Is this the end of microlighting in S.A. ?

Wargames

Postby Wargames » Sun Feb 10, 2008 10:03 pm

Yes, I have to agree with david.

I only have one concern with this whole part 24 thing, and this is something that get everyone into this heated debate, and that is that the okes that is trying to fix this on our behalf, are working hard at it, but we don't know what is happening. We are in essence "flying blind".

Everyone is speculating about what is going to happen, but no-one is actually coming out to say what they have done and what the reaction on that was from CAA.

The other thing bothering me is this database that is being put together. Surely rotax have all the data on all planes that they have worked on. Sureley they have mesured all wear on the engine. or have they?? Did they measure the wear on a crank before replacing it?? It could have been nice info. They must have data on file that can help this.

I am hoping that they will have a good meeting with the CAA so that we can go on flying.

On the rules that david was talking about that they wanted. I am sure that they meant good, but the wording was wrong. Something for those guys to remember is that you can have the best rules in the world, but there will allways be guys that will break them. No rulebook will be followed by the letter.

Hope you guys had a wonderful weekend. My flying was rained out today. Its february, and the "WINTER" has hit the cape of good storms.

Sleep tight. s064
The Naked Trike
ZU-AVL
"I hate CIRCLIPS!!"

Postby Boet » Sun Feb 10, 2008 10:25 pm

" This engine, by it`s design is prone to sudden stoppages". We buy them and we fly them. So what is all the fuss about? I think the plot is missed by 100000`s of miles. We want to fly for fun. If we get stopped with one engine, there are 100`s of other perfectly good engines you can use. Therefore, my next BB will be BMW powered. Untill they change their attitude, no more Rotax.
ZULU1

Boet correct

Postby ZULU1 » Mon Feb 11, 2008 5:51 am

Yes Boet you have hit the nail on the head, you just have to get on with it mate !! Thread is worn out now. Just have to sit back and wait then make a decision should you own a 503/582 series. Little replies from 912, HKS, Jabiru and other engine owners.

Zulu1
Centrifugal force in pure Physics does not exist, however this does not apply to Taxi drivers..
JACO

Postby JACO » Mon Feb 11, 2008 9:32 am

Yes, bashing each other or CAA or somebody is not going to help any body ! I've come to know this forum as a "friend" and "helping hand",
let's try and help each other with facts, and past experiences to try and obtain ATF's on 503 / 582's untill everything is sorted out. I'm gonna try and renew a 503 with +- 450 hrs, no new crank, and a 582 with +- 370 hrs with major overhaul, next week somewhere. I will post my experience with CAA here. Any advise, I think it's gonna take a battle .....

Thanx to every body working on the issues ....

PS I baught the 582 on 356 hrs, and phoned aviation enjines to try and find out what exactly was done on the overhaul, but the guy i spoke to, said they don't keep record .... Strange !
Leprachaun

Postby Leprachaun » Mon Feb 11, 2008 9:37 am

Eish , ja boet lots of eish , I will be submitting another 503 today with close to 400 hours , lets wait and see . Mervyn , Raptor fame is submitting an Aquilla 582 with 400 plus hours , lets see whats happening - Check this space
The Verner , its my engine of the future , - and yes I would like to get the engine frame - My next Aquilla will fly with a Verner for sure -
Pricing is in the region of 6800 Euro ex factory excluding taxes - New agent is being sorted , previous one didnt shape , pitysome guys go about bashing suppliers and opposition and dont FOCUS on a good product , Pumba , I would like to fly your Verner engined plane asap , Leprachaun
A pilot lives by perfection , or not at all!
Wart

Postby Wart » Mon Feb 11, 2008 10:07 am

This quoted off the SAMicro Yahoo group, posted by Niren:-

"The Repair Manual for the 582 Edition 1997, which is still valid states that the crank is a 100% replacement part at 300 hours, see the attached page from that manual. If for some reason the attachment does not come through, please send me a message and I’ll forward it to you.

As concerns the 503, the maintenance manual states only that it must be overhauled at 300 hours, there is no further documentation about it, Therefore the replacement of the crankshaft is not necessary, it must however be checked and measured at 300 hours and if found to be within the wear limits, it may be re-installed."
Live: UK
JACO

Postby JACO » Mon Feb 11, 2008 10:32 am

Does anybody know where we can dowload that manual ??

Is this now the same "hidden" manual as stated above, the one CAA uses, and if not, were can we download that one aswell ??

