Aerosan's Emergency

Postby Duck Rogers » Mon Jul 23, 2007 10:18 pm

"Duck, hold your heading and altitude" "Yes Sanna, I AM a pilot and I CAN fly a plane. Just watch my arse and don't fly into me", I reply.
Susanna is on my tail at around my 7 o'clock position and if I crank my neck hard left, I can just about see him. Manie, in the other Koala is just to the left of San.

So we toodled around the outskirts of the airfield in formation and the next thing this frantic, petrified voice screams over the radio: "Baragwanath traffic, this is ZS-XXX declaring an emergency and returning to the runway immediately!" "Clear all traffic, I'm coming in! I have a problem!"

I crank my neck again just in time to see Sanna break off and dive left, heading straight for the runway. "What the heck is going on?" I wonder. I don't wanna ask him because he sounded like he was shitting himself and I don't want to bother him now. Let him concentrate on getting the "stricken" ship down. No use confusing him further, he has enough on his hands by the sounds of it. So, Manie and I continue onwards while Sanna fights his plane back to the runway.

"ZS-XXX, what's your emergency?" It's Manie. I suppose he couldn't contain his curiosity any longer.

"Emergency, emergency! I can't steer this thing properly! The rudder is sticking left! Get the hell off the runway, you guys down there!" is the reply. Planes scatter in all directions and all ground traffic come to a halt. Everyone's staring at this fast descending bullet, expecting the worst.

"Eish, hier kom groot kak" I think to myself and I tell Manie to break off to the left. I turn left just in time to see Sanna safely land the "uncontrollable-rudder sticking-emergency declared" plane on the black strip. Straight as a die. No problem. "Now what now?" I think to myself. That didn't look like an uncontrollable plane with a sticking rudder.

Sanna says nothing. Everyone breathes a sigh of relief. All's well it seems. I loose sight of him on the runway as I turn North.

A few minutes later...."Baragwanath traffic, ZS-XXX lining up runway 13 for immediate take-off. Left turn out and will remain in the circuit"

He rejoins us in formation a bit later and I'm really itching to ask but I hold my tongue. Not on the air, I think. It's not appropriate. Sanna says nothing.

As the sun sets, with fuel just about depleted, we land and taxi up to the hangars. I can't wait to ask. "Don't ask!" he threatens as we park the planes. "Well, speak up then" I say. "You had the entire airfield's attention, creating havoc on the ground and then....nothing!"

"Well, ok then....if you must know," he says softly. "I like to fly with my feet just off the pedals and just after I executed a left turn and returned my feet back off the pedals, it suddenly yawed left. I corrected it and the same thing happened. That's when I realised that the rudder was stuck left......."

"Yes Sanna, I understand. But how come it landed normally and you were back in the air again just after that? And how come everything was fine after that?"

"Well...." he whispers, "it turned out it was only my shoelace that was caught on the rudder pedal and everytime I moved my foot off the pedal, the shoelace would drag the pedal backwards........."

"Oh" I said and turned away to my hangar, biting my lip so as not to laugh out loud! I don't want to embarras him. I'm a gentleman. I won't tell anyone. Promise. ':- ':-

PS. A new handle is born: Aerosan shall henceforth be known as "Shoelace San" :D

Postby Aerosan » Tue Jul 24, 2007 6:44 am

Dukkie jy gaat gat soen virrie vale vir die een :oops: :oops:

Ja well no fine... I had the rudder off earlier that afternoon and of course as the devil likes it the first thing that comes to mind when something strange happens is normally the worst. What I couldnt figure out is why the dam thing is straight as an arrow with my feet on the pedals but makes a 180 as soon as would remove my feet of the pedals :? I felt the rudder cables and they were tight and seemed fine. This of course added to the confution and mr BRAIN aka ( shoelace san) had absolutely no idea what was going on and choose to land asap. All of this happend in a minute or so but felt like an half hour believe me... anyway the problem was soon discoverd but I still landed just to shake the poep out of my broeks.... :wink: all is well that ends well they say :!: 8) :roll:

Postby RV4ker (RIP) » Tue Jul 24, 2007 7:55 am

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: I like to fly Kaalvoet...

Postby Big-D » Tue Jul 24, 2007 9:09 am

:lol: :lol: (^^) ^*^^ :lol: :lol:

San - I think we must get you some slippers to fly with - "Stoukies" my china :lol: :lol:

Well done on making me laugh lekker Duck :D

Postby Morph » Tue Jul 24, 2007 10:31 am

They say Microlighting is flying on a shoe-string budget but I don't think this is what they meant :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby Tailspin » Tue Jul 24, 2007 2:01 pm

ok i think i just poped a rivet laughing so much at this. would loved to have seen San's face.

Glad was just a scare and all is ok.

Postby Tumbleweed » Tue Jul 24, 2007 3:12 pm

It's mid winter. We should all be used to wearing shoes by now. :lol:

Postby Duck Rogers » Tue Jul 24, 2007 9:12 pm

RV4ker wrote::lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: I like to fly Kaalvoet...
Why.......? You friends with Marthinus van Schalkwyk :shock: :shock:
Coyote

Postby Coyote » Fri Jul 27, 2007 4:01 pm

Common guys dont you think he has had enough. Im sure he will still fly with you "no strings attached" if your nice. Ok Ok im done just had to get that in.
Coyote
Life looks better from 2000 ft

Postby Aerosan » Sat Jul 28, 2007 7:38 am

Duck Rogers wrote:
RV4ker wrote::lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: I like to fly Kaalvoet...
Why.......? You friends with Marthinus van Schalkwyk :shock: :shock:
en wat is verkeerd met kaalvoet wees :!: :?: :twisted: platpoot :!: :wink:
swiftprop

Postby swiftprop » Sat Jul 28, 2007 3:33 pm

What a lacey storey. Well done Shoelace San!
skidmark

Postby skidmark » Sat Jul 28, 2007 4:18 pm

Buy a pair of "veldskoen " with velcro china!! :D :!: