Bushbaby hydrolic brake system
- KFA
I tested the relined drum brakes yesterday and must say they are still very kak. The problem is that the pedal leverage is to small to give you enough torque on the cable. I made some adjustments today but could not test due to the 22knt wind.
Will test tomorrow morning and report back. My brother is a droughtsman and inventer and he started work on designing a dual hydrolic system that will be made up of local bike etc. parts. Will keep you guys posted in future. We will employ his system on the explorer I am going to build.
KFA, When I bought my BB, 1st thing I did was chuck out the drum brakes and invested in the hydraulic -discs, will set you back approx R5k, but worth every penny
worx like a charm.
Speak to BOET, but be prepared to wait a bit, it takes a while to get the parts from the suppliers.

Nooitgedacht: 124.8 Alt 1050 ft
S 32°16'49.8 E 18°53'33.0
- KFA
Thanx. Where do I find 8.00-6 tyres? Look in the whole of Nelspruit, only find lawnmower joppies wich are to small. Closesed one is 15-6-6 2inch to small
and to heavy

KFA,
Let me tell you: FORGET ABOUT MOTORBIKE STUFF. It only works with brake fluid. Belief you me, you don`t want brakefluid NEAR your fabric covered aerie. Only a few drops will ruin your paintwork. (And probably your day too) I have seen other people go down the same route, not worthwile.
The brake system kit works with automatic transmission oil (ATF) It will not harm or damage your painwork or the fabric, should you spill a couple of drops......
Basically there is nothing wrong with the cable erake system, exept that the cables is kak. I have a set of revised cables available NOW. Please phone me. 0828041896
You also can not mix motorbike stuff with aeroplane stuff.......brakes wise, that is. Motorbike brake parts are not compatible with hidaulic oil, and the aeroplane brake parts are not compatible with brake fluid. Oh yes, of course it will work very nice.....but only for a while...
Stupid man learn from own mistakes. Wise man learn from other stupid men`s mistakes.
Let me tell you: FORGET ABOUT MOTORBIKE STUFF. It only works with brake fluid. Belief you me, you don`t want brakefluid NEAR your fabric covered aerie. Only a few drops will ruin your paintwork. (And probably your day too) I have seen other people go down the same route, not worthwile.
The brake system kit works with automatic transmission oil (ATF) It will not harm or damage your painwork or the fabric, should you spill a couple of drops......
Basically there is nothing wrong with the cable erake system, exept that the cables is kak. I have a set of revised cables available NOW. Please phone me. 0828041896
You also can not mix motorbike stuff with aeroplane stuff.......brakes wise, that is. Motorbike brake parts are not compatible with hidaulic oil, and the aeroplane brake parts are not compatible with brake fluid. Oh yes, of course it will work very nice.....but only for a while...

Stupid man learn from own mistakes. Wise man learn from other stupid men`s mistakes.
Taily, my old chucked out drum/cable system is still at BOET's place. You can have it, for free. Just arrange collection with BOET.Tailspin wrote:If anybody decides to toss out their Drum / cable brakes please let me know. I am scrounging for a set of brakes to just slow down the VP.

Nooitgedacht: 124.8 Alt 1050 ft
- KFA
Dankie Boet, sal jou more bel. Ek het ook tot die gevolgtrekking gekom dat die kabel die probleem is en nie die dromme nie, sal nou 'n foto post van die probleem. Die kabel buig te skerp op 'n paar plekke en moet met metaal om die hoeke gehelp word. Ek dink ek sal die kabels volgende week afhaal en laat oormaak met modifikasies. Wil net eers 'n bietjie vlieg. 

- Attachments
- 100_1110.jpg (41.65 KiB) Viewed 1993 times
- John Young
Thanks for the early morning laugh Boet
Thanks for the early morning laugh Boet - I don't think that I have ever seen it put quite like thatBoet wrote:Stupid man learn from own mistakes. Wise man learn from other stupid men`s mistakes.

John ZU-CIB
BoetGR8-DAD wrote:Taily, my old chucked out drum/cable system is still at BOET's place. You can have it, for free. Just arrange collection with BOET.Tailspin wrote:If anybody decides to toss out their Drum / cable brakes please let me know. I am scrounging for a set of brakes to just slow down the VP.![]()
Can i arrange for payment for delivery costs of these brakes etc the GR8-Dad is talking about

GR8-Dad i owe you big time dude. Will leet you know when i am close i will definatley pay for all your drinks that night

Howzit KFA
I can sort out your brakes cheap. Did mine with hardware all sourced in Nelspruit.
I can see from this pic that it is all wrong.
I also found out the hard way that the brake lever at the drum has a very small angle at which it is efficient. There is no shoe adjustment like on a car so you have to shim them till just right. If the angle is not right the lever is out of mechanical advantage and you can push hard enough to bend your brake pedal without decent stopping power!
If you can wait till the end of this month when I get back I will sort it for you mahala, ok maybe some tiger fishing will seal the deal
R.
I can sort out your brakes cheap. Did mine with hardware all sourced in Nelspruit.
I can see from this pic that it is all wrong.
I also found out the hard way that the brake lever at the drum has a very small angle at which it is efficient. There is no shoe adjustment like on a car so you have to shim them till just right. If the angle is not right the lever is out of mechanical advantage and you can push hard enough to bend your brake pedal without decent stopping power!
If you can wait till the end of this month when I get back I will sort it for you mahala, ok maybe some tiger fishing will seal the deal

R.
Nottaquitta

Verlede week bid n seuntjie een aand:" Ai Liewe Jesus, gee tog asseblief dat die Blou bulle Saterdag wen...." A nee a", se sy ma, "Bid dan vir vir die Sharks ook jong!"
Gaan hy voort: "Jaa en liewe Jesus, laat dan tog maar die sharks ook so n paar puntjies aanteken, nie oor hulle dit verdien nie, maar net uit genade alleen. amen." :D :D
Hi Dobbs - recently retrofitted hydraulic brakes (as supplied by boet) to my bushbaby - I can now lock the barkes on tar they are so effective!
The trick is to use as short a lever arm as possible on the brake pedal lever that goes through the firewall. i.e. couple the master cylinder as close as possible to the pivot point of the brake pedal (right against the fire wall in other words) as you do not need a 'long throw' here as I have seen on so many poor installations - the pedal only need to move 5mm! I will take some pics of my installation and post later!
- KFA
Thanx Rick, I just bought a set of cables from Boet. Got my other kit yesterday
Can't wait to start. Remind me to tell you the story of BUN and the radiator hose when I see you. 

Thanks CFD, I am on the other side of the country from Boet, but I am sure that with some basic drawings and the right equipment from him, I will also get brakes that work!
I am a bit concerned about Boet's comments w.r.t. brake fluid on the covering, while I try and be as diligent as possible ensuring that any brake fluid which comes into contact with the covering is immediately wiped off and rinsed with water, other than the paint work, does it have some other detrimental effect on the covering?