Microlight Farmstay

ERNST
Pre flight checks done

Microlight Farmstay

Postby ERNST » Wed May 07, 2008 5:41 am

I'm interested in peoples opinion of the following, I own a game farm near Elisras, next to Mogol River and I'm contemplating turning it into a flyin/flyout retreat, incorporating overnight stay, landing strip, lapa, swimming pool, game viewing, but the prime purpose wll be catered towards microlighters, if people could express some feedback in the viability of this concept it would be much appreciated.

Ernst..
Bacardi

Re: Microlight Farmstay

Postby Bacardi » Wed May 07, 2008 7:34 am

If you promise to stock unleaded, biltong and Black Label, I'll be there most frequently. Excellent idea, just hope it does not fade like previous promises (not you) vhpy

Boer

Postby Boer » Wed May 07, 2008 7:41 am

A while ago I used to organize flu-outs to Inyathi game farm near Naboomspruit. They were quite busy with microlighters at the time till the novelty wore off. I think that you shouldnt be dependant on microlighters/aviation alone if you intend making a living from your venue. After the regular flyers has been you will find the odd couple of okes flying in provided the runway is maintained - not that you need much of a runway for a microlight. I dont meen to burst your bubble but this is my experience and the venue was much closer to JHB. You could phone Errol at INYATHI and I am sure he will give you some advise - I lost his number when my cellphone was stolen but I am sure you could get his info - maybe google. There are two Inyathi's so make sure its the one near Naboomspruit.
Good luck on your venture.

Found his no. 082 899 7439
ZS WOA (Meisie Ferguson)
Ploegskaar No. 1

Postby The Agent » Wed May 07, 2008 8:04 am

Dis net moer ver na Musina toe ouboet.
Stan

Postby Stan » Wed May 07, 2008 8:35 am

Hi Ernst

Sounds like a good idea. If your tariffs are not to bad, I can stay there when I am working in that area. We usually stay at d'Nyala but they only have a funcional chopper pad. the runway has long since become overgrown. I work for the Gov. and we are still battling to sort out some way to buy fuel for the plane. When that happens then I will probably get around more often. Let me have your contact details and we can talk.

Stan
skidmark

Postby skidmark » Wed May 07, 2008 7:09 pm

A chicken flatty and ALL!!! the Cape Town ( Morningstar) microlighters will be there!!! :lol: :lol: No joke s aside most of us guys are always looking for a new place. The problem is that it must have staying power. Like most things guys get bored and so do the hosts. But a good venue has a long life! I envy you , It sounds fantastic!...good luck! (^^) When I'm in the area by plane or car I will visit just post co-ordinates.

Postby RV4ker (RIP) » Wed May 07, 2008 10:09 pm

Just thinking aloud. If you fly or one of your staff flies, why not base a ML there and in time do flips, sight seeing trips. If not I am sure one of the "rangers" will be happy to go for lessons (sponsored subsidised or not). it opens up all sorts of uses for the trike to do fence inspections, fire patrol, poacher scaring (hunting), game counting, wounded animal tracking (This is a real winner esp with KUDU which are bliksems to find on foot when wounded). Have seen it done in Kalahari and it seemed to work well. Granted the landscape lends itself to trike ops (wide open spaces filled in between with buggerall) But what started as venture with similar objective to yours became the start of farming ops by air. He can go round whole farm in a day in trike vs 3 days in the cruiser. Guy has now migrated to a woer woer, (Game farming $eems to be more rewarding than BEES :shock: :shock: ) but it all started with a trike...

Just my 2c....
ERNST
Pre flight checks done

Postby ERNST » Thu May 08, 2008 12:36 am

I'm going to have 2 Challengers available for fun flying, my son is busy with his instructor course, if people are interested in obtaining there MPL or conversion to Challenger they are more than welcome. I dont want to rely on the farmstay for my livelihood, as my income will be generated from outside , it's more of a shared passion of the sport and for people having a relaxing time at the property.

Ernst.
Boer

Postby Boer » Thu May 08, 2008 7:00 am

Ernst
Ja, with more and more GT450's comming into the country they can get there in under two hours from JHB where with my Windlass it would take me virtually a full days of hard flying to get there before sunset and a stopover halfway to refuel.
Winter is well on its way and that makes for ideal flying conditions throughout the day.
ZS WOA (Meisie Ferguson)
Ploegskaar No. 1
Griffin

Postby Griffin » Thu May 08, 2008 8:35 am

How feasible would it be to offer an intensive fight training schlool? A student could have have several lessons during the day with ground school in between. Students from JHB could spend weekends while those from further a field (e.g. from overseas or from Cape Town with its K@K weather!!!) could spend a week or two and and be ready for flight tests. If you could offer various grades of accommodation it could work well. (e.g. higher standard for overseas/JHB students and cheaper more basic for students from Cape Town with its K@K salaries!!!) Have you any idea what your rates would be?
ERNST
Pre flight checks done

Postby ERNST » Fri May 09, 2008 8:41 am

Thanks for all the feedback so far and for all the good ideas.Ek is die 15de terug in SA dan gaan ek die projek aanpak.
I will keep in contact with your guys and thank you for all your support.
When I am back in SA I will post my contact details for you all.

Postby Tumbleweed » Sun May 11, 2008 12:38 pm

Spent a year in and out of Ellisras in the early eighties. Not sure if I want to go back again in a hurry.
:x

Those okes drink and party too much :oops: vhpy (^^)