Crime

DieselFan

Crime

Postby DieselFan » Thu Feb 01, 2007 9:54 am

Honestly guys what CAN be done?

List from within my SMALL circle within last 6 months, more if I say 5 years!

1. Big D's attempted burglary - JHB
2. Father in law's daytime hijack, where he got dumped in veld in his underwear, 2nd hijack he's had - JHB
3. Brother in law hijacked coming home from Emporor's palace (Caesars) JHB
4. Brother hijacked - JHB
5. Best friend robbed twice from the 3rd floor! - Durban
6. Grandfather attempted hijacking in broad daylight and at mall, but he fought the guy off (aged 70) - PMB
7. Instructor smash and grab victim lastweek - Jhb
8. My mechanic knocked off bike and mugged - Nov, Jhb
:evil: :roll:
9. Photographer colleague mugged at zoolake with AK's! - Jhb

Get real?! Look at these stats!!!!!! This is worse than the microlight insurance thing - so what CAN be done?

I got this in my email today
http://www.stand.co.za/project.php
:( :( :(
Blue Angel
Survived first engine out

Postby Blue Angel » Thu Feb 01, 2007 10:03 am

Hi Dieselfan and all,

I can contribute:

I work in an office park (bryanston), stole 5 cars while in office - massive boom gates HUH??
My wife works in Rivonia, got robbed while in office daylight.
My mom drove out of driveway in Eastrand, 5 attacked her with guns and stole her car.
My dad visits a friend and while still walking into his house he heard a window break - stole car radio.
Last week on Main rd infront of our office park - Two hijacked a car (luckely police helicopter caught them.
Ag man I think we all can hare a story, but this is getting MAD NOW!!!!!!!!!!!! :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil:
If God is your co-pilot, you need to swap seats.
bennieatsea

Postby bennieatsea » Thu Feb 01, 2007 10:58 am

I didn't think it is this bad here, I come home one month out of the year. My third day in Balito they robbed us while we slept, on the second floor,two weeks ago.

Funny how I can't seem to get insurance on ANY of my gear cause I take it abroad with me, they all say if you take anything overseas with you they won't insure it....the risk is to big :evil: :evil: :evil:

In the nine years abroad nobody ever stole anything from me. I wonder where the risks are.

Got a real wake up call this time :!:
Thunderboy

Postby Thunderboy » Thu Feb 01, 2007 11:09 am

:idea: Let us do a Fly past somewhere like the union buildings for JHB, but some prominent place in CT and DBN for the guys there but at the same time as each other. Get media involved and take a pax with that is a cop, victim of crime etc all to proove microlighters are agianst crime
We have all been victimes, I was held up in church with some other guys - the one mugger had a guns in his bible :roll:
Thunderbird ZU-ECX

Postby Big-D » Thu Feb 01, 2007 1:35 pm

Microlighters against crime - I like it. Find me a skinny cop as pax and I am there - Maybe a female cop, 25ish with . - Sorry, I am getting carried away. :D
I was held up in church with some other guys - the one mugger had a guns in his bible
I recon they will be spending a millenium or two in the warm place

On a serious note, Thunderboy - I AM WITH YOU

psg

Getting away from crime?

Postby psg » Thu Feb 01, 2007 3:39 pm

Hi All
I had 18 incidents in 9 months in Johannesburg. I lost almost everything that was worth anything Cars,Tools and electronic equipment. I moved to the U.K and have had one incident a satnav stolen from my car. The police called me a couple of times to see if i was O.K and then sent me a letter saying that they would give me counseling if i needed it. Its a real pitty a beautiful country out of control. I really hope that things get better there for everyones sake

Sacha
DieselFan

Re: Getting away from crime?

Postby DieselFan » Thu Feb 01, 2007 4:50 pm

psg wrote:Hi All
I had 18 incidents in 9 months in Johannesburg. I lost almost everything that was worth anything Cars,Tools and electronic equipment. I moved to the U.K and have had one incident a satnav stolen from my car. The police called me a couple of times to see if i was O.K and then sent me a letter saying that they would give me counseling if i needed it. Its a real pitty a beautiful country out of control. I really hope that things get better there for everyones sake

Sacha
My boet was in UK for a year, the exact coach that blew up with the bomb, he climbed off on the stop before that! Agreed tho exception not norm.

I'm also for a microlighters against crime campaign, but how can it make a real difference, ie I don't want it just being an airshow? I suppose if it's a form of protesting then in order to make an impact we needs LOADS and LOADS of microlighters and then I think we can REALLY make an impression. Would be good to see on ETV, BBC etc. Even if Alan's incident spurred it on.

I read the link on BBC and if the rest of the world knew Alan was a microlighter and that microlighters were staging a big flyby :P. in protest to crime?

Objectively guys who wants to be Devils Advocate, and if this is a kak idea then something better? We seriously need to do something.

1. So how to we get the word around
2. Pick a date and backup date
3. Approval from CAA etc
4. What else?
Abe

Postby Abe » Fri Feb 02, 2007 12:34 am

Talk is cheap, but money buys the meat (or whatever....)
I just gave a thousand, lets embarrass the so-called gov'mint while the constitution still stands.
ICEMAN

Postby ICEMAN » Fri Feb 02, 2007 5:26 am

Look at this laaitjie!!
image003.jpg
image003.jpg (50.79 KiB) Viewed 2001 times
image001.jpg
image001.jpg (42.78 KiB) Viewed 2001 times
ZU-CPW..... t/bird mk2
Hoedspruit Civil Airfield
Hangar 8
Dre'man

Postby Dre'man » Fri Feb 02, 2007 6:50 am

Abe wrote:Talk is cheap, but money buys the meat (or whatever....)
I just gave a thousand, lets embarrass the so-called gov'mint while the constitution still stands.
Read the site carefully, all we are doing is raising funds for an attorney to make a noise.

Watch this space, I am meeting a few people this morning and have offered use of my business tools to raise monies for victims of crime, not lawyers.

I have also had many instances over the last few years including losing family and being hijacked. I at least had opportunity of one citizens arrest of three that mugged a guy, (so as per usual the fact that they were armed meant they at least stayed in for 3 moths before the judge got bored and let the go, including returning the licenced firearm they used for the holdup), my only solace was I got to jump on the guys for about 45 min before the cops got there. as well as running over a guy hoofing it from the cops with my quad. As much as I know vigilanties are not the answer the only way we are going to stop this is for people to be too scared to take a chance.

Hand my gun in.......you can suck my Glock 19c.
If every person was armed how many hijackers do you think would take a chance?

I have got to the point I will defend my family by any means I see fit, the gov. and cops are not going to protect me.

Gatvol of being Gatvol
Flying below power lines on DS650X
And above in nothing
"Too much power is just enough"
ICEMAN

Postby ICEMAN » Fri Feb 02, 2007 7:07 am

If every person was armed how many hijackers do you think would take a chance?
=D* =D* =D* =D* =D* =D* =D*
ZU-CPW..... t/bird mk2
Hoedspruit Civil Airfield
Hangar 8
Boeing
Pre flight checks done

Postby Boeing » Fri Feb 02, 2007 11:25 am

Dre'man I'm with you as far as protecting my family goes!

These "people with super human Rights" better know to us law abiding citizens as criminals, must touch my family... they will be introduced to 16 of my closest friends then, for good measure, i will reload and introduce another 16! I would then phone the cops saying that I am a young aspiring dietion and a have accidently on purpose added too much lead into a "volunteers" diet, What should i do.....! Eish! :?:

Apologies for the voilent response but i think it could be the red meat i had for graze last night......! :evil:

Other than crime and governments "mismanagement" of our income tax,
we have a stunning country and I'm still Proudly South African! :D :D :D
Trw " Please State your Hight & Position
Boeing " I'm Six foot Two, Sitting Infront"
Dre'man

Postby Dre'man » Fri Feb 02, 2007 1:53 pm

I'm with you Boeing. I am not moving out of my country. There are far too many people that are quick to complain but never actually do anything. The only problem with your plan above is phoning. Don't phone black platic bag and dump in the veld.
I want everyone to know it is dangerous to step on my property.
Amapogo has the right way of dealing with crime. Chat to some of their reps.

The reason Goverment is soft on crime is if you look at the stats they and some of their family members are part of it.

I did receive a mail with the stats, If I can find it I will add to my post.

