Zu-DSR's Engine problems (was ZU-DSR first engen out)

Technical questions, advice, sharing information etc (aircraft, engines, instruments, weather and such)
Bennie Vorster

Zu-DSR's Engine problems (was ZU-DSR first engen out)

Postby Bennie Vorster » Mon Jan 01, 2007 6:52 pm

Did the circut thing today for the first time after asembling the airie at my hombase.

and after one and a half circuts on downwind for 11 the motor packed up.

:shock: :shock: :shock: Forsed landing on 11 :shock: :shock: :shock:

Not what I had in mind when I bought a plane with 41 hours on the clock.

:? :? :?
Growing old is far more dangerous than flying !!!
Bennie Vorster
083 277 5110

Have you established the cause?

Postby John Young » Mon Jan 01, 2007 7:13 pm

Eish :!: :!: :shock:

John ZU-CIB
Dre'man

Postby Dre'man » Mon Jan 01, 2007 7:44 pm

Not the something you were expecting from a new plane I bet :shock: . Thankfully you can tell us about it -0< Congratulations on bringing her down safely ## =D* =D* ^*^^ puff
Flying below power lines on DS650X
And above in nothing
"Too much power is just enough"
Rudix

Re: Have you established the cause?

Postby Rudix » Mon Jan 01, 2007 7:46 pm

John Young wrote:Eish :!: :!: :shock:

VW?? :roll:

Glad you are ok Bennie !

Hope it is the first and last problem you will ever have with the plane :wink:

Happy and safe 2007,
"Never be afraid to try something new. Remember that a lone amateur built the Ark. A large group of professionals built the Titanic." ;)

Postby Duck Rogers » Mon Jan 01, 2007 7:53 pm

Young Johnnie wrote:Have you established the cause?
Hey Benna......go check for the (in)famous JY fuel filter and report back :twisted: (-) (-)
Bennie Vorster

Postby Bennie Vorster » Mon Jan 01, 2007 8:16 pm

Thanks guys.

I was verry fortunate to have a excelent pilot in the driver's seat and I still think if it wasn't for that prair we did before taking off, things could have been mutch differant. :)

Unfortenatly it doesn't seem to be just a fule problem, but I can moove the belt drive pully and the whole crank between 5 to 10 mm in and out. :? Don't know anything aboute motors, I woudn't take her up before we havent opened the motor compleatly and found the cause for the insedent :? :? :?
Bennie Vorster
083 277 5110
Rudix

Postby Rudix » Mon Jan 01, 2007 8:23 pm

Bennie Vorster wrote:Thanks guys.

I was verry fortunate to have a excelent pilot in the driver's seat and I still think if it wasn't for that prair we did before taking off, things could have been mutch differant. :)

Unfortenatly it doesn't seem to be just a fule problem, but I can moove the belt drive pully and the whole crank between 5 to 10 mm in and out. :? Don't know anything aboute motors, I woudn't take her up before we havent opened the motor compleatly and found the cause for the insedent :? :? :?
Eish... Will it start ? Can you trun the prop?

Hope it is not the crank.... Can't move the crank nearly as much on my VW in the KR.

Good luck :wink:
"Never be afraid to try something new. Remember that a lone amateur built the Ark. A large group of professionals built the Titanic." ;)
Bennie Vorster

Postby Bennie Vorster » Mon Jan 01, 2007 8:39 pm

Yip, the prop still turn and the flyewwl on the back also turn both left and right and there is still some compression. :roll: :roll:

I didn,t try to start her after we brought her down. To scared for more damage. :cry: :cry: :cry:
Bennie Vorster
083 277 5110
Bennie Vorster

Postby Bennie Vorster » Mon Jan 01, 2007 8:40 pm

Bennie Vorster wrote:Yip, the prop still turn and the flyweel on the back also turn both left and right and there is still some compression. :roll: :roll:

I didn,t try to start her after we brought her down. To scared for more damage. :cry: :cry: :cry:
Bennie Vorster
083 277 5110
smallfly

VW ??

Postby smallfly » Mon Jan 01, 2007 8:40 pm

Hi Bennie

If it's a vw motor it sounds like the baering that limmits or prevents drift
on the crank.Had a simmilar problem on a 1300 vw motor many moons
ago, I can't tell you exactly where this bearing is, because I haven't seen
it for myself, but it should be at the drive end, inside the crankcase, and it
should have a keeper plate like a big whasher.
Rudix

Postby Rudix » Mon Jan 01, 2007 8:47 pm

Bennie Vorster wrote:Yip, the prop still turn and the flyewwl on the back also turn both left and right and there is still some compression. :roll: :roll:

Yes, better to open her up and have a look ! Maybe drain the oil first and look for "bits" of metal in there. At least they are easy engines to work on ! And cheap to fix....

Good luck,

RE: VOLLA

Postby Boet » Mon Jan 01, 2007 9:49 pm

Bennie,

Bly julle ou`s is olraait. Remove that piece of crap from your aerie, and fit a proper engine, before you break your neck. These engines thrive on "tinkering". If you want to tinker, leave it in, BUT: If you want to fly, remove it. Nutti`n but trubble. :wink:
The last one I fitted, had to remove anf fit 5 times. By then my moermeter was waaayyy beyond past due. :evil: :evil: Good engine for a boat: Use it for the anchor. :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil:

The bitterness of inferior / poor quality, will be remembered LOONG after the joy of a low price.... :roll:
Brijeff
Slow starter

Postby Brijeff » Tue Jan 02, 2007 9:35 am

Hi

At Howick We have to Zenairs that we fitted with the locally vw 2.4litre motors that were assembled in Springs. Both these engines seized . The one seize on finals at Oribe and the other 3 hours after runaway tests.
the former the crankshaft bearing pulley side seize not the extention bearing. the aircraft taxied to the apron and the engine was switched off.
On returning to the aircraft to return to howick the PIC tried to turn turn the prop and it was rock solid .The other engine stopped suddenly and were unable to turn the prop. On stripping the second motor the flywheel end bearing has seized on the crankshaft journal that it had to be machined off. If you value your live (my opinon) do not use the motors.
This both aircraft have been re-engined on with arotax 912s and the other with a rotax 582 with IVO VP

At least we do not have to sit on our nerve waiting for some thing to appear though the bonnet

Supporting a crime free maritburgger

Postby Tailspin » Tue Jan 02, 2007 10:06 am

Hi Guys

I have rebuilt 3 VW motors and not had any problems as yet. These motors are very very strong and don't just sommer break, but make a small error on assembly and she will only run so long before she says no more :!: If anybody wants to sell their "BROKEN" motors they are welcome to contact me. I would definatly not mind rebuilding one of those motors for my VP.
Dre'man

Postby Dre'man » Tue Jan 02, 2007 11:05 am

I think Bennie may have one for you. :twisted:
Flying below power lines on DS650X
And above in nothing
"Too much power is just enough"