it seems people are waiting to pounce where here they are waiting to give you a hand up.
Dont forget that AvCom was started by a microlighter :!: :idea: :shock: :lol:

Postby Tumbleweed » Mon Nov 10, 2008 3:14 pm

For many, the forum is the only flying interaction they enjoy and what really got me in to it was the various adventure trips undertaken by the members.

Whats better is meeting the okes at a fly-in over a coupla beers.

Which reminds me, when is the next stay over jol before Battlefields? (^^) >-(] s050 s040

Still waiting for this 'round the coast' rally to develop.

So, if you can't share a good joke then post the story and pics of your jol and details if lekker for the cabbage patchers to enjoy.
BOATCH

Postby BOATCH » Mon Nov 10, 2008 3:49 pm

Ons manne hier in die platteland kry ons nodige woema hier op die forum om te kan aanhou doen wat ons graag wil doen . Ons anders as die die ouens op GROTER plekke moet ons vir inspirrasie deel wees van die forum want anders sal ons dalk net ophou vlieg :( Ek kan myself nie voorstel hoe dit moet wees om by die vliegveld te kom en daar is nog ouens wat ook met microlights vlieg en na die vlieery net vlieg te gesels nie.Hoop daar is volgende jaar fly ins in ons area.

Postby John Boucher » Mon Nov 10, 2008 3:52 pm

It is the place to be...

Cheaper than a lawyer! :shock:
Cheaper than an instructor! :wink:
You get free beers thrown at you! (^^)
Cheaper than a mechanic! :idea:
Sometimes some oke gets moered by words ... ##
Some kiss and make up xxx

What can I say? I do get cheesed off when a user joins just to sell his aerie or somebody's aerie. The only way the forum can be what it is, is by adding value, giving advice, sharing the dreams, crying when painful, seeing the lighter side of life yet keeping the cowboy on track and making him safe....

Let's face it, it is a unique brotherhood! :lol:

Cannot imagine not trying to be on the forum every possible free moment?
Wargames

Postby Wargames » Mon Nov 10, 2008 4:07 pm

Hi John,

Still not enough?? Here is some more...

(^^) (^^) (^^)

The Naked Trike
ZU-AVL
"I hate CIRCLIPS!!"

Postby Morph » Mon Nov 10, 2008 4:32 pm

Unfortunately, it is true, there are those who join just to sell and get out. :cry: :cry: There are 1722 members with less than 5 posts, of which 1227 have 0 posts.

But whatever blows your hair back. If you prefer to lurk and just read, good for you, if you are here to sell, then you are doing the other members a favour by offering product. If you happen to sell then we have helped you

Ideally we want all of you to simply stay and talk drivel like the rest of us

have fun
slysi

Postby slysi » Mon Nov 10, 2008 4:40 pm

The members here are far too intelligent to talk drivel :!: K@k on the otherhand is a totally different story :lol:
Simon
Student Pilot
ZULU1

Postby ZULU1 » Mon Nov 10, 2008 8:15 pm

What I find the most interesting about this forum, and you see trends. About two years ago, a pile of complaints, lets say problems were being experienced by the Garmin GPS 296. It creates interference, now me a simple fellow not wanting such an elaborate toy didnt worry. Anyway I watched post after post with interest, then decided that the unit wouldnt go away. A solution was becoming urgent...Developed our Vee rabbit antenna, I honestly believe to date we havent made a penny from them because of the tooling costs. BUT.. the forums input + red wine + Bills dining room table and old college books. The product has made a difference, and I get a nice feeling when I see the fly ins pictures, Wintervogel, Microland, Rietfontein etc. with these things lined up like soldiers. Its development is directly related to this forum and yes I think we have made a difference, but not I may add a profit! Thats life. So if you post something, somebody will read it, they will absorb it, enjoy it and maybe do something.. So that what this is forum is all about. Well done.

Now I need the sizes of a 912 manifolds O rings..

Zulu1
Centrifugal force in pure Physics does not exist, however this does not apply to Taxi drivers..

Postby AndyG » Mon Nov 10, 2008 9:55 pm

Bad Nav wrote:It is the place to be...

Cheaper than a lawyer! :shock:
Cheaper than an instructor! :wink:
You get free beers thrown at you! (^^)
Cheaper than a mechanic! :idea:
Sometimes some oke gets moered by words ... ##
Some kiss and make up xxx

What can I say? I do get cheesed off when a user joins just to sell his aerie or somebody's aerie. The only way the forum can be what it is, is by adding value, giving advice, sharing the dreams, crying when painful, seeing the lighter side of life yet keeping the cowboy on track and making him safe....

Let's face it, it is a unique brotherhood! :lol:

John,

You are so deep

Thank you,

Just pulling your leg (^^) (^^) (^^)

Cannot imagine not trying to be on the forum every possible free moment?
Bacardi

Postby Bacardi » Mon Nov 10, 2008 10:35 pm

Last edited by Bacardi on Thu Nov 13, 2008 9:34 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby RV4ker (RIP) » Tue Nov 11, 2008 7:47 am

I smaak it stukkend. Have yet to have a "problem"... Learn't a moer of a lot, met a couple nice buggers and had tons of fun. FLYDAYS (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^)