URGENT Notice to all AIRFIELD owners

Postby The Agent » Fri Oct 03, 2008 7:13 pm

You folks might know about the new legislation where DEA P are looking at closing down all airfields which is not licences.
I have managed to set up a discussion meeting with a spokesperson in SACAA and all airfield owners.
It is to be held at the EAA audotorium at Rang on Wednesday evening 18:30 for 19:30 start.
DATE : 8 th October 2008

The pub will be open and believe me you need to be there if you are involved with a airfield.

Please let us have the numbers. (^^) (^^) (^^)

Re: URGENT Notice to all AIRFIELD owners

Postby RV4ker (RIP) » Fri Oct 03, 2008 8:00 pm

I be there

($$) puff
old no 7

Postby old no 7 » Sat Oct 04, 2008 6:51 am

Uncle Agent, I would love to be there, but I will be in "Debin". Will catch up with you on developments later.
ZU-f-ALL

Postby John Boucher » Sat Oct 04, 2008 10:02 am

This seems to be contradictory to the proposed compulsory registration of all airfields... It seems the left hand wants to overpower the right hand. We face over regulation in SA today but those that need be regulated roam free! :?

The categories would then be :

Registered RA type airfields
Registered RAN type airfields
Licensed airfields (with their various categories)

Would be beneficial to all to know where we stand....

Postby RV4ker (RIP) » Sat Oct 04, 2008 10:12 am

My concern is what happens to a licensed airfield that loses its license? (Like I suspect plenty of the small rural municipal controlled airfields will)

Postby John Boucher » Sat Oct 04, 2008 10:27 am

They should then become RA type airfields - registered but not licensed.

We are sitting in that same boat at the moment...
Uncle Spud Murphy

Postby Uncle Spud Murphy » Sat Oct 04, 2008 5:55 pm

[quote="Bad Nav"]We face over regulation in SA today but those that need be regulated roam free! :?

Biggie four for sure and it's the same all over the planet mate: Time the people started saying no, sod off and play your power games elsewhere, so you should. ## ## ##

Avdb listen learn be safe (^^) (^^)
Uncle Spud Murphy

Telling it as it is saves explaining later. Alles van die beste
African Grey

Postby African Grey » Sat Oct 04, 2008 8:44 pm

mmmmmmm...........

For the first time I'm not bitching about the cash spent on my EIA and the issuing of a nice thick juicy permission from Government DEAT for the Circus Airfield. At the time 2003 I was forced by Council to do the EIA....but I know legally they could not make this reteroactive and force this on previously established airfields. Even if the ground was zoned for agriculture and being utilised for flying activities.

I'll pop in too...to see what this is all about.

AG
Russell Bird
Pedal Car.co.za / Ski Blue.co.za
Durban North

Postby The Agent » Sat Oct 04, 2008 8:46 pm

Guy's please spread the word we need to be there in numbers.

Postby Boet » Wed Oct 08, 2008 7:02 am

Our local airfield, (Municipal), was sold to a person in Germany pre- `91. This person would have started an aerobatic flying school here. nothing happened since. As the only pilot around, and owner of the only hangars on the airfield, I have to maintain the airfield to "usable" status. It would be criminal to let the airfield deteriorate to an unusable state, as we live in a very remote area, and the airfield has been used for emergency flights countless times to save lives. I therefore maintain RW 06 -24 so that it can still be used as an emergency field. I use MY 4x4 bakkie, MY leveller, roller ech for this purpose. My personal plane does not need a big runway. A "2-spoor paadjie" is OK as far as I am concerned, but at least now bigger and faster aeroplanes can still land here and serve the community. Now just HOW in hell are they going to "close" this runway????. I strongly suggest to the powers to rather focus their energy to more urgent matters, and stop scratching where it is not itching. :evil:

My moer is nou sommer suur. Moet ek nou in die bleddie pad land??

Postby John Boucher » Wed Oct 08, 2008 7:31 am

I don't think your field is at risk. Pop onto the SACAA website and have a look at the draft amendment to 139.

There are some positives that can come out of this I think:

For one, we would as pilots know which are serviceable airfields.
A correct database would be in place as to joining procedures, contact details etc.
By registering it would also make it more difficult to"shutdown" an airfield because some twat has promised the ground to his BEE tjommie!
A do as you please syndrome would be avoided.
Seriously dangerous "private" strips would then be easily avoided.
R/C sites would also be placed under revision or scrutineering.

There are quite a few of us as individuals or clubs that find themselves in the same precarious position as you do. Tie up the loose ends and secure the field as "your" operation.... (^^)

Postby The Agent » Wed Oct 08, 2008 7:36 am

Thanks John some good and possitive input.

Guy's if you have a ptivate strip please be there we have a goood venue with lots of place.

See you'all tonight. (^^)

Postby RV4ker (RIP) » Wed Oct 08, 2008 6:44 pm

Just finished site meet. Not gonna make it. Still have to refuel, organise lights and then 1.2hr flight. by time I get to rand you all be pissed or Mr Woods moer'd...

PLEASE POST REPORT BACK....

Postby Boet » Wed Oct 08, 2008 7:10 pm

ar ehat you are saying, BUT the airfield does not belong to me. I however constantly use it. The maintenance I do is not for my own or my mate`s benefit, but also for the whole community. IE, for medevac emergency use.

Postby John Boucher » Wed Oct 08, 2008 9:20 pm

If the Red Cross uses the runway... maybe you should approach them for some funding?

Pull some strings Boet - life does not just comprise of handouts....