Leaving the patch... (A LONG POST)

Postby DarkHelmet » Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:10 pm

ZU-AXC and ZU-AUY decided to leave the patch today in our first TRUE cross country. Needless to say, one of the MOST eventful days of my life!

Knowing that the airshow was on at FAVV today we thought that instead of flying in and being stuck there all day we would rather pop in for an early morning cup of coffee. For the first time ever the two of us flew into ATC controlled airspace. Ace joined us for the flight in from Kliprivier and took off first. My techno freaked babble wabble mind had the flight plan for the entire trip planned out 2 weeks ago already but I wanted to run it by my wingman at the field first.

The morning started with a bang! I was asleep like a baby and the phone rang - all swearing and screaming I was rather upset that someone would dare to interupt my beauty sleep when I was about to get up at 03:50. Our 2 PAX were due to arrive at my house at 04:30 and I intended to set the alarm for 03:50 off course... Guess what time it was when the phone rang from the gate in the street? Fumbling in the dark I grabbed the cordless and I was about to send the phonee to RIP!

Yeap, I accidently set the alarm for 04:50? So my PAX were inbound and I was in my Adam suit! I grabbed the first gown I could find and rushed out to greet them? Oh guys, erm... sorry... I set the alarm wrong! Good impression for a first time microlight experience? Off course they laughed and I could sense their dismay... I pointed them to the printer, GPS, notebook, Serial Cable, USB Interface for the serial cable,.blah blah, the list goes on - that needs to be packed. I hopped into the "device with the falling water" and minutes later ran out ready to take on the "Groot Trek" to Kliprivier. It is a 75km trip around Joburg for me and one needs sustinance for such a long haul! I stopped at the BP on William Nichol and ordered 3 Wild Bean Cafe Latte's for the leg to Klip.

Arrived at the field at 05:30 and did the preflight under the 2000W spotlights on the roll bar of my bakkie (I do this every Saturday and Sunday morning). One of our PAX for the day brought along a Video Camera and I was interviewed all the way to the field - this made the trip to the field a bit shorter!

The camera was rolling all along and ZU-AUY's pilot arrived in his normal late style. ZU-BBT intended to tag along and that was my reason for dragging the printer, notebook and everything else to the field. I wasted my time, I could have printed the plan for ACE, AUY and AXC at home... No changes in the flightplan except that Ace and Co-Pilot intended to go to FASJ and turn back due to some real life commitments.

What was the plan? Fly to FAVV and get out before lock-down. 1.5 hours AFTER arriving at Kliprivier the flightplan was printed and we managed to take off. Ace flew overheard expectantly, AUY had his normal battle to pullstart hassles and I had to still pull AXC out of the hangar! With the el-cheapo printer still printing on the back of the bakkie, the bakkie was reversed with the printer still printing!

After a few awkward minutes of printing I ran to Ace and gave him his map and his flightplan. AUY went for a burn around the patch. Shortly afterwards both our PAX hopped in, I plugged the Vid-cam into my comm-system and we took off for FAVV at 0700. Ace was in front (not knowing that Ace was actually not the pilot) and we elected him to lead our triplet into FAVV.

Ace (well not Ace - but I thought it was Ace) led us in to FAVV and we did the thing we were taught and more so what ATC told us to do.

Question? Is ATC always that soft?

We were instructed to join left downwind 03 - we did as told. Final approach was through what my PAX later called "the smoke from the brick bakery"! We Landed, taxied, parked, walked to the tower, greated the ATC girls (oogled a bit, and oogled some more) then rushed for the caffeine...

While in the tower we told the ATC that we just popped in to say howzit and planned to route to Saffier (FASJ). Ace and co-pilot was to split off and AUY and AXC were going on to Parys (FAPY)

.... PLINKY - My Office assistant pops up... "It looks like you are writing a letter... Would you like assistance?"

Do you want to hear more? Coz there is lots?