Found it:

Can you imagine working for a company that has a little more than 500 employees and has the following statistics:

29 have been accused of spousal abuse

7 have been arrested for fraud

19 have been accused of writing bad cheques

117 have directly or indirectly bankrupted at least 2 businesses

3 have done time for assault

71 cannot get a credit card due to bad credit

14 have been arrested on drug-related charges

8 have been arrested for shoplifting

21 are currently defendants in lawsuits

84 have been arrested for drunk driving in the last year

373 in total or approximately 70%

Can you guess which organization this is?

Give up yet?

its the 535 members of the SOUTH AFRICAN PARLIAMENT -

(The same group that cranks out hundreds of new laws each year designed to keep the rest of us in line!)

PS. I do not belong to any right wing movement, in fact I do not support any political party at all.
And above in nothing
Dre'man

Postby Dre'man » Fri Feb 02, 2007 2:05 pm

Another interesting article.

THOSE OF YOU NOT FAMILIAR WITH JOE ARPAIO, HE IS THE MARICOPA
COUNTY SHERIFF( ARIZONA ) AND HE KEEPS GETTING ELECTED OVER AND OVER AGAIN.

These are some of the reasons why:

Sheriff Joe Arpaio created the "tent city jail" to save Arizona from
spending tens of million of dollars on another expensive prison complex.

He has jail meals down to 40 cents a serving and charges the inmates for
them.

He banned smoking and porno magazines in the jails, and took away their
weightlifting equipment and cut off all but "G" movies. He says: "they're in
jail to pay a debt to society not to build muscles so they can assault
innocent people when they leave."

He started chain gangs to use the inmates to do free work on county and city
projects and save taxpayer's money.

Then he started chain gangs for women so he wouldn't get sued for
discrimination.

He took away cable TV until he found out there was a federal court order
that required cable TV for jails. So he hooked up the cable TV again but
only allows the Disney channel and the weather channel.

When asked why the weather channel he replied: "so these morons will know
how hot it's gonna be while they are working on my chain gangs."

He cut off coffee because it has zero nutritional value and is therefore a
waste of taxpayer money. When the inmates complained, he told them, "This
isn't the Ritz/Carlton. If you don't like it, don't come back."

He also bought the Newt Gingrich lecture series on US history that he pipes
into the jails. When asked by a reporter if he had any lecture series by a
Democrat, he replied that a democratic lecture series that actually tells
the truth for a change would be welcome and that it might even explain why
95% of the inmates were in his jails in the first place.

With temperatures being even hotter than usual in Phoenix (116 degrees just
set a new record for June 2nd), the Associated Press reports: About 2,000
inmates living in a barbed- wire-surrounded tent encampment at the Maricopa
County Jail have been given permission to strip down to their
government-issued pink boxer shorts.

On Wednesday, hundreds of men wearing pink boxer shorts were chatting in the
tents, where temperatures reached 128 degrees. "This is hell. It feels like
we live in a furnace," said Ernesto Gonzales, an inmate for 2
years with 10 more to go. "It's inhumane."

Joe Arpaio, who makes his prisoners wear pink, and eat bologna sandwiches,
is not one bit sympathetic. "Criminals should be punished for their crimes -
not live in luxury until it's time for parole, only to go out and commit
more crimes so they can come back in to live on taxpayers money and enjoy
things many taxpayers can't afford to have for themselves."

Wednesday he told all the inmates who were complaining of the heat in the
tents: "It's between 120 to 130 degrees in Iraq and our soldiers are living
in tents too, and they have to walk all day in the sun, wearing full
battle gear and get shot at, and they have not committed any crimes, so shut
your damned mouths!"

Way to go, Sheriff! If all prisons were like yours there would be a lot less
crime and we would not be in the current position of running out of prison
spaces.
And above in nothing
Boeing
Pre flight checks done

Postby Boeing » Fri Feb 02, 2007 2:53 pm

Dre'man I agree 100%

Our "leaders" are just looking after themselves and dont give a continental about the rest of RSA!

Its my personal Belief that the only way to combat crime in this country is to fight fire with fire! Dont bring a knife or your lawyer to the fight! Take out hte bad apples in society and live happilly ever after!

Look at the countries who still have the death penalty instated....... they have petty crime, yes, but nowhere near the barbaric behaviour of our crimes!

Dre'man I think you and I could Chat for hours on this topic and share the same opinoin, But i Would much rather sit and have a beer with you and chat about flying and positive things in this country! :D
Trw " Please State your Hight & Position
Boeing " I'm Six foot Two, Sitting Infront"