My first "International" flight

pietmeyer

My first "International" flight

Postby pietmeyer » Tue Mar 19, 2013 8:47 am

Hi Guys

Just thought I would share this experience......it was almost as exciting as my first solo vhpy

On Sunday 17 March with the help of Shane, flight instructor from Light Sport Aviation (who also has never done something like this) we flew from Wonderboom via FAPN to Sir Seretse Khama International airport in Gaborone and back.

I filed the flight plans the day before by phone and with the help of JHB Briefing's friendly staff could do is successfully (**) i felt stupid but they guided me through the process with ease. Good bunch of guys (^^)

Well, after hardly any sleep the time of departure arrived. Shane and I were both nervous as hell as this will be the first time that we really fly the plane since i bought her and she was sent away for a mayor service :shock: we had no idea how she will perform and if everything is ok.

We activated our flight plan and took of to FAPN. We cruised at about 90kt with a slight headwind and reached Pilanesberg after about 40 minutes. Cleared customs and immigration in about 5 minutes and was airborne to Gabs. Cruised again at FL065 at 90kt and soon was transferred from JHB Info to Gabs approach freq. Still nervous and keeping a close eye on all instruments we were cleared to GBV beacon with reporting over Gabs dam. We saw a dam and reported, but eish, wrong dam and was informed we are still far and must keep a lookout on the gps for GBV. Soon saw it and after informing Gabs ATC that we are new to the area, they explained where to go and was very friendly. Landed Gabs, cleared customs and after a smoke break, filed another flight plan over the phone with JHB briefing, we were airborne after 30 minutes returning Pilanesberg then Wonderboom. (^^)

Left Gabs and got cleared at FL075 and now with a tail wind we cruised at 125kt and at some stage 138kt. Smooth flying with no turbulance. What an amazing experience. Landed back at Wonderboom with a total flight time of 4.3 vhpy vhpy

What an amazing experience. Even had the customs officer at Gaborone stamp my log book as a reminder of my firts cross border flip (^^)

Looking forward to the next. That bubble just got so much bigger (^^)

Piet
image.jpg
Pilanesberg departing FBSK
image.jpg
Approaching Gaborone
image.jpg
Sir Seretse Khama Airport
image.jpg
Back in SA passing over Sun City
Piet Meyer
Jabi J400 ZU-DUU (Wonderboom)
Suesing

Re: My first "International" flight

Postby Suesing » Tue Mar 19, 2013 9:00 am

Piet well done china, you did it before me you naughty....
xxx
sue
http://www.valleyflightsmicrolighting.com
Jabiru Instructor ( Grade B)
John.com
Location: Broederstroom (Magaliesberg) - home airstrip Aeroden

Postby John.com » Tue Mar 19, 2013 9:03 am

Awesome stuff Piet! Thanks for inspiring us to spread our wings a little more!

Now just to get some wings that will take us a little further than the cabbage patch!! :wink:

That first picture is Pilansberg AD, right? When I landed there once the apron jockey slowly walked over to my trike, taking in this 'new' type of flying machine, then remarked "Eish, it looks like you are flying an umbrella"!! :lol:
John Comley
ZU-BST (the Beautiful Seductive Temptress)
Magaliesberg, South Africa
Read my flying blog here . . . http://johncomley.blogspot.com/

"Truly superior pilots are those who use their superior judgment to avoid those situations where they might have to use their superior skills"
pietmeyer

Postby pietmeyer » Tue Mar 19, 2013 9:39 am

John

Yes, the first pic is Pilanesberg. The funny thing was when i parked my plane at the fuel bay at Wonderboom, the fuel jockey asked me where am i going. I reaponded "Botswana" He looked at the Jabi and then at the Twin parked at the other fuel bay, back to the Jab (**) and then replied 'in daai klein ding". I thought it better not to mention that that was my "big plane". I could just imagine what he would have said about my trike.