PART TWO

Ace started taxiing and snagged the rope full of flags used as a gate out of FAVV. Some ground marshals came rushing and were cutting their throats with their hands. Since Ace nicked the "gate" I figured: "OH, they are going take it out of the way, I have to cut this spinning thing behind my back before it spins the rope into my PAX, myself and those spectators!”
I flicked the magnetos off and we pushed-pulled AXC thru the "gate-with-flags-rope-thing". Navigated around a very expensive looking twin engine blik-aerie. AUY behind me does not have the luxury of an electric start. He sat like a lord while being pushed through - it was a sight for sore eyes! As he passed the gate he hopped out and "yanked his nylon" and we were rolling.

The ATC was AMAZING! (Although a bit soft over the radio) ACE announced our departure (without announcing each of the registrations of our group) and the ATC cleared all 3 of us individually! Kudos to the girls there!) to report at the holding point.

******INSERT WORD OF ADVICE*******
Write down the registrations of your wingmen on your kneeboard BEFORE you take off!
******END WORD OF ADVICE******

Needless to say (or is that pins?) The tower knew us and we were instructed to report left outbound 03 after being cleared for take-off. We took off and reported outbound - each of us in turn, ATC courteously wished us each a great trip to our final destination (naming it nogal!) ATC advised us the frequency to switch to. I was duly impressed!

Our flight plan was destined for WPT01 as you can see on the below MapSource Printout - (hyperlinked not to make you have to scroll the page to read each line!)

http://mysite.mweb.co.za/residents/pimpano/saturday.jpg

We were going right over Sharpville! We opted to route along the R59 to THE "river".

Glorious it was! Early morning, 3 trikes en-route to FASJ (Saffier). Some houses, some water, more houses and a runway! Touchdown at Saffier and Ace pulled out the Caffeine. I had more than just a sip and we parted ways. Ace heading north to the wall and back to Kliprivier and AXC and AUY along the "waterfront" to Paris! AT LAST! I get to go to Paris for fun and not business!!!

Now we are pushing it! Two cabbage patch kids on our first truly solo, self planned, far-away-from-the-patch-cross-country!

Me being the loudmouth (or maybe the control-freak) that I am opted to take charge of the rest of the route. We took off, I made the radio calls and saw the meandering river. I looked at my fuel gauge (I have one of those peek under you left arm below the PAX's bum style fuel gauges), I looked at the meander of the river again, eyes
On the compass and then a glance at my trusty cheap Swiss chronograph. Alpha Uniform Yankee, this is Alpha Xray Charlie – erm - Climb to 6500 feet and follow me! We are going off-road! Straight Line to FAPY!

Flying into Parys I stressed. I am calling on 124.8 and I hear 5 Microlights outbound. I announce our "inbound-ness" They ack me and I continue my inbound track. I announced that we were 5nm out and intended to join overhead - "I SEE THE WHITE CIRCLE BUT I CANNOT SEE THE WINDSOCK - OH BUGGER – I circle, but cannot make out the sock...WTF? 123.5? HUH? In BEEEEEEEEEEG –EISH - VERY BEEEEG numbers next to the windsock!

PUNCH... PUNCH... WTF? PUNCH... err... Parys traffic? My wingman is now on a different Frequency and has NO-clue of what is transpiring. I stressed. Next moment: "Parys Traffic, Microlight Alpha Uniform Yankee (*** AUY is my wingman ;) ***) overhead the field, joining left downwind for runway 24" Phew! He saw the numbers too! He joins in right after me! Someone missed the bus and the frequency on the latest charts and frequency for Parys state 124.8!

As I backtrack 24 I finally get the windsock! "Alpha Uniform Yankee – we just did a DOWNWIND LANDING!"

We taxied up to the clubhouse and hopped out of my now very sweaty flight suit.

I scrambled to get our landing fees paid. I want to be here 30 seconds and get going again (I am a control freak in a rush). Humans can only move so fast... The plan was breakfast after all. The clock is ticking! I keep looking at my watch. It is 10am!

My PAX now has the hunger of a pack of wolves – he reckons a quick toasted is in order (meaning on the go), scream "Make that FOUR!" while filling in the landing form.

We sit, we wait, we wait some more, and then some! We get served - wait for it: "The most GLORIOUS cheese, ham, tomato sandwiches I have EVER had!"

