Rattex Rumour

Postby The Agent » Thu Mar 29, 2007 8:30 pm

Just been speaking to a mate who has just been over the waters and he was talking of an 80 hp Rattex turbo machine and developes 150 hp.

Can this be true and if it is bliksem lekker plenty power.

Will post more info and or pic's when I get.

Postby RV4ker (RIP) » Thu Mar 29, 2007 9:38 pm

80hp to 150hp is a moerse turbo.....
DieselFan

Postby DieselFan » Thu Mar 29, 2007 10:00 pm

Spoke to guy boosting Suzuki from 80 NormAsp hp to 130 with turbo, he then dropped it to 75 with turbo to get constant perf, so it sounds possible

Postby DarkHelmet » Thu Mar 29, 2007 10:30 pm

I read H umour instead of R umour and failed to see the joke, that sounds a bit extreme though.

As per cars, the C180 Kompressor Merc has the same 1800cc engine as the C200 and the C230. The C230 was claimed to be 143kW, they have now replaced the 1800cc in the C230 with a 2.5l normally aspirated V6 but when we bought ours it had the same displacement as the C180 and C200 of 1796cc. From 105kW for the C180 to 120kW for the C200 to 143kW for the C230 on the same engine all with Kompressors?

So a turbo would increase this even more I think. Unless Kompressor = Turbo

I might be wrong but I think the Mercs Kompressor is driven from the flywheel using a supercharger, thus taking engine power to boost performance whereas a turbo uses wasted power to generate the effect so if Merc used a Turbo instead of Supercharger the performance would be more. Alas - turbo or supercharger, I charge people to service their PC's and that is my focus, I pay others to service and fix my cars. Does our car have a turbo or supercharger?

From merc,
Model - Displacement power torque
C180 K M/A 1796 105@5300 220@3500
C200 K M/A 1796 120@5300 240@2500-4800
C230 V6 2496 150@6100 245@2900-5500

Bring your C180 or C200 for a dice with a C230 and compare?
Last edited by DarkHelmet on Thu Mar 29, 2007 10:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.
DieselFan

Postby DieselFan » Thu Mar 29, 2007 10:36 pm

Compressor normally more and actually better for perf but use a tad more juice as turbo spins for "free" on exhaust flow.

Merc normally word the supercharger as a kompressor. I've heard blower too used for turbo and super...

supercharge is normally belt driven and therefore instant power vs turbo lag. hence the reason the nwe polo gti will have a 1.4, super and turbo charged engine, small motor means high turbo lag at low rpm, so super is on till bout 2500 then clutches itself at turbo takes over, performance is phenominal as is torq. Daihatsu done same with a 2 st diesel...

Postby DarkHelmet » Thu Mar 29, 2007 10:45 pm

Interestingly though - the Audi 2.0TDi A3 stays quite close.

Admittedly the 230 is Auto and the Audi was driven by a newb with a manual - BUT Diesel is your name and I am SURE you would love this - I cannot outrun it, do edge out in front of it but marginally! Have not maxed the Audi out on camera yet and did not have the two cars in the desert at the same time but I will MMS ya pic from the "desert" where road law does not count ;)
DieselFan

Postby DieselFan » Thu Mar 29, 2007 11:11 pm

DarkHelmet wrote:Interestingly though - the Audi 2.0TDi A3 stays quite close.

Admittedly the 230 is Auto and the Audi was driven by a newb with a manual - BUT Diesel is your name and I am SURE you would love this - I cannot outrun it, do edge out in front of it but marginally! Have not maxed the Audi out on camera yet and did not have the two cars in the desert at the same time but I will MMS ya pic from the "desert" where road law does not count ;)
Can't quite compare diesel hp peak to petrol hp peak and c who wins, torq is a big factor.

Speaking of desert runs...how about a ground effect flight in the kalahari like them Aerotrekkers?

Agent I would think Rotax downtune their motors slightly and I've often see engines with double the hp after mods BUT mostly done via boost which is a kak only mod. Smart engine from 60hp to 115hp - do you trust it...

Postby DarkHelmet » Thu Mar 29, 2007 11:14 pm

I got this from an unnamed dude in the Gobi desert
28042006.jpg
C230
28042006.jpg (29.93 KiB) Viewed 1739 times
Last edited by DarkHelmet on Thu Mar 29, 2007 11:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby DarkHelmet » Thu Mar 29, 2007 11:17 pm

But I honestly think the dude is having me on and lives somewhere between Hanover and De Aar!

Postby DarkHelmet » Thu Mar 29, 2007 11:20 pm

The dude tells me it was running at 17l's per 100km vs the normal 8l per 100km in town traffic!

Postby DarkHelmet » Thu Mar 29, 2007 11:21 pm

Me again - please STOP the voices dude!
cornell

Postby cornell » Fri Mar 30, 2007 7:19 am

Wow that's alot but how long will this engine last.

I know a continental with a turbo reduces the TBO with 300 hrs.
Petrol attendent in training

Postby The Agent » Fri Mar 30, 2007 7:12 pm

I will have the info soon and then it will be shared I have just been asked to hang 5.

Oh net so by the way it was test flown today.
Leprachaun

Postby Leprachaun » Sat Mar 31, 2007 6:56 pm

I have seen the mod that the Rotax guys do , it the 80 hp rotax engine , add a turbo and tweak the electrics and - Ya boet you have a 150 hp Rotax - plenty flying around in the Gyros - seem to be very reliable - no talk of engine failure ,- Happy flying Leprachaun
A pilot lives by perfection , or not at all!

Postby RV4ker (RIP) » Sun Apr 01, 2007 8:38 pm

What does it cost and where on web can one read more?