YOU AIN'T GOING TO LIKE THIS - BUT

kloot piloot

Re: YOU AIN'T GOING TO LIKE THIS - BUT

Postby kloot piloot » Mon Sep 08, 2008 11:17 pm

Grostek is fair in his reply but should chill (moet my net nie moer as ons eendag ontmoet nie),
Ldel good on you, and fair in his comments as well.
Uncle Spud, you should be awarded the congressional award for hitting a sensitive nail on the head.

South African disaster support: We will support the mental fibre of the victim with koeksisters, koffie en verbal support. Mind at ease. (What we mean with this is to immediatly help the guy, mentally, on his feet, give him a rod and tell him to fish again)

European disaster support: Pay 100 Quidd into disaster relieve fund at Church on Sunday. We will support some cause in Africa of which 90% will end up in the fund manager's pocket. Mind at ease.

Alternatively: Uncle Spud's Pan African call: Let us give generously, let us manage this fund personally, let us learn and insure, and lastly let us remember that our maids and gardeners are paid in 1 day what we spend by flying 1 hour, not to mention drinks and and petrol getting to and fro'. Mind at ease.

Gosh, anyone on this forum ever complained about becoming philosophical ?

Following Uncle Spud's call, I will be donating my spare bucks, but following his rant, let's also learn to insure, and let us stand together.

And lastly, lastly Unc' Spud, when you DO arrive mid-October at OR Tambo and your baggage is lost, do not ask ask for South Africans to assist financially, ... cause we are broke as a result of assisting !! vhpy Eish, beloved Africa ! puff
Roel Jansen
Never say: "I should have ..."
ZU-IAR powered by BMW 1200
Uncle Spud Murphy

Postby Uncle Spud Murphy » Mon Sep 08, 2008 11:27 pm

Having trouble so I am in posting this. But then I should be used to it shouldn't I. Being in trouble I mean usually for best of intentions but there you go. Right lets try again shall we?
Who flies what and where 2.doc
Uncle Spud Murphy

Telling it as it is saves explaining later. Alles van die beste
kloot piloot

Postby kloot piloot » Mon Sep 08, 2008 11:35 pm

Unc' Spud, read my post and see the African dawn ! vhpy
Roel Jansen
Uncle Spud Murphy

Postby Uncle Spud Murphy » Mon Sep 08, 2008 11:49 pm

kloot piloot wrote:Unc' Spud, read my post and see the African dawn ! vhpy
Point taken and understood. Given time I will think like a South African. Until then I can only think and act as a Murphy because I am who I am. Ek is jammer

Alles van die beste (^^) (^^)
Uncle Spud Murphy

kloot piloot

Postby kloot piloot » Tue Sep 09, 2008 12:05 am

:cry: :cry: Unc' Spud, Start thinking and acting like you are used to doing ! For Pete's sake ! The fact that your one well intended letter pi$$ed on 6 toes does not mean that you pi$$ed on a 1000 toes ! Where's your spirit ?

Carry on with ya' spirit ! You are heading for a hot place in P'borwa !

Show spirit. T'is only a forum !
Roel Jansen

Postby AndyG » Tue Sep 09, 2008 7:46 am

Hey Spud,

I agree with Kloot. Don't lose the passion. You trod on some toes, mine included but you had your say and so did everyone else.
All my offers are still open to you and I look forward to sharing a golden throat tickler with you(words of a good mate of mine).

Alles van die beste,

Hamba kahle mfwetu,

Subona Manje(see you soon)
slysi

Postby slysi » Tue Sep 09, 2008 8:44 am

Uncle Spud, apology accepted. I see no need for you to leave the forum and honestly we have all had some heated debates at times, but we still come back and chat to each other. That is the way of these type of forums. Don't let some negative comments put you off, we can't win all battles and honestly if we did then life would be really boring.

p.s. I do understand the point of your original post but you also miss the point of other people's hardships. What happened to the airfield was a disaster but other people have their own personal disasters. I know the members of this forum will contribute financially if they can, yes they may need a bit of poking and proding, but read your letter again, it was certainly not motivational.

I hope you reconsider your decision as, as a fellow englishman, I know you will enjoy Africa. You will learn though that we are a fiesty bunch who fight for our right to debate and of course PARTY.
Simon
Student Pilot

Postby Morph » Tue Sep 09, 2008 8:50 am

Uncle Spud,

If this was a pub, you'd be on your arse on the pavement

I understand your motivation but being so far removed from here you do not see the whole picture

Also, even though this forum have 2100 members, only a very small number are active and are passionate.

External to Microlighters we have 120 active members of Western Cape Microlighters CLub, the club funds and members from AVCOM, a GA South African Forum also adding their bit.

