Posible Storage ideas for Aquilla?

John.com
Location: Broederstroom (Magaliesberg) - home airstrip Aeroden

Re: Posible Storage ideas for Aquilla?

Postby John.com » Wed Nov 07, 2012 2:41 pm

Bundy wrote:I am sure you will give some good advice James, having done a few CC's over the last few years. ^

Tie down method:

Here's what I was taught...and will be practising (with a stop watch :lol: )

1: Position trike with nose directly into prevailing wind.
2: Pull control bar all the way back (pitch down wing) and secure in level position against the seat frame.
3: Secure the trike from rolling back/forward by knocking in pegs forward and aft and securing trike with ropes to both sides. Trike can now not move forwards or backwards.
4: Knock in Grippa anchors perpendicular below Inspection zips on both sides and attach ropes.
5: Additional pegs and ropes attached to wing tips on both sides, forming approx 45 degree angle between wing tip and the ground.
:lol:
Hi Alan,

If very high winds are predicted and you are left without the option of a hanger it is strongly advised to DROP your wing onto the trapeze bar and repeat above steps! It takes a lot of load off the tie downs to have your wing secured in a lower position! Also, then you have the base of your trapeze bar to further secure to the ground, which should completely stabilize your wing.

Once you have done this a few times it is VERY quick! One bolt, roll forward . . . drop trapeze onto the ground!

Also, I have an Aquilla belly bag (used once) which you are welcome to use!

Cheers, John.com
John Comley
ZU-BST (the Beautiful Seductive Temptress)
Magaliesberg, South Africa
Read my flying blog here . . . http://johncomley.blogspot.com/

"Truly superior pilots are those who use their superior judgment to avoid those situations where they might have to use their superior skills"

Postby Bundy » Wed Nov 07, 2012 4:12 pm

Much obliged gents. vhpy

I will certainly be trying out all of the above. I have to find a way of doing this as quickly as possible. Christian you mentioned the use of pre cut/made lengths to secure the wing in a level position, I will definately be fabricating these.

Have a look here at one of the rebuild pics.
ZUdBP.jpg
I am planning to make two 4" PVC storage cylinders with threaded caps. One to be mounted in the trianglular gap just below the engine frame and forward (well forward!) of the exhaust. I will put the tie down kit in there.

The other one I will make to size to fit onto the PAX foot pegs for lightweight odds and sods.

I dont think the aft one will affect the airflow too much but what are your thoughts re the proposed front one? Too much drag maybe?
John.com
Location: Broederstroom (Magaliesberg) - home airstrip Aeroden

Postby John.com » Wed Nov 07, 2012 5:55 pm

Bundy wrote:Much obliged gents. vhpy
The other one I will make to size to fit onto the PAX foot pegs for lightweight odds and sods.

I dont think the aft one will affect the airflow too much but what are your thoughts re the proposed front one? Too much drag maybe?
Hi Alan,

Adding anything of that nature will create induced drag. The question, which is quite difficult to determine, is how much drag, and how it will effect the performance of the aircraft. My advice would be to add it and then, knowing your aircraft performance before you added it, do a flight and check for any changes in performance (attitiude of trike, reduction in IAS in level flight at given revs, etc.). It certainly would NOT have a marked influence on performance but you would need to consider it along with all the other changes, like additional weight, etc. as the OVERALL impact of all the changes could be as much as a 20% reduction in performance (climb out, cruise speed, etc.), not withstanding the time of day/temperature, density altitude, etc., vs. naked trike and one-up!

So, add on the bits and pieces (including weight) slowly, and then test fly after each change, as against making all the changes, loading her up, and then seeing what the impact is! ##

I know I am talking to the converted on this topic, but just wanted to offer up my view.

Cheers,

John.com
John Comley
ZU-BST (the Beautiful Seductive Temptress)
Magaliesberg, South Africa
Read my flying blog here . . . http://johncomley.blogspot.com/

"Truly superior pilots are those who use their superior judgment to avoid those situations where they might have to use their superior skills"
Triker

Postby Triker » Wed Nov 07, 2012 6:30 pm

James

I differ from you regarding the packing space on the Cobra vs The Aquila. Cobra with full fairing, eish, you can put alot of
stuff in the fairing compartments (12 kg's alone) + space where your Passenger feet are + behind the dashboard inbetween the windscreen.

