Test pilots
- RV4ker (RIP)
Test pilots
Based on Boet's request herewith a topic relating to test pilots and the risks/rewards etc...
I have a KRII which has been ready for proving flight since 2005. I have "sukkeled" my @ss off trying to find a test pilot who is able and even more difficult willing to fly the aerie. They have a bad reputation and as Boet has alluded to the VW engines are not popular with many. I don;t know why, but am still lig in die broek when it comes to VW's. the Cubby only has 650hrs on it so far...
I would test fly the thing myself (and have done some taxi tests where the urge to floor it and go for it were great), but I don't have a test pilot's rating. I tried to get one, but CAA were less than accomodating in providing me with the relevant info. What is the situation if I test fly it without a rating? I have flown in KRII's before but I do not have an KRII endorsement. I have spoken to more than 5 other KRII drivers and they taught themselves and test flew their own. Some many moons ago, others not that many moons ago...
That said what is the situation if you have built your work of art and now need to ask someone to fly it. In light of Junkie's unfortunate situation what is the situation regarding indemnities, risk, reward etc.... Possibly Boet can shed some light on the goings on of a test flight anf what he does before, during and after...
I have a KRII which has been ready for proving flight since 2005. I have "sukkeled" my @ss off trying to find a test pilot who is able and even more difficult willing to fly the aerie. They have a bad reputation and as Boet has alluded to the VW engines are not popular with many. I don;t know why, but am still lig in die broek when it comes to VW's. the Cubby only has 650hrs on it so far...
I would test fly the thing myself (and have done some taxi tests where the urge to floor it and go for it were great), but I don't have a test pilot's rating. I tried to get one, but CAA were less than accomodating in providing me with the relevant info. What is the situation if I test fly it without a rating? I have flown in KRII's before but I do not have an KRII endorsement. I have spoken to more than 5 other KRII drivers and they taught themselves and test flew their own. Some many moons ago, others not that many moons ago...
That said what is the situation if you have built your work of art and now need to ask someone to fly it. In light of Junkie's unfortunate situation what is the situation regarding indemnities, risk, reward etc.... Possibly Boet can shed some light on the goings on of a test flight anf what he does before, during and after...
For starters: My wife and my children has stipulated that:
1 I test fly only aeries built by myself
2 Test fly aeries built under my supervision, by builders who did not "back chat" too much.
I have a responsibility to my family first. I am under no obligation that I HAVE to test fly anyones aeroplane. As I am only a Class II rated, I am not allowed to charge you for my services.
OK, you asked me how I go about it? VERY carefully. For starters, I NEVER do crow-hops, or a lot of taxying around. If the engine runs fine, and I have given it the once-over, we go waaaay up there, and make certain that the aerie will not have "funny" characteristics that will make landing the creation interesting. After the flight? Nervous breakdown.
We have one going together that I will have serious second thoughts about testing. This oke is DEAF. He fires away question after question, and never listens to a single answer. He has a FULL set of analog AND digital (MGL) instruments. He wants to fit BOTH, cos he does not trust the eloctronic stuff.
Why me lord? His luggage compartment stretched at least 1 meter LONGER into the rear fus. He obviosly does not understand anything about weight and balance, and he did not listen when I tried to explain. He started covering his aerie and painted it with MS PRIMER. The whole dang thing. ( Nobody has signed any pre-cover yet.) Now he`s de bliksem in with me for not telling him not to use MS. He did not ask. He had to cut everything off, and start again. The right way.
Am I going to test fly this gentlemans aeroplane. NOT bloody likely. Am I going to sign it out. Not bloody likely either. BUT, who wil be the asshole of this story??
If the AP signs someting questionable out, and there is a crash, the AP will be visited. ie: It is illegal for us to sign out anything with a 582 engine, if the Crank has not been replaced at 300 hrs. Neither will it be safe to do a "condition check" and sign it out. If the engine kaks after another couple hrs, the AP will have a visit. After all the AP signed it out, so he is responsible.
How can the builders and aircraft owners help us?
1 By sticking to the builders manuals, build standard planes, and build them light. DO NOT TRY AND BE SMART AND DEVIATE FROM THE PLANS.
2 By properly maintaining your pride and joy, AND documenting everything properly in your logbooks.
Fly safe. Blue skies and tailwinds to all.
1 I test fly only aeries built by myself
2 Test fly aeries built under my supervision, by builders who did not "back chat" too much.
I have a responsibility to my family first. I am under no obligation that I HAVE to test fly anyones aeroplane. As I am only a Class II rated, I am not allowed to charge you for my services.
OK, you asked me how I go about it? VERY carefully. For starters, I NEVER do crow-hops, or a lot of taxying around. If the engine runs fine, and I have given it the once-over, we go waaaay up there, and make certain that the aerie will not have "funny" characteristics that will make landing the creation interesting. After the flight? Nervous breakdown.

