NORTH / SOUTH 2013 @ DOUGLAS - 20 to 23 SEPTEMBER
Moderators: Gyronaut, Condor, FO Gyro
Re: NORTH / SOUTH 2013 @ DOUGLAS - 20 to 23 SEPTEMBER
We have communicated some important information to everyone that indicated to us that they will be attending this event. If you did not receive it or only now decided to attend, please send me a PM with your e-mail address so I can forward you all the relevant information.
To all of you attending, please have a safe and enjoyable flight. There will be a cold one waiting.
www.altairaviation.co.za
HOME OF XENON & ZEN GYROCOPTER
- Tinkerbell
- Nothing beats flying
Can't wait to leave tomorrow. Looking forward to seeing all of you again. Safe trip!
The person who says it can't be done should not interrupt the person doing it.
ZU-RKU Zen
ZU-RTM Calidus
http://www.altairaviation.co.za
ZU-RKU Zen
ZU-RTM Calidus
- THI
- Pilot in Command
Praat jy! Ek is self lus vir ontspanning. Ons ry deur DV Vrydag! Die vrou en kinders pas ongelukkig nie in die gyro nieTinkerbell wrote:Can't wait to leave tomorrow. Looking forward to seeing all of you again. Safe trip!

Thinus Enslin
Potchefstroom (FAPS)
ZU-CML
Sycamore MK1 - Hilux of the gyros
Would love a RV10 though...
Potchefstroom (FAPS)
ZU-CML
- Gyronaut
Damn weather sometimes...
The Cape is clampers and nobody is going anywhere around here for the next few days.
Sorry about that but we will have to give this one a miss.
Johan/Flynote, ek dog jy het kontakte... Eish, lyk my nie so nie.
Volgende keer....
Geniet dit verskriklik.
Len & Cx
The Cape is clampers and nobody is going anywhere around here for the next few days.
Sorry about that but we will have to give this one a miss.
Johan/Flynote, ek dog jy het kontakte... Eish, lyk my nie so nie.

Volgende keer....
Geniet dit verskriklik.
Len & Cx
First gyros in
www.altairaviation.co.za
- THI
- Pilot in Command
So who was there??
I WAS!!
What a great weekend! It was great seeing everybody again. The weather improved as time went by as well. Pity I drove in...
Thanks Mak (Marius) and the team for all the arrangements.
Now for the next one!
Mmmm...I can hear waves break...just a thought...
I WAS!!

What a great weekend! It was great seeing everybody again. The weather improved as time went by as well. Pity I drove in...
Thanks Mak (Marius) and the team for all the arrangements.
Now for the next one!
Mmmm...I can hear waves break...just a thought...
- Gyronaut
Where are the photo's?
For those of us who couldn't make it due to unforseen circumstances, please be so kind as to share your photo's with us!

