Bush Air Fly Inn

Postby The Agent » Mon Jun 05, 2006 8:12 am

Bliksem it was so good. Talk about adventure, man believe me Africa is not a plce for sissies. You know that sometimes on AvCom comments are made"Bru look at the Mountain" Now I presume they mean Table mountain.
When you fly in a Bantam and you have to crass those mountains from the western side over Badplaas, approaching is fine but once over the top and Baberton valley lies ahead of you from my own personal experience, I did not know that the Bantam could go that high, and as lucck had it we had a lekka tail wind, so a ground speed of just under 80 kts, dont laugh thats fast in a Bantam. So then for that lekka long decent with not to much throttle back cause it is bliksems cold and scared of icing. The GPS indicates perfectly where Bush Air is but just incase I asked one of the other airframe drivers in the valley for some landmark. He comes back and says, " you will see two koppies they look like a bra or tits and CC's field is just to the south" now not another word needed to be said and I cruised overhead joined downwind and landed. One of the two ships that left together that morning made it. I will leave the other story to Wackhead. More to follow.
BF.jpg
BF.jpg (54.6 KiB) Viewed 513 times
Arrive.jpg
Arrive.jpg (68.27 KiB) Viewed 513 times
Thunderboy

Postby Thunderboy » Tue Jun 06, 2006 4:43 pm

Looks like you had fun, I'll experience crossing mountains pretty soon once i get my GF work out the way and get onto x counry.

Have you got any pics? especially of the bra peaks?
Whats your range in the bantam? (not the bakkie the aerie)
Thunderbird ZU-ECX