Giving up smoking...

Wart

Giving up smoking...

Postby Wart » Fri Jan 11, 2008 1:06 pm

Nothing to do with New Year resolutions but it is time to stop (again!). The excuse I have been using has run its course now and I have to quit. I have given myself until the 30 January to quit (that includes a trip to HKG, Bangkok and Singapore - 20 to 30 Jan.) so who is joining me in quitting and being "healthy" again.

Any tips that people have on quitting?
Live: UK

Postby Tumbleweed » Fri Jan 11, 2008 1:42 pm

Me. I missed my regular New Year's Resolution effort.

Monday, my brat demonstrated his new kick box move and discolcated my finger. :) Hospital policy says blood pressure must be on discharge / invoice and showed way too high.

So, after tonight's piss up, I'm ready for cold turkey. I'll issue hard hats to family, scratch for last year's Zyban and stay away from road rage.

One thing you can't do and smoke is fly. So, a better excuse, I can't think up of at the moment. :wink:
Lesser_spotted_owl

Postby Lesser_spotted_owl » Fri Jan 11, 2008 1:56 pm

I'm in, 8)

It ain't easy when you travel a lot as there doesn't seem to be anything better to do :(

Good luck
"wrong" is one of those concepts that depends on witnesses
ZU-CRC Cobra

Postby Big-D » Fri Jan 11, 2008 2:51 pm

Smoking - Don't get me started, Gave up for almost 2 years. Started again over festive period :twisted: :evil: :evil: :evil:

All I can say is I feel miserable and I can promise you guys it is much better being a non-smoker :cry:

Zyban worked for me last time - Prescription pills from doc

I am also going to try cold turkey this time - Hopefully the cancer sticks have not hooked my hook, line and sinker again in such a short time.

Yours in quiting

Ou Man
Survived first engine out

Postby Ou Man » Fri Jan 11, 2008 2:59 pm

You can if you realy whant to. Know it's not easy. Gave up 25 years ago with a little help from the "gums" Got hooked on the gums though :oops:
Will be thinking and praying for you ouks giving it up. Realy one of the best things I did in my life!
I believe I can fly...even touch the sky
Rusty

Postby Rusty » Fri Jan 11, 2008 4:48 pm

Hi Guys,

It is easy if YOU! WANT! to stop. I know its easy to say, and very difficult to do, but I smoked 30 Camel, and later Texan a day for many years.
In the end it was tasting really k@k, not to meation the coughing etc. so what started out as an Easter bet 22 years ago, with R400 in the kitty, groot geld those days, and a good incentive. So I stopped, and three months later took the kitty, having gone cold turkey. This is the only way, as all the other goed only prolonges the craving, and gives you an excuse to have some more nicotine via gum, tablets or patches, and ultimatley another smoke.
The craving only lasted for about 5 years every time I had a dop, so you have something to look foward to, but the advantages far outstrip the desire to smoke now.

Good luck and look foward to being able to breathe, taste, not worry about the lung capacity at the next medical, have more staying power etc. etc.

Rusty.
Rusty, but getting there.
Nkwazi

Postby Nkwazi » Fri Jan 11, 2008 5:53 pm

I stopped 5 years ago after smoking 40 - 50 a day and waking up in the morning coughing so much that it caused vomiting. I used patches and a plastic holder that had nicotene inserts inside which at least provide something for the fingers to do. I stopped using the patches after 1 week and used the inserts for about 6 weeks.

Good Luck, its well worth it, although you might turn into a fat bastard like Big D and myself :lol: :lol: :lol:
grostek

Postby grostek » Fri Jan 11, 2008 7:03 pm

Gave up smoking 5 years ago and the next 3 months were miserable.

Did it cold turkey style no patches no nothing.

Then discovered that when the urge to smoke hit really hard, all I had to do was stick a pencil or pen or something round between my fag holding fingers and as if by magic the urge disappeared.

Hope this helps somebody.

Sterkte

Gunter Rostek

Postby Duck Rogers » Fri Jan 11, 2008 7:04 pm

Sorry. Leave me out of it.
You're on your own!

Postby Aerosan » Fri Jan 11, 2008 8:17 pm

Stopped 7 years ago. Tried many timefore then but it always failed. The time I stopped I knew that it was the time, every time before then I also knew that I was just waseting time.
According to me it is simple. JUST STOP. It is really that simple all you have to do is stop.
For two years I carried a oxygen cylinder around for my father in law. It went to the beach, to the shops to everyware he went. :shock: He was the nicest person I ever met in my life and it killed me to see him dying in front of my eyes. All due to smoking. I have to note that that wasnt the thing that nudged me to stop. Not even after we buried him. :(
What did the trick is when I woke up one morning and couldnt breathe, it was then that the oxy cylinder started ringing somewhere in the back of my mind. That helped me stop.

Postby Boet » Fri Jan 11, 2008 9:44 pm

I saw a very good friend die of lung cancer. Not a purty sight. Stopped in 1989, and have not lit up since. Only craved a smoke when someone lights a cigar or a pipe with BR cherry in it. It was difficult, for I did it without ANY chemical help. Downside: You get really "Dik". :oops:
swiftprop

Postby swiftprop » Sun Jan 13, 2008 1:30 pm

I am one of those people who can only smoke nothing or 40 + Chesterfields a day. Made the decision to stop completely after seeing someone with Emphysema. Not a pretty site. Bought the Nicorette gums and started chewing on 27 Dec 1987. Chewed them for a year but smaller and smaller quantities per day. Well worth having given up. :D
craig

Postby craig » Mon Jan 14, 2008 11:13 am

Good luck ,the best i found is tell everybody that you have given up ,hopefully you will like such a doos starting again ,and just the thought of what some of your kind /caring/ compassionate flying buddies are going to say will keep you off smoking.
Do like the AA and tell everybody you are a reformed smoker .
You know that you have made it when 2nd hand smoke starts bugging you
Craig
ZS_WKA
only pilots know why birds sing !!!
No Fly Now

Postby No Fly Now » Mon Jan 14, 2008 12:48 pm

A few poinrs from me. I truly recommend the Smoke-enders course, cos it really get's into the brain about why you are smoking in the first instance.
Secondly, the only reason that you put on weight is cos you don't have anything to do for the 2 hours of the precious day that you spend smoking, so you stuff other goods into your mouth. (Remember, your taste starts improving immediately, so things smaak lekker as well.)
Thirdly, go get some exercise! Even if it starts with walking for 1/2 hour, and drink fresh orange juice and loads of water and keep off the sweets.
And lastly, there will be "symptoms of recovery" and you'll feel all sorts of aches and pains and get headaches etc etc. Stay with it and good luck.
Geoff
Mogas

Postby Mogas » Mon Jan 14, 2008 2:28 pm

All this talk started making me feel guilty and got me thinking about quitting. I just sat down for a few minutes, took some deep breaths and waited for the feeling to pass :twisted:
Nottaquitta