We have one going together that I will have serious second thoughts about testing. This oke is DEAF. He fires away question after question, and never listens to a single answer. He has a FULL set of analog AND digital (MGL) instruments. He wants to fit BOTH, cos he does not trust the eloctronic stuff.

Am I going to test fly this gentlemans aeroplane. NOT bloody likely. Am I going to sign it out. Not bloody likely either. BUT, who wil be the asshole of this story??
If the AP signs someting questionable out, and there is a crash, the AP will be visited. ie: It is illegal for us to sign out anything with a 582 engine, if the Crank has not been replaced at 300 hrs. Neither will it be safe to do a "condition check" and sign it out. If the engine kaks after another couple hrs, the AP will have a visit. After all the AP signed it out, so he is responsible.
How can the builders and aircraft owners help us?
1 By sticking to the builders manuals, build standard planes, and build them light. DO NOT TRY AND BE SMART AND DEVIATE FROM THE PLANS.
2 By properly maintaining your pride and joy, AND documenting everything properly in your logbooks.
Fly safe. Blue skies and tailwinds to all.
- RV4ker (RIP)
Thanks Boet...
Makes for interesting reading...
PS
I have looked at a couple "modiefieds" for sale and they always seem to have the same story.
I would fly it myself, but I too busy.
The mods are all approved and make it a better plane.
Don't worry it always fall on the tail when you put your lunchbox in the back.
All you have to do is get AP to sign it off (I know someone who will do it for R500)....etc etc
I have learn't (the hard way with my KR) that if the AP asks you to do something he is not really asking. LISTEN and do it... It a K@K job, but without them we have to deal with CAA direct...
Makes for interesting reading...
PS
I have looked at a couple "modiefieds" for sale and they always seem to have the same story.

I have learn't (the hard way with my KR) that if the AP asks you to do something he is not really asking. LISTEN and do it... It a K@K job, but without them we have to deal with CAA direct...

- Tumbleweed
am often requested to test-fly someone else`s creations for them. I have up to now not signed or requested anyone else to sign any indemnity for any aircraft that I have test flown. YOUR aircraft represents a sizable investment of YOUR hard earned cash. Say I test fly, and something goes wrong. WHAT THEN? Bear in mind too that as a"Class II" test pilot, I may not be paid to fly your creation. ( Jaaaaa, ek val my VERNIET in my moer. )
Let us start a debate about this please.
Has anyone tried approaching the insurance brokers for a 'once off' cover i.e. Hire and fly a Skyfox, valued R350 K for one day, 25 May07, or
All Inclusive cover to test fly a Bushbaby, valued XXX on Saturday?
Once you're listed as a client and they have your generic cover requirements ( life, loss of earnings, indemnity for accidentmedical), they would only have to ammend the aircraft particulars.
They would obviously have you sign all sorts, but you could cover that with your indemnity form which the aircraft owner would have to sign and pay for.
If you can't charge to test fly, you can certainly charge for transport, consulting fee and insurance cover.
I would'nt climb into any oke's aerie if he would'nt indemify me in your case.
Have you not been in contact with Mirak, I believe he is a test pilot rated on KR's maybe he will fly it for you. I had the same problem with mine, couldn't find a test pilot and eventually had to fly it myself. If you can do a high speed taxi with the tail up you should be okay.
If your really keen on doing the flying yourself send me a PM and I'll gladly assist where I can.
- RV4ker (RIP)
Plenty tyre kickers, big talkers etc, no cash. Possibly if it flying it would be easier to sell, but then maybe I then like it too much to let it go. I am in no hurry to sell it (would rather not sell it, but I am away for next 18month on a big project so no tme to get it in air), but feeling bad every time I go to hangar and see the dust piling up. I can arrange a type rating for you, but we need an aerie for that. Chicken and egg situation... I am off to hnagr now again. maybe i'll fire her up and do some taxi tests.skyvan wrote:Hey, George, I thought you were selling thr KR? were there no buyers?
If I can get a type rating on one, I'll test fly for you with pleasure.

Thanks for the offer...
- Bennie Vorster
- Duck Rogers
I was about to volunteer your services for the job, but you beat me to itflykr wrote:Have you not been in contact with Mirak, I believe he is a test pilot rated on KR's maybe he will fly it for you. I had the same problem with mine, couldn't find a test pilot and eventually had to fly it myself. If you can do a high speed taxi with the tail up you should be okay.

George, Mr CB here CAN fly a KR. I watched him weekend after weekend taxiing and learning, stuffing it up and learning, then taxiing again and again until one day.....whoosh! he was off! Now we can't get him down long enough to have coffee with us in the hangar. :D
Oh, and he's a safe pilot too :D
- RV4ker (RIP)
Am too doff to be scared...Boet wrote:Honestly IMHO ( H= humble) opinion, I think mebbee you too SCARED to fly it??
BE scared. VERY scared.
Boet :D

Seriously
2 things

- RV4ker (RIP)