In retrospect, the buffet would have been quicker but what follows has made my ENTIRE day!

Breakfast done we move off and start to pre-flight.

Being the SLIGHTLY more experienced pilot I roll out first. 10:30am, we have to get back to Klip and we have to go back as quick as we can - straight line – it is going to be bumpy! I neglect to use the FULL runway (will never EVER again) I taxi down the runway to about 3 times what I am used to at Kliprivier. Full power, slightly bumpy take-off - woop - sink - not too low or dangerous but still. Start circling the field to gain some alt to cross the Koppies. “CLACK”. The undercarriage of AXC gives a shudder... HUH? WTF? Now I am about 600ft AGL and I am concerned! I ask my PAX, did you feel that! Bobbing a lot due to the late morning turbulence and I am now more than just slightly worried!
Is the engine intact? Did I lose a bolt? Did I have a prop strike? Did a glove fly out of the pannier? Did the PAX or I have an open pocket and did something go through the prop? I see 3 potential landing spots Do I put down or do I do an extended circuit for the runway? EXTENDED CIRCUIT! NEED TO PUT DOWN! I have my spots and I will start sweating when the big fan at the back stops spinning...

I call downwind for a tight final, put down and immediately pull off the runway. In the meanwhile AUY is circling at the extremities of the field and awaiting the verdict on the source of my “Clack” sound.
Was it a bird? ... (Humour eludes me at this point...)

Sitting next to the runway I inspect the prop and every nut, bolt, washer, engine mounting, safety cable, exhaust mounting, exhaust spring - everything that could fly through the prop... Meanwhile AUY is bumping along overhead. I can see NOTHING wrong!

I take off again, this time using the entire runway! I gain some altitude, turn, climb and “CLANK”. undercarriage shudders again. I call abort and start thinking how to trailer back. I land and AUY lands thanking me for the abort – the bumps were way too much.

Now we are four people; with lives; stuck in Parys! Two aeries, one PAX has to get back at 1600 to go to work. We burnt too much fuel to safely return to Klip while we where bumbling along over Parys and now we are in a predicament...

The next few quotes are the thoughts or the four parties involved:

1. AUY Pilot: "My girlfriend is going to KILL ME"
2. Myself: "My pal is going to LOVE me asking him to drive to my house, fetch the trailer, dig around the garage, get the wing bags and drive to Parys.."
3. My PAX: "I need to meet my students at 1600 for their farewell at Lesedi Village”
4. AUY’s PAX: "Us two PAX just wait here like idiots while you two pilots fly back in one aerie, fetch the bakkie, fetch the trailer and then come fetch us in Parys" <<< Retrospectively at that time - a VERY sound plan

Mumble, mumble, mumble - back to the clubhouse...

I walk in and I am flustered, my wingman walks in all bumped about. With droopy faces we ask Neville if they have fuel. He responds, yes AVGAS only, sorry!

AXC flies on unleaded, AUY flies on leaded. We have one 25l can which Neville pulled out from the AVGAS canopy. I am not too keen to put AVGAS in my ROTAX 582, AUY feels the same, one can? 5km trip to town?

Neville is more than willing to do two trips for us into Parys to get fuel for us just using only one can.

The SAGA continues...

PART THREE

Stuck with a PAX that has to report for duty at 1600 and grounded in Parys we explored our options. Flying our trikes was not one of them, real life is the priority and we need to make a plan! I initially told my PAX when I invited them a week before that we would be back at Klip at 0900. I planned a cross-
country to Parys in the meanwhile and informed them of this, they opted to go along! We were all truly excited!

Getting stuck in Parys was not on the flightplan! A luck would have it a Cessna taxied to the clubhouse while we were contemplating our fate and eating our divine sarmies. Later they were to solve one of our predicaments. They came for breakfast from Grand Central and the pilot needed to be back at Fourways Crossing close to the house of the PAX that needed transport! They were 3 up in a 4 seater and offered my desperate PAX a ride back to Grand Central, no headset but they welcomed him along! I am truly thankful to this fellow pilot for his sincere gesture!