Unfortunately the internet connection at Douglas was very slow and we couldn't update or upload photos over the weekend. I hope everyone that attended had as an enjoyable time as I did. The weather kept quite a few people away, but a lot of people changed plans and made alternative arrangement to get there.
We had 20 gyros that weathered the storms to get there and a total of 35 gyro pilots that attended.
These wonderful machines that we fly once again proved their worth when people landed in 40 knot wind on Thursday, fortunately almost on the nose and with 25 to 30 knot full cross wind on Friday.
Congratulations to the following people that received these awards:
Len Klopper for the Sean Klopper Airmanship Award
Tom van der Meulen for the Christa Vorster Noteworthy Achievement Award
Vic Venter, Theuns Eloff, Tom van der Meulen & Dickie Hagermann for > 1000 hour Milé award
Louis van Wyk & Johnny de Jager for > 2000 hour Milé award
Rainier Janse van Rensburg, Matthew Zalewski & Eric Torr for > 3000
Louis van Wyk, Rainier Janse van Rensburg, Matthew Zalewski, Eric Torr, Johnny de Jager, Dickie Hagermann, Len Klopper & Josua Groenewald for CFI status as instructors.
It was decided that North / South 2014 will be at Gariep the second last weekend of May 2014. Please keep this weekend open, or for those joining us on our North Coast / Wild Coast trip to Gariep, sommer the whole week before that.
Herewith just a few photos, I hope our photographer can add some.
We had 20 gyros that weathered the storms to get there and a total of 35 gyro pilots that attended.
These wonderful machines that we fly once again proved their worth when people landed in 40 knot wind on Thursday, fortunately almost on the nose and with 25 to 30 knot full cross wind on Friday.
Congratulations to the following people that received these awards:
Len Klopper for the Sean Klopper Airmanship Award
Tom van der Meulen for the Christa Vorster Noteworthy Achievement Award
Vic Venter, Theuns Eloff, Tom van der Meulen & Dickie Hagermann for > 1000 hour Milé award
Louis van Wyk & Johnny de Jager for > 2000 hour Milé award
Rainier Janse van Rensburg, Matthew Zalewski & Eric Torr for > 3000
Louis van Wyk, Rainier Janse van Rensburg, Matthew Zalewski, Eric Torr, Johnny de Jager, Dickie Hagermann, Len Klopper & Josua Groenewald for CFI status as instructors.
It was decided that North / South 2014 will be at Gariep the second last weekend of May 2014. Please keep this weekend open, or for those joining us on our North Coast / Wild Coast trip to Gariep, sommer the whole week before that.
Herewith just a few photos, I hope our photographer can add some.
- Attachments
- Arrivals
- IMG_2013092448314.jpg (10.26 KiB) Viewed 4676 times
www.altairaviation.co.za
- MPL Pilot
- Whats the right frequency?
Lekker MANNE!!
Dit was nou n belewenis.
The organisers did an excellent job.
Thank you Mak, Francois and co for all the "little" big things you did to make the time spent at the airfield enjoyable, food, shade, drinks, chairs, umbrellas, transport and what else... fuel!
And everyone had a good time.
Was good to meet all the new faces and it was a pity for those that could not make it.
Looking forward to the next N/S at Gariep.
No incidents and good airmanship from all just put the cherry on top of a great weekend.

Dit was nou n belewenis.
The organisers did an excellent job.

Thank you Mak, Francois and co for all the "little" big things you did to make the time spent at the airfield enjoyable, food, shade, drinks, chairs, umbrellas, transport and what else... fuel!
And everyone had a good time.
Was good to meet all the new faces and it was a pity for those that could not make it.
Looking forward to the next N/S at Gariep.
No incidents and good airmanship from all just put the cherry on top of a great weekend.

If you fail.... get up and try again. That is the only way to succeed!
ZS-VMS, ZU-RGG, ZU-FWY
- Tinkerbell
- Nothing beats flying
Thank you, MAK, your months of hard work, planning and double rechecking has ensured a problem free, incident free, and thoroughly enjoyable get together. There was nothing you forgot. The only thing that would have made it perfect was if our friends from KZN and the Cape could have joined us!
The person who says it can't be done should not interrupt the person doing it.
ZU-RKU Zen
ZU-RTM Calidus
ZU-RKU Zen
ZU-RTM Calidus
Great to hear that the N/S was such a huge success once again. Mak you are a star. Well done to all involved and congrats to the awards winners
I could not make it for two reasons: I was without a gyro for the first time in 14 years due to the Xenon having a new owner and also... I was in Germany just before the event with Paul and Gerrit Roux and Theuns Eloff.
Watch this space!!
Len, die Priesters het beter kontakte as ek as dit by die weer kom. I have excellent contacts if you need any assistance in Hout Bay but thats as far as it goes.
Now for the 6 week wait...

I could not make it for two reasons: I was without a gyro for the first time in 14 years due to the Xenon having a new owner and also... I was in Germany just before the event with Paul and Gerrit Roux and Theuns Eloff.

Watch this space!!
Len, die Priesters het beter kontakte as ek as dit by die weer kom. I have excellent contacts if you need any assistance in Hout Bay but thats as far as it goes.
Now for the 6 week wait...

- THI
- Pilot in Command
+1weedy wrote:I smell a Cavalon
Thinus Enslin
Potchefstroom (FAPS)
ZU-CML
Potchefstroom (FAPS)
ZU-CML

- Gyronaut
Ha! I think I know whats coming... Flynote has decided to get selfish and buy himself a "Pilots" machine rather than a "Passenger" machine...
I'll hold my breath!