Then you have additional/optional expedition bags over and above std expedition bags. And tucked underneath your arse is more space where (if you dont have ballistic) you can stuff well , more stuff :-) Aswell behind the passenger back rest where the battery is located and Pylon, more space. Then you still have the passenger seat available without your passenger even knowing of luggage :-)

But im just tuning you bro, nice topic I love iT!!!!!!!!!

Hi Jack On***
My baby is finished now, and went for my first flight with her yesterday ,whoo hoo. Ek en Andre het daai Cobra se ore plat getrek op 80Mph met 2-up. En daai wing lyk flippen brilliant

Hi Jack off***

Postby Bundy » Thu Nov 08, 2012 6:25 am

Thanks for the input guys. It is clear that there are many innovative ways to get the most out of the avalable space on a trike. I have some really nifty ideas I will be trying out.
Weight will not be a prob, the total weight I'm planning to load will be under 80KG (average PAX), but its how to position the weight securely that is the challenge. Volume also comes into the equation. As John mentions correctly, anything "sticking out" into the airflow will have a negative impact on the parasitic/form drag. I am also a little concerned with affecting the airflow through the prop. I will be careful not to load too much volume above the spare fuel cannister/s on the back seat.

The space is there...just a question of utilising it in the most practical and safe way.

Please post some pics if you have them guys...also gives a good idea of how to strap/secure all the parafinalia :wink:
Mini Chuck

Postby Mini Chuck » Thu Nov 08, 2012 3:34 pm

Hi Bundy,

Have a look at this website :http://www.airborne.com.au/pages/ml_accessories.php,

I do not know how practical these would be for your trip. :)

Paul
1.jpg
1.jpg (13.95 KiB) Viewed 2267 times
2.JPG
2.JPG (16.25 KiB) Viewed 2267 times
3.JPG
3.JPG (19.09 KiB) Viewed 2267 times
4.JPG
4.JPG (17.13 KiB) Viewed 2267 times
Paul Coetser
ZU - bULLET
“I am not a Gynie. But I will have a look??"
zudat
Thinking of flying

Postby zudat » Wed Nov 14, 2012 10:05 pm

Petrodactyl has got the wing tiedown plan "Nailed" makes the trike almost "Fixed wing" with the advantage of IMPORTANTLY a slight nose down pitch into wind, I would be careful of applying anything more than a "Stabilising" force to the tiedown points from the wing inspection panels ... too much leverage about the hangpoint !!! equates to negative wing loading through a very fixed rigid point. Good luck with all your planning.
Flying is not a matter of life or death, it's much more serious than that!

Postby Madman » Mon Jan 11, 2016 4:11 pm

This was an awesome read..once again ##

So what was the outcome on the trip..any pics of the Aquilla loaded up :roll:

Makes you liss for a proper cross country s079

s023

Postby mulderpm » Tue Jan 12, 2016 10:21 am

You going to Botswana, Madman?

Postby Madman » Tue Jan 12, 2016 4:45 pm

Nah, a friend trailering his trike there though...he has fam that side.

Still keen to check what Al did to the Aquilla and how it was packed ##

Must say when we did Potties, was nice seeing that I am able to climb out nicely with a fully loaded Aquilla..tent,sleeping bag,tie downs,various tools including pump and tyre weld..clothes and 25L Can of Fuel.love the 582 ##
Fly in 2015 179.jpg
Potties
IMG_4148.jpg
ODI
topflight
Survived first engine out

Postby topflight » Wed Jan 13, 2016 7:41 am

Please post some pictures of how you tie-down.

Postby Madman » Wed Jan 13, 2016 9:37 am

Morning Topflight s079

I normally use a bike tie down and the seat belt of the seat itself ##

Not sure if you able to check from here ##

IMG_4156.jpg
Tied Down
IMG_4153.jpg
Tie Down2
BSR @ FALY.JPG
On route to Margate..parked at FALY

Postby Bundy » Wed Jan 13, 2016 5:13 pm

Madman wrote: Still keen to check what Al did to the Aquilla and how it was packed ##
Howzit Raffa.... (!!)

