Flying with "ballast"

Postby DarkHelmet » Sun Aug 20, 2006 3:18 pm

Where does one start? First an apology to those that this article might offend, it is really not intended to offend and should be read as informative and not condescending, discriminative, abusive or any other nasty word I might leave out.

Maybe also a definition of the word ballast to paint the picture of the write-up I am trying to produce.

ballast
n 1: any heavy material used to stabilize a ship or airship 2: coarse gravel laid to form a bed for streets and railroads 3: an attribute that tends to give stability in character and morals; something that steadies the mind or feelings 4: a resistor inserted into a circuit to compensate for changes (as those arising from temperature fluctuations) [syn: ballast resistor, barretter] 5: an electrical device for starting and regulating fluorescent and discharge lamps [syn: light ballast] v : make steady with a ballast

This is not a totally new concept for me, but, nonetheless an interesting topic of conversation - especially once the juices start flowing and we aviators start talking about the "goods" we have carried.

I am specifically referring to the goods that wait for you at the airfield in anticipation of their first flip in an microlight and the effect they can have on your sense of humour for the rest of the day if you were not prepared.

We are all aware of the implications of weight and balance on the flying characteristics of our aircraft, more so on Microlights. We are limited to a max take-off weight of 450kg's on most of our aeries - some less - some (unofficialy) maybe more.

How do you handle balancing your most precious when Big D hops into the back?

Big D phoned me up last week and enquired about Aviators Paradise (the field where my trike is hangared). Very eagerly i invited him to tag along on Sunday morning to come survey the facilities and I eagerly invited him along for a flip. There was a pause - he inclined that his nickname was not Big D for a reason and that it could be "problematic". I immediately wanted to say: "Don't worry, I have flown with such cargo before!" but my sensibilities prevailed (for a change) and I decided the more diplomatic route is going to be the best option.

I retorted: "How much do you weigh then?" (That might be the sensitive way to ask a guy - to boot - he is a fellow pilot - so I am sure he understood!) But beware - don't ever ask a lady this. I have learned this the hard way - if you look closely at my left cheek you can still see the remnants of the imprint <name ommited for my own wellbeing> left. A tip when you do not know who you will be taking up - always leave your fueltank as empty as possible. It saves you coming up with an excuse on D-Day to drain most of your fuel off.

You can also take the approach of a form - but many lie about their age and surely they will want to know in a rather concerned voice: "Why do you need to know my weight?"

Another alternative is four memory scales placed under the feet of a four post chair. Position the scales strategically on the floor where the feet would rest then neatly cover up with a carpet. If you are a budding carpenter you can create a false floor with insets that fit the scales exactly and then cover them with carpet. If the scales don't break you still have a chance. If they do - you are on your own to figure out an excuse!

So, they did not break and you proceed to "rack and pack" the PAX. Strap them in tightly, headphones, helmet (don't forget the soothing tunes from the iPod so that they cannot hear you swearing and running back to the hidden scales) Make sure the PAX faces away from the scales in the seat! (I thougth I'd better document that to prevent a lawsuit against myself for this infallible advice).

Now casually run back to the "interview" chair - move the chair and quickly add the total from the 4 scales (by now you should have perspired quite a bit so remember to subtract that from your total weight in the end). I dunno if you actually get memory scales, but these are memory scales- they remember what they last measured - capiche?

Get their camera and take a picture. Unrack and unpack them. Tell them you are not allowed passengers sitting in a fully fueled aerie and proceed to add the amount of juice they have allowed you on your weight and balance calculation. Do your preflight make sure you do it thoroughly.

Now you know your fuel situation - did you fill up from the empty can? Leave your mags off and crank the motor. Crank it until the battery is flat. If you have a pull start you might even be able to pull it enough to lose enough weight to actually add the extra fuel. If you swing start - swing it leasurely, no need to over exert yourself - there is no fuel anyway! Just act busy.

Back to my flight with Big D this morning. We are both pilots and I collected him at 05:45 outside his abode to the NorthWest of me about 5 clicks away. Both of us arrived on time as discussed outside the gate of his complex. I weigh a not so modest 92kg - his weight is for him to disclose, not really that he keeps it a secret - but anyway.

Big D and I are both new pilots and we trained under the same instructors, albeit at different airfields. The early morning drive to Harties was quiet - the bikers were still getting into their leathers. After much pilot talk we arrived at the Engen at the 4-way just beyond Harties dam wall and we both got out and stared at each other.

"Eish" I said, Big D looked concerned. A chilling wind was blowing through the petrol station. The attendant was dressed to the nose. Big D inclined that it does not look good but so trustingly said: "You're the pilot, it is your decision!" Thanks Big D! Great help! Bought the fuel anyway and decided not to do the premix - it can always go into the car if we do not use it!

Two lekker Wimpy Mega coffees and we made the short trip to the field. If we got to fly we could always trek back to the garage and get more fuel. At the airfield, about 10km away from the Engen, the windsock was steady. Two pilots? We both thought it was fly-able - so we flew.

I filled the tank to half - after discussing how much fuel we should take with Big D. We hopped into our suits and off we went. Or at least off we tried to go...

We wouldn't know until we were airborne...