Thanx
lamercyfly

Postby lamercyfly » Mon Feb 11, 2008 11:26 am

Guys, pleeeez read this slowly, and absorb what I am saying:

FACT 1.

the CAR's state that you will maintain your aircraft ( note: not just the engine) as per the manufacturers maintenance schedule.

FACT 2.

The manufacturer may over-ride the manuals or recommendations of any of the outsourced components which they use in their final product. This has already been done, and approved by the SACAA.eg. manufacturers which use imported wings, and change the design load ratings .....

FACT 3.

The POH (Owners Manual) which accompanies your product of choice (be it Aquillla, Raptor or Aerotrike etc.,) has the standard maintenance schedule of Rotax attatched. This is therefore the standard which, by default, the manufacturers have approved. Until the manufacturer put's out a notice to all owners, that they are amendming their existing POH's, and until these notices are made available to the owners of their products ( I know this, because I owned a CAA approved Aircraft Manufacturing Organization - the Skyranger Agency, and I remember clearly the requirements on the owner of the AMO to stay in touch with and notify all owners of my product etc., etc.,), then any manual which CAA has in their hands means nothing, if it has not complied with the above requirements...... Klaar......finis.......end of story........

Alex, do the inspection on that crank, if that's what the manual in the POH says, and comply with whatever else is in that manual, then go get the Autho To Fly........

Quite simple, and easy, to find the loopholes when beaurocrats and administrators make unreasonable laws. Businessmen will always find the 'legal' loophole.

Now, let me be quite clear on this, not as long as there is a hair on my 'chinny chin chin', will I stand back and allow CAA to interpret this in any other way.

And I need the entire lot of you to support this legal interpretation.

Regards.
David Daniel
Email: lamercyfly@gmail.com
Mobile: +27 (0)746495744

Postby John Boucher » Mon Feb 11, 2008 11:32 am

YES.... u have me support!

Just for all those looking for alternatives.... there banja banja many!

http://www.engines.pwbiz.net/
Mike Cordeiro
Ready for the first flight

Postby Mike Cordeiro » Mon Feb 11, 2008 11:38 am

I did the installation of this brand new BMW 1100cc / 100Hp on this raptor.
Manfred Springer did the mountings and brackets.

It runs on a digital fuel injection (BOSH DME ) and it uses 7.4Lt per hour.
It has a electronic altitude compensator for the ignition timing and fuel mixture. we have had zero problems since instalation.
bmw trike.jpg
bmw trike.jpg (88.53 KiB) Viewed 1824 times
Mike Cordeiro

Postby Mike Cordeiro » Mon Feb 11, 2008 11:45 am

Some more pics
bmw4.jpg
bmw4.jpg (74.93 KiB) Viewed 1814 times
bmw3.jpg
bmw3.jpg (56.02 KiB) Viewed 1814 times
bmw2.jpg
bmw2.jpg (87.51 KiB) Viewed 1814 times
Leprachaun

Postby Leprachaun » Mon Feb 11, 2008 11:53 am

Hi mike , what box are you using , I have an option on a complete bike , but the box is still the issue - Local is lekker
A pilot lives by perfection , or not at all!

Postby Morph » Mon Feb 11, 2008 11:57 am

Wart wrote:This quoted off the SAMicro Yahoo group, posted by Niren:-
"The Repair Manual for the 582 Edition 1997
I have attached 2 pages here. One is the one being referred to above and is clearly from the 1994 version of the manual, check the date bottom left, and the second from the current May 1999 version of the manual which IMHO supercedes this old version.

You will note nothing is mentioned in the 99 manual at all regarding the required crank change.

Now, have suppliers deliberately stuck to an older version of the manual in order to move more cranks :?
582 94 Maintenance Schedule.jpg
582 94 Maintenance Schedule.jpg (94.67 KiB) Viewed 2024 times
582 99 maintenance Schedule.jpg
582 99 maintenance Schedule.jpg (115.59 KiB) Viewed 2024 times

BMW

Postby John Boucher » Mon Feb 11, 2008 11:58 am

Mike

Yes man... that's the kind posts & pics we want to see.

There is life after BRP... I like the fuel injection option.

Maybe get a new 1200 uprated motor from a wiped out bike and then do this conversion! Drop the pipes out and fit an Akrapovic or Two Brothers!
Man, this can work!

Will get in touch with you!
Mike Cordeiro

Postby Mike Cordeiro » Mon Feb 11, 2008 12:14 pm

The box is a sliper cluth type and is made by TAKE-OFF in Germany.
They use these motors for trikes,fixed wings and hovercrafts.