Attaching a flag to trike

Technical questions, advice, sharing information etc (aircraft, engines, instruments, weather and such)
Dunesand

Attaching a flag to trike

Postby Dunesand » Mon Jul 23, 2007 4:30 pm

Please advise me on the effect of attaching a flag (short enough to not touch the prop) to the king post of an trike.
What side effects can be expected and what should we watch out for?

Hanno
Namibia

Postby Boet » Mon Jul 23, 2007 8:49 pm

Go sit quietly in a corner untill this urge has passed. Jy wil nou sommer plein kak aanjaag. :evil:
Arnulf

Postby Arnulf » Tue Jul 24, 2007 7:09 am

Boet wrote:
Jy wil nou sommer plein kak aanjaag.
Hoekom? Ek dink die Vierkleur sal mooi op n trike lyk. :lol:

Oder doch lieber schwarz weis rot? :lol:

Postby Boet » Tue Jul 24, 2007 8:32 pm

Nein. ORANJE BLANJE BLOU.......... :D Maar dan jaag jy nog steeds kak aan..... :lol:

Re: Attaching a flag to trike

Postby Morph » Wed Jul 25, 2007 10:07 am

Hanno wrote:Please advise me on the effect of attaching a flag (short enough to not touch the prop) to the king post of an trike.

Hanno
Namibia
Why? The more you add non standard things the greater the chance of it blowing off and going through the prop. Then vibration, then diarrhea, then silence, then more diarrhea, then panic, then mother earth calls you back to her. :shock:
ICEMAN

Postby ICEMAN » Wed Jul 25, 2007 11:55 am

Hanno,

You could probably do it in the same manner as banner towing, provided its professionally done/ installed........ but i re-emphasize- professionally!!!

If you have ever lost a wingtip batton in flight :oops: u will appreciate how much vibration a small piece of flapping material can send right through the entire aircraft :shock: ......... serious pucker fibrillations- very bad juju- dont go there! :?

Side Effects: Crashing;

Watch out for: The green stuff under the plane, stay away from it.
ZU-CPW..... t/bird mk2
Hoedspruit Civil Airfield
Hangar 8
janpetcc
Pre flight checks done

Postby janpetcc » Wed Jul 25, 2007 8:31 pm

Do this test, take your flag drive at 80KM/h in your car stick it out the window and hold. that how it's going to feel on your arms, if you attach it to the king post. Bad idea. Sorry
Smiley

Postby Smiley » Thu Jul 26, 2007 3:44 pm

Boet wrote:Go sit quietly in a corner untill this urge has passed. Jy wil nou sommer plein kak aanjaag. :evil:
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Will this not cause a flairing effect...? :? :? :?
Flying tha beast named "Wollie"

Springs 122.40
janpetcc
Pre flight checks done

Postby janpetcc » Thu Jul 26, 2007 4:41 pm

Give Smiley the prize. Spot on.
DieselFan

Postby DieselFan » Thu Jul 26, 2007 6:08 pm

janpetcc wrote:Do this test, take your flag drive at 80KM/h in your car stick it out the window and hold. that how it's going to feel on your arms, if you attach it to the king post. Bad idea. Sorry
Ask a Blue Bulls supporter 8), they need a bakkies weight just to stay on the road.
ICEMAN

Postby ICEMAN » Thu Jul 26, 2007 7:14 pm

bakkies weight just to stay on the road
....... and minimum powerplant= 3 liter v6 with an exhaust big enough that you can look up and see the valves opening and closing :twisted:

coat, hat, door :lol:
ZU-CPW..... t/bird mk2
Hoedspruit Civil Airfield
Hangar 8
Bacardi

Postby Bacardi » Thu Jul 26, 2007 8:58 pm

Hanno my friend

You were a great help when I once tried to import some trike documents from Namibia, referring to the one that the Van Zyl guy and his female student perished with.

I personally would prefer to skip the quips and suggest that you attach the flag to the post and give it the berries. These okes are all just groping. If it does not feel right, abort. You, as an experienced pilot, will know.

If you still feel uncomfortable, contact Oddball, he will give sound advice.

Richard Quinton