Building the new Bushbaby SAFARI
Moderator: Tailspin
Re: Building the new Bushbaby SAFARI
The panel instrument has been ordered MGL's Voyager and all the necessary probes. The magnetometer has already been installed . The 2nd engine mount was tig welding tacked and of to my friendly and excellent welder so by tomorrow night the engine will be suspended on the Bos-OTT. I also got the fancy waterproof and dust proof connectors for the electronics. Also received another 5 gearboxes the rand euro ratio is wicked I don't understand this whole monetary business all I know it hurts. It really skyrockets everything. The bankers that should know also don't actually know they haven't the faintest. We will bury our heads in the workshop and keep on building regardless. As soon as I have photos that are worthwhile they will be posted.
Keep well Oupa-G
Today we had SUMMER. It was sveltering hot in the workshop. All 3 projects coming together with leaps and bounds. Much confusion as well, but we have things sorted

- Attachments
- confusion.JPG (69.43 KiB) Viewed 3538 times
- KFA
Oupa G, your aerie looks great
The weak rand is just another confirmation that local is lekker. Because we manufacture nearly all the parts for the Bushbabies in-house, our prices can be kept in check. I really feel for for the guys with expensive imported planes, if you have a oops with something like a wing, you will basically buy the plane again.

Today I finished the second engine mount , the first one is in Loeries so that the cowling can be made. Tomorrow she is going into the oven for annealing and then the engine will be hung and then for some serious wiring I have already 60m twisted pair shielded wire and some fancy Deutsch plugs that are being used in the boating world, waterproof to 3 meters so that should take care of moisture and dust (the killers of electrical connections). I was introduced to these plugs by Peter Abbott from Knysna who wired Derek Kershaw's Whisper. Peter is in the Yachting world and this was a beautiful example of cross pollination from the boat building fraternity and the homebuilders fraternity. All wires used will be twisted pair shielded wire. This is being done the prevent electrical noise. So Boet the race is on between the Loeriesfontein team and the Durbanville team. As was mentioned by KFA it is seriously in our favor that we are using local materials. Anything that is being imported now is very expensive. This is enough for tonight.
Cheers Oupa-G
I am itching to see this plane!!!
Oupa G perhaps I can convince you to fly out to Hermanus area in mid to late Dec ??
(assuming you have it flying by then and that you can get an extension on your proving flight radius?) I am on holiday in Hermanus around then and would LOVE to see it and to try it on! Will be willing to drive out to Caledon or any other field in the area.... Perhaps even FAFK? - but the latter wont be interesting for you (since you wont be flying far
) Where you plan to hangar her once completed?
Good luck and keep on posting
!!

Oupa G perhaps I can convince you to fly out to Hermanus area in mid to late Dec ??

Good luck and keep on posting

Dear Andy Cap
When you are in Hermanus take a day drive to our workshop and our little airfield Grootfontein I will be doing extensive cowling tests with probes and manometers attached to the various pressure areas in the cowling so I will be in the gliding distance of our airfield , but you are welcome to visit
Cheers Oupa-G
When you are in Hermanus take a day drive to our workshop and our little airfield Grootfontein I will be doing extensive cowling tests with probes and manometers attached to the various pressure areas in the cowling so I will be in the gliding distance of our airfield , but you are welcome to visit
Cheers Oupa-G
Hi Oupa G
Thanks! I will send you a PM so that you can send me directions and contact details.
Mmmmm. Ya wanna Raaaace? Today we started with the cowling. Kak job. But probably satisfying once you have it completed.
Tomorrow we start casting foam, and then the sanding begins. A LOT of elbow grease involved. Jan explained EXACTLY what he wants, so the creative juises must just flow. Step one: Remove all the loose bits about the engine. Step 2: Mummify engine with glad-wrap. (Donated graciously by our local SPAR supermarket
)
Step 3: Release agent and mold wax the whole shebang. Step 4: Box the lot, and pour in lots of foam.
Wait. Step5" Remove box. Step 6: sand off all the foam that does NOT look like what you have in mind cowling wise..... Easy???? 

Step 3: Release agent and mold wax the whole shebang. Step 4: Box the lot, and pour in lots of foam.

- Attachments
- boxed.JPG (72.15 KiB) Viewed 3333 times
- cocoon.JPG (73.11 KiB) Viewed 3338 times
- King tut.JPG (76.05 KiB) Viewed 3338 times
- RV4ker (RIP)
En nou Boet? MGL avionics?

Dontwannatalkaboutit.
Oom sit self in........ Hy weet ek hou nie van sukkel nie. 

- RV4ker (RIP)

A leapord can't change its spots after all, ne Boet!!!!! 

Simon
Student Pilot
Slisy, buggeroff. My arms feel like they are about to fall off.......
- Attachments
- view from the cocpit.JPG (75.31 KiB) Viewed 3156 times
- Halfway there.JPG (65.12 KiB) Viewed 3161 times
- Tipsy Flyer
- Signed up at flight school
Hi Boet,
Watse foam is dit en waar kry u mens dit?
Jammer Boetslysi wrote:A leapord can't change its spots after all, ne Boet!!!!!

Simon
Student Pilot