When we returned at 12h00 pm and I stopped to fill up before putting the plane away he walked over and with this snooty smile asked...."so did you go to Botswana?" I replied, yes but we are back already vhpy

His response "Eish, julle lieg vir my (**) "

It is great to have wings that can take you further but this one I bought for work and commuting. My trike will always be my 'first love' and weekend flying will mostly be done in the trike. Now just 5 more solo hours and then PPL will be finished.....oops, almost forgot about 3 more papers to write also ##
Piet Meyer
pietmeyer

Postby pietmeyer » Tue Mar 19, 2013 9:42 am

Suesing wrote:Piet well done china, you did it before me you naughty....
xxx
sue
Thanks Sue. It was alot easier than i thought. Filie plan and go. No documents etc needed. Only on my return to Polanesberg did the official ask to see my plane papers but that was it. Easy (^^)

When are you going?
Piet Meyer
John.com
Location: Broederstroom (Magaliesberg) - home airstrip Aeroden

Postby John.com » Tue Mar 19, 2013 10:34 am

pietmeyer wrote:John

Yes, the first pic is Pilanesberg. The funny thing was when i parked my plane at the fuel bay at Wonderboom, the fuel jockey asked me where am i going. I reaponded "Botswana" He looked at the Jabi and then at the Twin parked at the other fuel bay, back to the Jab (**) and then replied 'in daai klein ding". I thought it better not to mention that that was my "big plane". I could just imagine what he would have said about my trike.

When we returned at 12h00 pm and I stopped to fill up before putting the plane away he walked over and with this snooty smile asked...."so did you go to Botswana?" I replied, yes but we are back already vhpy

His response "Eish, julle lieg vir my (**) "

It is great to have wings that can take you further but this one I bought for work and commuting. My trike will always be my 'first love' and weekend flying will mostly be done in the trike. Now just 5 more solo hours and then PPL will be finished.....oops, almost forgot about 3 more papers to write also ##
Hi Piet,

I fee l the same, I will never sell my trike!

I also have some very serious aviation goals . . . . . watch this space!! :wink:

Good Luck with your PPL!

Cheers,

John
John Comley
ZU-BST (the Beautiful Seductive Temptress)
Magaliesberg, South Africa
Read my flying blog here . . . http://johncomley.blogspot.com/

"Truly superior pilots are those who use their superior judgment to avoid those situations where they might have to use their superior skills"
Tracer

Postby Tracer » Tue Mar 19, 2013 11:02 am

Dis Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^)

Eendag as ek groot is, sal ek dit ook doen (!!)
pietmeyer

Postby pietmeyer » Tue Mar 19, 2013 11:29 am

Tracer wrote:Dis Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^)

Dis nie meer so lank nie......dan het ek ook n co-pilot. Daai seat wag vir jou (^^)
Piet Meyer
Tracer

Postby Tracer » Tue Mar 19, 2013 12:17 pm

pietmeyer wrote:
Tracer wrote:Dis Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^)

Dis nie meer so lank nie......dan het ek ook n co-pilot. Daai seat wag vir jou (^^)
(!!) :-D :-D :-D
Pietb

Postby Pietb » Tue Mar 19, 2013 1:28 pm

Well done Piet & Shane !!
Jab ZU-FDZ
pietmeyer

Postby pietmeyer » Tue Mar 19, 2013 1:44 pm

Pietb wrote:Well done Piet & Shane !!
Thanks PietB. Next time you must fly with us vhpy
Piet Meyer

Postby Duck Rogers » Tue Mar 19, 2013 1:58 pm

En wat sê jou vrou van die shopping trip na Menlyn se parkeer area?
wiskeyfoxtrot

Postby wiskeyfoxtrot » Tue Mar 19, 2013 3:17 pm

Well done Piet, I hope you have many happy and safe flying hours in your new baby! ## ## ## (^^) (^^)

Lekker to get out of the cabbage patch ! (^^) (^^)

Later (!!)

Dont let that trike of yours rust now !.....ons sal jou kom haal ! (**) (**)
" Excuse me while i kiss the sky "

Aeroprakt A22 Foxbat
ZU - DYE
Sport Cruiser
ZU - LSA
pietmeyer

Postby pietmeyer » Tue Mar 19, 2013 3:22 pm

Duck Rogers wrote:En wat sê jou vrou van die shopping trip na Menlyn se parkeer area?
vhpy Die parking was bietjie verder en sy dink nog steeds ons is stupid (**)
Piet Meyer
scorpion

Postby scorpion » Thu Mar 21, 2013 1:09 pm

Why don't you expand your "international" horizons and visit us here in Swaziland?? Chris 00268 7605 5151
ZU- VZJ - sold
ZU-VVF - sold
ZU - EHS - sold