Authority To Fly Personal Situation

Postby nicow » Tue Mar 11, 2008 5:50 pm

Wie by CAA werk vir Rotax?
They smile while we buy cranks....Time for a new exprimental motor(Rotax with no name).
nico@limpopoflightschool.co.za
Wargames

Postby Wargames » Tue Mar 11, 2008 5:54 pm

skidmark wrote:If I do overhaul the motor...think! I will pass that entire cost over to the next buyer..in other words my plane will go up in price to the some of whatever it cost me.
Hi Skidmark,

Know what you mean. It will hurt, no matter what you do.

Don't confuse improvements with maintenance. If I buy your plane, I don't pay for the value of the plane, but I pay the market value. This is way this new laws will kill NTCA, so hopefully they will get it changed.

Come and join me and gadget for a beer, maybe you won't feel better. But maybe will start feeling better after the second one :lol: :lol:
The Naked Trike
ZU-AVL
"I hate CIRCLIPS!!"
Ranger

Postby Ranger » Tue Mar 11, 2008 5:56 pm

MADDOG wrote:
Damb Bugger - my Hobbs just stopped working!
Hobbs? What hobbs?
I sometimes get confused............But i'm not sure
Wargames

Postby Wargames » Tue Mar 11, 2008 6:01 pm

Gadget wrote:Now see wargames, you're my kinda guy. As long as there is beer involved.

We will just have to pitch the tower and get a lookout that can warn us if someone is on the airfield that is not supposed to be there. We need to work out a code word. I mean, we do have about 60 odd airfields in the area.

Now here is a question, if i drive my trike of table mountain without using the engine and glide down and land on an airfield, can they still charge me cause the engine is still attached, although not used? Or do you have to land with the engine running for them to be able to charge you. I will become one of the best engine out landers in the country man.

Uncle Duif, how about some sensible input form you on this mess.
Gadget,

for the agenda at the beer drinking meeting, is my proposal to set a manual on "Engine Saving Hours". From take-off, full power for 5 min. then engine out, and try and glide for 3 min. Ignition, full power for 5 mins, engine out and try to glide for 4 min. Then you have flown 17 min, but engine time is only 10 mins. Without pax ratios would be better.

On your idea of engine out landings and what the legal standpoint would be, I think we would have to discuss that further. Maybe set up a hoist like they pull the gliders up about 1 mile south of FAMS, then come in and land without engine, and if they query, tell them you have been hoisted into the air and was gliding for a mile or so. Wonder what they would say??
The Naked Trike
ZU-AVL
"I hate CIRCLIPS!!"
skidmark

Postby skidmark » Tue Mar 11, 2008 7:08 pm

Asked for a quote from Aviation Engines regarding this 300 overhaul. An estimate is R12 000.00. They no longer have workshop facilities. This price does not include a new crank or labour for the removel test running and refitment of motor. Remember now boys our experimental planes are now hands off. You cannot do jacks..t yourself anymore according to the law.

Postby Boet » Tue Mar 11, 2008 7:25 pm

If I say here what I feel now, I will definately go to jail. So I`d better shut up, but alloew me... Last thing we needed is a goddamn stickler. Single-handedly destroying our sport. :evil:

Postby John Boucher » Tue Mar 11, 2008 7:38 pm

I got a 300 hour quote.... then every thing gets done.... including the gearbox and carbs!

R 37 000 - 00

Sorry guys but i'm moving to TCA :cry:

Postby John Boucher » Tue Mar 11, 2008 7:39 pm

and that is not a effing typo okay!

Postby John Boucher » Tue Mar 11, 2008 7:41 pm

and just for those who do not believe me, I'll mail you the quote!
skidmark

Postby skidmark » Tue Mar 11, 2008 8:30 pm

Sorry Wargames I will pass on that cost as I have ELEVATED the aircraft to spec...so you must pay...He! He! He! But as for the beer in this situation I think I would like to have you and my extreeeeeeemly good mates from Mstar open the pub and drink it dry! As for my esteemed friend Boet up there in Loeries ...ja china you see @3@#@#@@@@!!!! I recently lost a substantial amount of bucks in business and it's amazing how many people called me to collect and break a finger, leg.... you know how it goes. I was too afraid to go that route as it may just work it's way back to me. On the other hand there's more than one of us ...who's the suspect now? Makes you think? I'm doing nothing but that one oke is going to piss the right bloke off and he's in............! :)
coastwise

Postby coastwise » Tue Mar 11, 2008 8:51 pm

R37000.00 sounds about right including the gearbox.

My costs to overhaul 582 with short block and the carbs with only a gasket for the gearbox, as all was ok with it came to R35000.00 including the cost for the AP. The AP's charge was only about R1800.00.

The above costs were incurred after purchasing the trike, so the wife was not impressed with me seeing as I have not flown 1 minute in her before having to overhaul. Have only just received the authority to fly yesterday, so hopefully get to fly her tomorrow afternoon.

Hope these guys do get it right to extend the overhaul hours before the next one due. :lol: :lol: :lol:
Aviate Raptor

Postby Morph » Tue Mar 11, 2008 8:59 pm

I don't have a 503/582 anymore, although I passionately am fighting the cause with you guys, but I will not pay R37,000 to have unneccessary work done because the law says so. No frikken way :twisted: :twisted:

It's blackmail from the highest level. Period.

Postby John Boucher » Tue Mar 11, 2008 10:02 pm

I think I must get myself a Piper Cherokee 140 / 180 or something. What was the purpose of trying to fly in an affordable manner?

I think I'm going to sell my Cheetah - pop over to certified - and fight with AMO's not doing their work properly - at least there is a system in place. This fart arseing around not knowing where the hell one is and everyone making up their own rules just to pie us or shut us up is getting on my nerves. Let me tell you, there is a huge amount of MPLers out there that are not even aware of this fiasco!

I've spoken to a few chaps and mentioned Part 24 - huh, wat praat jy van man? F...k hulle man...
skidmark

Postby skidmark » Tue Mar 11, 2008 10:16 pm

A new 503 is around R38k...So what gives? In my experience it's called greed. Those that are greedy wiil eat...... eventually. Why refurbish if for a couple of Rk more get a zero motor new. Time to move on ond buy something else that works!
skidmark

Postby skidmark » Tue Mar 11, 2008 10:30 pm

Lived in the USA for awhile... these guys are learning tricks that are 300 years old ...it will backfire .... watch be patiient... (which I'm not)... I wish I wasn't so volitile because this is a game that when it turns ....... we ...us watch and enjoy