Nooitgedacht: 124.8 Alt 1050 ft
S 32°16'49.8 E 18°53'33.0

Postby Morph » Thu Oct 19, 2006 2:13 pm

How could I forget :shock: :oops: :cry:

Double the budget 8)

I reckon R100 per day gets you a case of Castles and a packet of slap chips. Perfect balanced diet would you say :?: :roll:
ForensicFlyer

Around the world in 80 days...

Postby ForensicFlyer » Thu Oct 19, 2006 4:44 pm

Jinne, you're a bunch of moffies!

Lambertsbaai? Where's that? Natal? JOKES!

Do'worry bru - never EXCLUDED it, my post was an EXAMPLE...

Ok - so here's the next question: Who leaves when? If the trip is arranged to "take off" from Gauteng, and go Anti-clockwise, the poor Durban okes will do a loooong trip alone (fairly)... From CT the rest of the way, there won;t be a big crowd...

Or do they start and go to Gauteng to join the departure?

Ground crews? How many will leave where/when? If I leave from Cape Town, do I wait for the Gauteng okes to get here? What?

Someone - draw up a good plan...

This is why I proposed the "road-block in the sky" scenario...

This way Gautengers can fly BOTH East and West to "pick up the lot" as they go around the coast. The further you fly, the bigger the group...

Then, when everyone get's to a central point, there's a FAT jol with everyone there...

Then everyone completes the circle, and okes like PE and East London won't have to fly to far alone (smaller group)...

Or what - Gauteng leaves and picks everyone up as they go around, and all just join ass they leave?

Who leaves when to join who where?

Just a thought...

Also - as many of you know, I have a lekker bus that I can make available as a ground-vehicle.

If I don;t have my own aerie yet, I will run ground-crew with my softness...

But, I want LOTS of opportunities to fly, and I want HUNDREDS of photogrpahs...

We can make the bus the official "Support Vehicle" of sorts...

Good mileage for my sponsors and nice break for me...

My main concern (if I join with an aerie) is that this is actually gonna be a Gauteng thing with "the others tagging along..."

Or do we do Gauteng, Durban, CT and somehow work it all out so everyone gets to be with the MAXIMUM amount of others?

Thoughts?

Stan.
Stan Bezuidenhout
IBF Investigations South Africa
"I'd rather have it and not need it than need it and not have it!"

Postby Morph » Thu Oct 19, 2006 5:03 pm

Logistically it is very difficult to have a massive group. There are problems with ATC's, accomodation, fueling etc all over the country etc.

I have seen this with bike trips, too many bikes at the same time and even garages with multiple pumps can't handle the problems.

I could be an option to have a centralised Jol somewhere over a few days to allow for delays caused by weather etc.

Alternatively, why not have the "Microlighters Iron Butt awards" An award given to those members who complete said epic journey, with appropriate proof, such as till slips, petrol slips, GPS tracks etc. Then everyone can do their own trip in their own groups and all the airfields around the country offer free accomodation and at the end of the year the winner, i.e. shortest time, longest distance, lowest fuel consumption, most beers comsumed (Sorry I've won that one already ':- ) will get honoured here on this forum and I'm sure I can convice darling Afskies xxx to do an article or two.

Postby RV4ker (RIP) » Thu Oct 19, 2006 7:59 pm

Depends on timing. Self employed, so can't take 20 days off one shot, but can possibly join for a leg or 3... Assuming it before I have a drie hoekie koelie koekie flieg machien I will try to tag along in Cubby or RV if it far away...

Echo sentiments. A more dictatorial approach will work best in my experience. Arrange it from your side, post what you gonna do and those who want to join will do so. Try to please the masses and it will never get off the ground.... :wink:
afskies scribe

Postby afskies scribe » Thu Oct 19, 2006 8:43 pm

Morph wrote: ... and I'm sure I can convice darling Afskies xxx to do an article or two.
Lord Morph, for a ride in a trike back seat Afskies will bring tape recorder & laptop & do an article or two... 8) :wink: :D
scribbles
Nothing beats FLYing!
ZU-FLY
afskies scribe

Postby afskies scribe » Thu Oct 19, 2006 9:28 pm

Aha, KWK off the mark there, dm: I know AUKie's a Challenger... "...Morning Star is one of the reasons why 3-axis are more prevalent in the WC than trikes..." (Morph)
Didn't say whose trike back seat, did I, Demonic One, nudge-nudge-wink-wink-say-no-more... :roll: :wink: :lol: :arrow: if Morning Star is included in the route, it's gonna take a mean machine to land there
:twisted: :twisted: :twisted:
scribbles
Nothing beats FLYing!
ZU-FLY
Leprachaun

Postby Leprachaun » Fri Oct 20, 2006 11:27 am

Hi Guys , ever heard of Reivilo , ja boet thets where it all ended last time .
Fortunately no one was fatally injured . I went to recover some of the remaining crew - Plan your fly , and fly your plan - timing is also important -the weather and winds - Talk to the guys who did it last time , stick to the main routes - that where spares can be delivered and other people are around . Reivilo is out of this world - these guys nearly starved due to no-one knowing that they had an incident/s out in the sticks -
Choose the partners well , - choose the planes well - last time there was an ocerloaded 503 Windlass , two up flying flat out just managing to clear the good old telephone wires- how far and how long would that kite last? how safe were the crews , - my honest opinion was ythat the previous group lacked some planning , didnt know the territory they wer flying over , if in doubt , no doubt - within the flying fraternity there are many pilots with a great deal of experience , plan and plan again , I for sure would love to underrtake such a trip , but would venture a little further than the cabbage patch before I take on the borders of RSA
My foukels worth . Leprachaun
A pilot lives by perfection , or not at all!