Now I am vexed – what caused the undercarriage shudder? I walk back to AXC. Staring at the prop I notice a small rope like thread stuck in the outer most rivet on the stainless steal leading edge of my Warp Drive propeller. Odd? I look up at the battens and notice the one retainer rope was snapped off after the knot that holds it in place. The knot used to pull the rope to clip it in place was flaying on one strand of rope, the other side was severed off. This could have been the reason for the shudder?

I recall from the packing instructions for my Spirit II wing that the two inner most battens remain in the wing when folded? Could this be the reason? I recently moved my hang point to the centre position. Was the turbulence so bad and the move forward so severe that the wing moved back pushing the rope into the prop? What will happen if I put my hang point in the forward most position? I reached for my Leatherman and cut off the excess knot leaving enough rope so the remaining knot cannot unravel.

Neville took us into town to get some fuel, oil and a siphon pipe. We filled up our aeries and settled in for the wait for 1600 for the turbulence to die down. Two Tiger Moths were visible in the distance and I convinced the remaining crowd to leg over to them to go have a look before lunch.

We had some superb pancakes with mince, cheese and mushrooms for lunch, followed by pancakes with sugar, cinnamon and chocolate sauce for desert!

As 1500 approached I started to twitch and decided to pre-flight to be ready to roll at 15:45, I would go up and test the air while my still-rattled-from-the-morning-bumps wingman would await the verdict on the ground. Warmed her up and taxied AXC to the clubhouse for my 1545 departure. While standing in front of the clubhouse I showed Neville my flying machine. He flies the club Cubby and was impressed with the 582 I had on the back. I reached up to show him the rope that I diagnosed as the source of my shudder and heard a sizzle as my exposed stomach touched the exhaust! Wasn’t a big burn, can’t even find it today – but I was still rather embarrassed at my own clumsiness!

I stared at my watch and shouted “Prop Clear”. Everyone moved off and I flicked the electric start. She purred into action and I hopped in to go test the proverbial water! I did not find it too bad and opted to do a bit of scouting around the field and around Parys. Came back down and we all hopped in to roll for Klip!

We opted to head back along the river and decided to go to 6500 feet along the river through the koppies. It was not the smoothest flight and I could hear AUY cursing me for having the extra weight from the PAX in the bumps.

As we passed through the “gateway” I hit a bump and felt the “clack”. I immediately asked my PAX if he had felt it too. No, he said! Oh my word. We were high and I scoped out some potential put down spots an then on to in-flight troubleshooting. My PAX stared back at the prop and up at the ropes. He assured me that there was just NO way that those ropes could be hitting the propeller. There was more than enough clearance and it was just totally impossible. Bump, bump up and down I stare up at the hang point assembly. I notice a slight gap between the rear retaining ring and the hang block! It dawned on me! As I let go a VERY VERY big sigh of relief I pointed it out the PAX and explained what I thought is happening.

In calm conditions I never felt it but as I hit a bump the forces on the wing and the weight of the undercarriage made the hang block assembly move back and hit the retaining ring. It made sense now! It was not the smoothest flight back to Vanderbijl but at least did not have any more clacking!

We turned north off the Vaal following the Klipriver around Vereeniging and stopped at Midvaal (also known as Henley) for a quick cigarette. Someone flew in from Panorama just after us and after a few courtesies we were back in the patch! We returned to Kliprivier and since we had a good 30 minutes of light left I opted to practice some simulated engine outs with my PAX (believe it or not he is hooked on flying now!)

Where will we be flying to next? I don't know but I truly can NOT wait for the next adventure!

THE END

I would like to extend my sincerest thanks and gratitude to everyone at the Parys flying club! To Neville in particular who ferried us up and down!
Last edited by DarkHelmet on Sun Sep 11, 2005 11:35 am, edited 2 times in total.
Fairy Flycatcher

Re: Leaving the patch... (A LONG POST)

Postby Fairy Flycatcher » Sun Sep 11, 2005 6:12 am

DarkHelmet wrote: Do you want to hear more? Coz there is lots?

