Starting problems - HELP

Technical questions, advice, sharing information etc (aircraft, engines, instruments, weather and such)

Re: Starting problems - HELP

Postby John Young » Wed May 30, 2007 9:52 am

Big D wrote:Maybe it’s my starting teqnique?

1. I turn the ignition
2. I say a small prayer
3. Put on electric fuel pump for a few seconds and then turn it off
4. Chokes on
5. Mags on
6. Turn ignition without giving juice – Starter motor turns the prop
7. Prop turns, nothing happens, battery gets moeg
8. I swear a lot
9. I hand prop about 15 times
10. I swear a lot and rest
11. I hand prop another 20 times and swear alot
12. Eventually she starts
Hi Big D,

I used this technique for the first 6 months of ownership and often had similar results. This frustrated me (like you) and so I developed the following starting technique after consulting several “wise men”, namely: -

1. Switch facet pump on to fill carb bowls.
2. Choke on, ignition and mags off - use pull start and give the motor 5 gentle pulls to “get the juices flowing”.
3. Choke, ignition & mags on, give a good “all that you got” pull – fires instantly.
4. Quickly place right foot against left rear tyre and apply cruise throttle whilst progressively reducing choke.
5. Rev engine to the point where it runs smoothly (at approx. 3 000 rpm) for 1 minute.
6. Ambient temp above 10° C, close cruise throttle and climb on and then use brake and foot throttle as necessary, or
7. Ambient temp below 10° C, switch off mags and ignition after 1 minute and allow the higher temp in the motor to dissipate. Feel RHS radiator water jacket (header tank) – should have an inkling of warmth confirming thermostat functioning. Climb on and start conventionally – fires instantly.

Benefits of using this technique.

a. Saves starter motor and prolongs battery life.
b. A good fast hand pull spins the motor much faster than cranking with 15 Ah battery. At a low cranking rpm, the induced spark is relatively weak.
c. Engine flooding is virtually impossible with this technique (no 45 minutes periods of colourful language).
d. Spark plugs at less than 25 hours with clean filters etc. assumed.
e. Airmanship as taught “Prop Clear!”, prop blast etc. also assumed.

John ZU-CIB
Hot Stuff
Survived first engine out

Postby Hot Stuff » Mon Jun 04, 2007 1:17 pm

Big D, had the same problem. What Boet says is a good point, from my experience. Had too little amps in the battery, took the battery out charged it and walla it worked. Hope this helps a little
Gaylord Focker

Postby Gaylord Focker » Tue Jun 05, 2007 4:19 pm

I Fink it needs a new double over head battery clamp and a new gt strip on the wing if that doesnt help contact ebay under hookers for hire :D :D :D :D :D :D :D
Wild Chicks,Cold beer,KY Jelly and Gt450 Nothing else required!!!!!!!!!
THE FORCE IS STRONG ON THE DARK SIDE

Postby Big-D » Tue Jun 05, 2007 4:42 pm

I see the Focker is on form again. :D

Don't know about those E-bay hookers mate? Where did you hire that cherry I checked you at the movies with? Money well spent hey :lol:

Any news on your GT450? We both wait in baited breath, you for a GT450 and me for leading edges, bet the ship must be close.

On the startting problem, tried John Young's teqnique this weekend, started on the second swing - Might have solved the problem, but don't want to speak to soon

Glad to help out.

Postby John Young » Wed Jun 06, 2007 6:51 am

Big D wrote:On the starting problem, tried John Young's teqnique this weekend, started on the second swing - Might have solved the problem, but don't want to speak to soon
Hi Big D,

Glad to help out.

For info, and for different reasons, I was not able to fly for 3 weeks. :roll:

However, using the described technique - started 1st pull last weekend.

John ZU-CIB
DieselFan

Postby DieselFan » Wed Jun 06, 2007 8:23 am

Yea JY, the only problem using your technique is that I've got to be more alert! It starts too quickly :!: bliksem. It doesn't start on a full turn, but by 15 degrees of one.

Thanks!
Gaylord Focker

Postby Gaylord Focker » Wed Jun 06, 2007 9:27 am

Just keep pulling if it doesnt start thow two disprins in the tank if there is no difference issue two more disprins every hour for the next six hours if nothing happens repeat the sequence again until you burn the F@#$cking thing then then sit down and think about the new GT450

Cheers :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry:
Wild Chicks,Cold beer,KY Jelly and Gt450 Nothing else required!!!!!!!!!
THE FORCE IS STRONG ON THE DARK SIDE

Postby Duck Rogers » Wed Jun 06, 2007 10:34 pm

Gaylord Focker wrote:Just keep pulling if it doesnt start thow two disprins in the tank if there is no difference issue two more disprins every hour for the next six hours if nothing happens repeat the sequence again until you burn the F@#$cking thing.......
Or you could try this approach...... :D :D

DieselFan

Postby DieselFan » Thu Jun 07, 2007 8:49 am

Hey Duck I hear DH is looking for something like that, perhaps post that under Accessories for sale.

Postby Big-D » Sat Jun 16, 2007 6:34 pm

PROBLEM SOLVED :D

I did not want to speak to soon but now having started WGT successfully on numerous occasions I must give credit to John Young.

John, I owe you a few beers mate - Cheers man :D

The John Young failsafe method of starting that bitch-582 without hasstle [/b]

1. Switch facet pump on to fill carb bowls.
2. Choke on, ignition and mags off - use pull start and give the motor 5 gentle pulls to “get the juices flowing”.
3. Choke, ignition & mags on, give a good “all that you got” pull – fires instantly.
4. Quickly place right foot against left rear tyre and apply cruise throttle whilst progressively reducing choke.
5. Rev engine to the point where it runs smoothly (at approx. 3 000 rpm) for 1 minute.
6. Ambient temp above 10° C, close cruise throttle and climb on and then use brake and foot throttle as necessary, or
7. Ambient temp below 10° C, switch off mags and ignition after 1 minute and allow the higher temp in the motor to dissipate. Feel RHS radiator water jacket (header tank) – should have an inkling of warmth confirming thermostat functioning. Climb on and start conventionally – fires instantly.

Benefits of using this technique.

a. Saves starter motor and prolongs battery life.
b. A good fast hand pull spins the motor much faster than cranking with 15 Ah battery. At a low cranking rpm, the induced spark is relatively weak.
c. Engine flooding is virtually impossible with this technique (no 45 minutes periods of colourful language).
d. Spark plugs at less than 25 hours with clean filters etc. assumed.
e. Airmanship as taught “Prop Clear!”, prop blast etc. also assumed.

John ZU-CIB

I will raise a glass of Charles' best ...

Postby John Young » Sun Jun 17, 2007 5:52 am

Hi Big D,

"Lekker" :!:

I will raise a glass of Charles' best and point to the NW at 12h00 (after flying the Comrades Route today) to toast your new starting successes.

John ZU-CIB