NOw say sorry, invite us for a Guiness and let's have fun
Bacardi

Postby Bacardi » Tue Sep 09, 2008 9:06 am

Ja, no use trying to duck out of this now. If you want to come to Africa, best start getting used to standing on your hind legs and face the music. Also, not every day we get the chance to sling some sh!t at someone, don't go spoil the fun. :wink:
Sox
Survived first engine out

Postby Sox » Tue Sep 09, 2008 9:25 am

Uncle Spud ... no need to pack up your troubles in an old tin can and walk off dejected into the sunset.
Last edited by Sox on Tue Sep 09, 2008 10:02 am, edited 1 time in total.
Attitude, Checks and Balances!
"What is understood needs not be discussed" - Loren Adams

Postby Gyronaut » Tue Sep 09, 2008 9:26 am

I missed this thread due to work pressure until now and have just read it from start to finnish.

My 2c worth...

Spud has a point when it comes to apathy. I know these are gross generalisations and there are many exceptions but in general; Typical South African behaviour:- We're quick to criticise the politicians but we don't bother to vote. We condemn crime but we look the other way when someone gets mugged or hijacked saying we dont want to get involved. We tut-tut about Aids orphans but we don't go read them a story or take them to the park/beach (costs nothing); We allow our neighbouring country Zim to go down the tubes without a murmur etc etc

South Africans have a long history of not standing together, whether it be Zulu/Xhosa/Shangaan...; Boer/Brit...; Protestant/Catholic/Muslim

In spite of all this, in 1994 we gave the world a lesson they will not soon forget when it comes to delicately managing diversity for the better.

I am proud to be South African, I am fortunate to be able to fly and I suggest we don't shoot the messenger.

Spud, I would be most dissappointed if you left the forum over this. Kak met jou man, have your say, take the criticism (accompanied by a R100 ticket receipt or sharrup) and press on!

Half the fun of being part of this group is that it takes all kinds, smart/stupid, rich/poor, old/young... but in the end we all share a common passion and thats flying!
That makes us brothers so lets not bicker or fight but enjoy the gifts we have.

Don't stop stirring Spud, I enjoy your posts. Now get here so we can klap you across the ear for being a cheeky bloody know-it-all whinging Soutpiel. (^^)

Len
Dre'man55

Postby Dre'man55 » Tue Sep 09, 2008 9:43 am

I agree on most of the views here but in the last 8 months I have been involved in various charities, in total around R8000 I have donated out of my pocket. I am not poor but I also can't afford the luxury of owning my own Microlight at the moment. It is really sad to see the devastation but my personal opinion without insurance it is the risk you take. If I weigh up the requirements of the charities I have raised monies for this year, a 11 year old kid that lost his arm and much muscle to a bacterial virus or a family that is battling with medical bills for a 2 year old with Cerebral Palsy and Epilepsy you will see that although I have the utmost sympathy for those affected I cannot contribute to everything. You may just find many members in the same situation as me.
Must get airborne again
Andre'
Flying Below power lines on a DSX650
Too much power is just enough

Postby Low Level » Tue Sep 09, 2008 9:45 am

USM

You named the thread what ??? - and now you are surprised at the outcome. #-0

Every now and then there is someone that stirs somehow - thats what keeps us people alive and kicking, and keeps the forum interesting. s062

If one bugger dugged in his pocket after this, you have achieved something. <*>

Uncle - if you stick your hand in this bees nest, and gets stung - don't cry - here is lotsa honey. (^^)

Good on you for the apology, it takes a big man to do this, but not accepted. The way I read the letter, I saw it ment well. Maybe I read it differently, cause I felt the same way. You do not have to be a high flyer to fork out R 100 for a friend. I cannot put one face to this disaster, but from the pics I felt for the people that suffered.

To the rest - this was not a personal attack - don't take it that way. Read between the lines and see the intend of the letter. -0<
Conrad

Postby Conrad » Tue Sep 09, 2008 10:21 am

In poor taste - maybe an understatement!
Uncle Spud Murphy

Postby Uncle Spud Murphy » Tue Sep 09, 2008 12:10 pm

Oh boy!!!  I am humbled by you all and also pleased in a strange way.
In my experience, when one person has a problem with another that person tells everyone except for the person he/she has a problem with.  I hope that makes sense to you.  None of you have done that to me, you have with honesty, great feeling and straight talking told me how you disfavour my actions and that pleases me greatly.  I am what I am.  If I feel that something needs to be said I will say it, however.  Diplomacy is an alien subject as you are now all aware.  To put it another way perhaps more understandable "I'm too #ucking blunt for my own good".    (**)  

I have been looking for no nonsense people like you all my life and now I have found you and look forward to offering a grovelling apology and a beer in person if possible for the way I said what I said, not for saying it.  That still stands.  Give me some time and I will respond to each one of your post's and yes.  I will be nice hehe
Alles van die beste to everyone    (^^)  (^^) 
Uncle Spud Murphy