Yup :D I was enjoying the read and suddenly it stopped....
Annie
www.comefly.co.za
Flying is a hard way to earn an easy living

Postby DarkHelmet » Sun Sep 11, 2005 10:45 am

Read on from Part Two. I am editing part 3 now!
Fairy Flycatcher

Postby Fairy Flycatcher » Sun Sep 11, 2005 10:59 am

Lovely stuff.

Thanks for sharing :D :D :D :D :D Grinning all the way
Annie
www.comefly.co.za

Postby DarkHelmet » Sun Sep 11, 2005 11:36 am

FF I finished it just for you!
Fairy Flycatcher

Postby Fairy Flycatcher » Sun Sep 11, 2005 11:55 am

xxx
=D*
Thanks it is just great. :D Can I include some of it in the book I'm writing?
Annie
www.comefly.co.za

Postby DarkHelmet » Sun Sep 11, 2005 12:03 pm

Go ahead!

Postby DarkHelmet » Sun Sep 11, 2005 12:12 pm

When can I buy a copy of the book?
Fairy Flycatcher

Postby Fairy Flycatcher » Sun Sep 11, 2005 12:20 pm

At the rate I'm going, probably in 2010 :( Hoping for May next year though.

It a training book really, or that is where it started, teaching various theory lessons with stories in between so that the lessons are relevant, and you can keep some level of excitement about your theory.

I remember anything only if I can find the relevance for it. (Sucked at Matric maths :oops: , aced applied maths and stats at UNISA :D) .
Annie
www.comefly.co.za

Postby DarkHelmet » Sun Sep 11, 2005 12:22 pm

Would love to help! Shout if you can think of anything I can do to assist!
gertcoetzee

Postby gertcoetzee » Sun Sep 11, 2005 5:29 pm

Great putting your GPS track online, helps for us not knowing the area.

Postby RV4ker (RIP) » Sun Sep 11, 2005 7:52 pm

The force she is strong with this one...

PS
Is this not what it's all about. =D* =D* =D* =D* =D* I hope to join you shortly on one of your afternoon adventures. I am unfortunately not available (alive or awake) at those ridiculous hrs you speak of in "mornings" :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops:

:?: I thought morning only starts when sun rises, not at 3.50am -xX -xX -xX -xX -xX #-0 #-0 #-0

Postby DarkHelmet » Sun Sep 11, 2005 8:35 pm

I have to outdo Gert! He is good at pictures! And as you know a picture says a thousand words!

Gert is better at photoshop so I opted for the thousand words part ;) All those pictures... damn back to Word I go!
ACE

Postby ACE » Sun Sep 11, 2005 9:55 pm

Hell DH you guys had a fun day after we split at Saffier.

Now, here's my track, and a few photos tacked on. I am still digesting your long report - could take a while - I am sifting thru it all, looking for occurrences where my name has been posted in bright neon lights 8).

As for that string-with-flags cutting ceremony - oh well :roll: - but hey I got clearance from ATC to taxi didn't I ?? At least I didn't take any of it with me because I'm not licensed for "banner towing" :twisted:

Edit by DarkHelmet - Ace your pic is 1.5MB and takes a while to load - I have mailed you a smaller one - could you upload it to your server and re-edit this post with the smaller file please?

:oops: sorry folks - have reloaded the downsized file. :!:
Last edited by ACE on Tue Sep 13, 2005 8:23 am, edited 1 time in total.
A Smith & Wesson beats five Aces
RudiGreyling

Postby RudiGreyling » Mon Sep 12, 2005 7:47 am

HI Darkhelmet,

Nice read about your story, I enjoyed it. As you fly out more regularly you'll start to learn what to take along. i.e. fuel hose and oil is always my sidebag even for those short trips.

We microlighters have a saying: "If you've got time to spare go by air"
You can't be forced into a time window, that just causes problems if you are pressed for time on fly-outs.

Well Done!!

To Ace:
Charles I like what you did with that flip, pictures, track. The things are nicely spaced and looks good.

"Science, freedom, beauty, adventure - Aviation offers it all"
http://www.RudiGreyling.com