I didn't do the trip so not much was done I'm afraid... :lol:

Personally I like to sacrifice luggage for fuel....and I've been packing my trike the same way for the last few cross countries. Everyone has their own systems and way and means but the most important thing for me is having the load secure and not shifting around. Beware sleeping bags!....I used to roll mine up in the bag and tie it ontop....but after the last trip to elands, the bag actually ripped from the wind buffeting it...I was damn lucky the sleeping bag didn't start unravelling in flight! :shock:
Fly%20in%202015%20185.jpg
Fly%20in%202015%20185.jpg (63.61 KiB) Viewed 1688 times
I don't have a great close up so you'll have to use your imagination a bit...what works for me is the following:

I start by loading the fuel cans (2 x 25L)...spout to the rear, alongside eachother on the backseat. It's almost like Aquilla designed their seats to fit two of these Addis jerrycans perfectly? The reason I load them "backwards" is actually a trick ol Asterix taught me. When the cans are positioned this way, you can feed the seatbelt through the side handles which keeps them firmly attached to the trike. I then strap them together across and downwards.
If you feed the ties between the saddlebags and the backseat you can attach the straps directly to the fueltank support bracket under the seat which is an excellent tie down point!....After this strap them back against the pylon tube just below the fairing.
My tent (simple one man hikers tent 120mm x 500mm) fits snuggly between the rear seat rest and the fuel cans....which I cabletie to the same straps.

Once that's all done I have a really good "rack" formed by the top handles on the fuel cans where I can secure my kitbag and any other parafenalia as you see in the pic.
I used to pack my clothes in the saddle bags... but after the sleeping bag incident I bought myself this bag which fits everything in it. The added advantage of this is that when you get to destination you just unstrap the whole bag and take it with you? All I need is in there...easy peasy.
Fuel cans you leave strapped on board...easy to syphon if necessary....and saves time packing to go home or next destination. (^^)

My saddle bags are thus pretty empty...so I have med kit, water, tools,tiedowns, paperwork etc etc... all packed in there.

I have got all the materials I need to build the "Boomtube" I mentioned in a previous post...but as you know I havejust not been able to do as much long distance trips as I'd like.
I will def add that if I ever get to do one of these long trips I'm always dreaming of..... :wink: Such is life... ^
Adding that will give me much more space in the saddle bags for the extra gear.

Its actually amazing how much you CAN cram on a std aquilla frame?....But the key is how you secure it! I'm not afraid of cable ties and I cable tie zips....camtie buckles and whatever else I feel may even remotely pull loose in flight... :wink:

I've never had any noticable issue with the trikes handling in terms of drag?....or heavy roll control? No matter how I pack it?

A trike is one big pile of drag to begin with anyway... :wink:

Each to their own I guess but the above works very well for my needs.

Happy Flying! (^^)
ME 109

Postby ME 109 » Wed Jan 13, 2016 11:56 pm

Hi Alan,
This thread provided some pretty useful tips. Great stuff! I am planning a loooong cross country later this year, with final destination Mossel Bay in the Southern Cape. I just need to sort out rotational dates at work. This will not be before mid 2016 though.
That lekker Potties cross country is the reason I want to expand the boundaries :)
Wish you a safe 2016 and tailwinds all the way. (^^)
Andries Kruger
ZU-CSZ Aquilla 582 (Bumble bee)

Postby Bundy » Thu Jan 14, 2016 5:12 am

ME 109 wrote:Hi Alan,
This thread provided some pretty useful tips. Great stuff! I am planning a loooong cross country later this year, with final destination Mossel Bay in the Southern Cape. I just need to sort out rotational dates at work. This will not be before mid 2016 though.
That lekker Potties cross country is the reason I want to expand the boundaries :)
Wish you a safe 2016 and tailwinds all the way. (^^)
Sound lekker Andries....I will put you in contact with James (Asterix) and John Boucher...both are local yokels in Mosselbay....I'm sure they will give some good advice for the best route through/over the large chunks of granite... (!!)

James may even have enough space in his hanger for Bumblebee? (^^)
Last edited by Bundy on Thu Jan 14, 2016 5:15 am, edited 1 time in total.