My Pennys worth , a few yonks ago a farmer decided to erect some chicken houses right in the general flying area at Microland .
Imagine the issue when them chickens had the heepy cheepys everytime Fanie and the gang let loose with the bluetops to gain height or do ther low level training as usual.
Now if Microland wasnt a registered airfiel d it would have been closed then. Yes it would have .
The New Ceo capt Jordaan has method in this Madness - Just imagine youre on your way from Nelspruit and the weather turns sour , and with the flick of a switch ATNS advises you of an alternative landing area for your specific plane and you and your plane load of paxes can breath free fresh air - Whow life is great - see the glass half full , not half empty - they are not trying to ever regulate , they are just trying to save lives yours and your innocent paxes .
The "new Kid on the block " has some definate goals - half the accident rate by 2011- yes half it - he knows what he wants and he knows how to get it - you decide are you part of the train or part of the track???
An interresting one - beware should you fly to a airshow , fly inn / competition without a valid licence / authority to fly , the law will get you - These are no idle threats - this fellow means business - I just heard via the grapevine that someone was sent home at a recent gathering as he was going to jeopordise future events should he be seen there as he had been warned previously - no names no packdrill , I rest my case Leprachaun
URGENT Notice to all AIRFIELD owners
- Leprachaun
Re: URGENT Notice to all AIRFIELD owners
A pilot lives by perfection , or not at all!
Agent
Any report back after the meeting?
www.altairaviation.co.za
HOME OF XENON & ZEN GYROCOPTER
- Stephan van Tonder
Nuts about Cheetahs. Petit is the place.
- noviasa
- Learning to fly
Hi Boet,
Who is the owner of that airfield? Are you still in contact with him?
People making rules and try to enforce them its to keep you bizzy and remember flying is not empowered so they like to get to it. Its like the brain drain that is going on in SA. We should all have fun together and work together. Now you see maintenance going down the drain on SA while the mechanics that were the best in there class are working with Emirates because of the number game. I hope everybody gets its act together and makes SA a better country there is plenty for everytbody.
Novia Md
Who is the owner of that airfield? Are you still in contact with him?
People making rules and try to enforce them its to keep you bizzy and remember flying is not empowered so they like to get to it. Its like the brain drain that is going on in SA. We should all have fun together and work together. Now you see maintenance going down the drain on SA while the mechanics that were the best in there class are working with Emirates because of the number game. I hope everybody gets its act together and makes SA a better country there is plenty for everytbody.
Novia Md
Boet wrote:Our local airfield, (Municipal), was sold to a person in Germany pre- `91. This person would have started an aerobatic flying school here. nothing happened since. As the only pilot around, and owner of the only hangars on the airfield, I have to maintain the airfield to "usable" status. It would be criminal to let the airfield deteriorate to an unusable state, as we live in a very remote area, and the airfield has been used for emergency flights countless times to save lives. I therefore maintain RW 06 -24 so that it can still be used as an emergency field. I use MY 4x4 bakkie, MY leveller, roller ech for this purpose. My personal plane does not need a big runway. A "2-spoor paadjie" is OK as far as I am concerned, but at least now bigger and faster aeroplanes can still land here and serve the community. Now just HOW in hell are they going to "close" this runway????. I strongly suggest to the powers to rather focus their energy to more urgent matters, and stop scratching where it is not itching.![]()
My moer is nou sommer suur. Moet ek nou in die bleddie pad land??
JK - 05 ready for take off
The local Municipality does not want to do maintenace on the airfield. "It is not their problem." That is: Intill one of the furs gets seriously sick or hurt and have to be taken somewhere by aircraft. Like you said... a bit same as the "brain drain". ( EVERYBLOODY thing is going down the drain.
) Since 2001 the municipality graded the runway once only. That was when some impottant minister or some bigshot came to make a political speech..... and even then it was done half-arced as well. 

Boet stuur vir my jou epos address en dan sal ons jou inlig oor wat ons beoog om te doen.