ZU-AXC, my trusted Aerotrike Safari with 582 Rotax, purred like she always does and immediately I felt relieved. She pushed hard and we were airborne in less than 1 third of the runway. I pulled the bar in to keep the airspeed up and led her into a steady climb. I was in heaven... well - erm - closer to it than anyone on the ground anyway!

We flew along the Northern Side of the Northern Magalies ridge in a westerly direction towards Mooinooi. D's inlaws have a parrot farm there, apparantly one of the biggest! I did not want to spook the birds but he retorted that we will just be waking them up.

We buzzed the farm but no-one seemed to be there - went on to buzz some of his other friends and they were most probably cuddled snugly in club duvet. He directed me to Mooinooi and told me of the endeavours of the people around there. Sounds like a fun crowd.

The Mooinooi airfield... quite a strip, with 6 runways! Wow, and this right on my doorstep!

Eina - LOT'S of powerlines I noticed joining overhead. I did the first precautionary fly-over and was side-tracked by the scenery. Did a huge scenic 360 over the town for my second precautionary fly-over. Did another big 360 the other way and tried to find the windsock again. D said to use the runway that runs directly to the mountain, I joined a right downwind for the runway I thought he inclined. He said I was on the wrong approach and then finally I saw the windsock - small red blip in the middle of the field. I think that Big D will agree that I made a text book correction and did a very successful fly-by, very low, over the field.

Back to bug the parrots and straight back to the field - wave hard at the inlaws Big D!

I am very "juice" conscious and opted to go for the safer option - go back - have a smoke - then decide if we continue to fly.

"Aviator's Paradise Traffic, Microlight Alpha Xray Charlie Heavy on final approach!"

(The HEAVY bit I just added for the extra bit of suspense - never actually said it!)

Text book approach, instructor klap on the helmet landing. With the exta weight I opted for a steeper, faster approach - faster, lift from now nice and warm tar, the landing was okay, but slightly bouncy - those shocks on the Safari are really awesome!

We landed and Big D immediately stormed Dale (co-owner of Paradise) and asked him if he could move in. We tried to hunt for some paperwork but alas - Dale would e-mail it.

With "juice" to spare I hopped in the back seat and off we went for a tour around Brits. We continued to exchange pleasantries in flight and Big D took us back in - better than what I did!

Yearning for a beer we headed off to the pancake shop and found that they would only serve us a beer at 10am, damn - we just had a great flight and now you want us to wait 20 minutes for a beer?

Coffee - a trip to the loo, came back - the beer was waiting - chase that with a good egg and bacon breakfast and my weekend was made!

Thanks Big D - I look forward to a lot of fun flying together!
Last edited by DarkHelmet on Sun Aug 20, 2006 5:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Big-D » Sun Aug 20, 2006 4:14 pm

:D Awesome writing DH. I enjoyd reading this almost as much as our flight this morning.

Yip, Aviators Paradise and the surrounding area is truly beautifull and I can't wait to explore the North West every weekend.

Dark Helmet's plane is very much like Darkhelmets bakkie. The bakkie is a turbodiesel and I am told by DH that it is now officially the quickest of its kind in SA and I can attest to this after travelling from North Riding to Harties in a time that would put most Biker Boys on Hyabusa's to shame on the breakfast run. Add to this about a billion candlepower of spotlights (for pre-flights in the dark - this man thinks of everything) and this is truly a bakkie that is up for the hardest of challenges - As was ZU-AXC this morning lifting more weight than she probably ever has.

Yip - Unlike DH's bakkie I am built for comfort and not speed and including my flying suit and flying boots I am pretty close to 130kg. That Safari lifted us no problem and we had an awesome flight - Apparatly my father-in-law's McCaws and African Grey's no longer say "pretty boy" they now make the sound of a 582 at 6000rpm but hopefully thay will soon forget their colourfull big couzin with the Rotax engine awakening them this morning.

I see DH ommited in his story the part about me bouncing his plane a few times on the tar runway - Man, Aerotrike make a mean suspention. Next time I will anticipate the lift generated by heat on the runway :oops:

Thanks for a great morning DH - We will have to have a word with the management of Pick-a-pancake to make a exception for us with serving beer before 10am - After all - "Die vliegtuig was al oor"

Captain Kangaroo

Re: Flying with "ballast"

Postby DarkHelmet » Sun Aug 20, 2006 5:00 pm

DarkHelmet wrote:With "juice" to spare I hopped in the back seat and off we went for a tour around Brits. We continued to exchange pleasantries in flight and Big D took us back in - better than what I did!
DAGNABIT Big D... READ BETWEEN THE LINES... I was trying to give you some kudos! DON'T go changing the story now saying you landed worse than I did!

I am supposed to know the field, you don't know it or the aerie... stick with the story I told ya to stick to and take the fame not the blame!

Postby The Agent » Sun Aug 20, 2006 5:26 pm

I am the balast.

Postby DarkHelmet » Sun Aug 20, 2006 6:34 pm

I was demon's ballast not too long ago and it was awesome... I wanted a Blade after that flight!

Maybe I can hide my envy and write about that trip next time... But demon, first tell me what you thought before I continue...

Even better, come pick me up at Paradise and I can write about the 450 in person!

(Or tell me where the keys are while you are under the clouds!)