BeanCounter

Re: THE MICROLAND THREAD..."Home of the Tailwinds"

Postby BeanCounter » Thu Feb 21, 2013 7:08 am

Easyplan has a Savannah Game Lodge about 35nm from ML
S25 24' 23"
E028 33' 48"
Faizel - are you coming with on Sat morning? This is only 8nm from Steve's place, we can go check it out.

Postby Bundy » Thu Feb 21, 2013 7:18 am

BeanCounter wrote:Easyplan has a Savannah Game Lodge about 35nm from ML
S25 24' 23"
E028 33' 48"
Faizel - are you coming with on Sat morning? This is only 8nm from Steve's place, we can go check it out.
:?

There must be two with similar names then? Faizel's link is this one...near Ntokozo.

http://www.savannahlodge.co.za/location.html

The one you are refering to above Slangetjie I have been to before... nice runway when I was there last.... but I heard the lodge was sold? (spoke to the old owner by phone) He was not sure if it is still in operation...

Saw a few of the logo's Elsie is doing....they look cool, will post when I have them all. (!!)

Postby mulderpm » Thu Feb 21, 2013 7:32 am

BeanCounter wrote:
mulderpm wrote: Will the guys wanting to attend the Radio lecture @ FAKT be back by 9?
Steve's only 36nm from ML that includes a dogleg to Rhino. Flying back to FAKT can't be more than 25nm. 06:00 take off ML, 06:45 at Steve, 08:00 depart, 08:45 sipping coffee at FAKT.
mulderpm wrote:..please do as we discussed at the braai
All sorted! :wink:
Ok Jaco, no problem if you fly in to FAKT. I thought you were flying back to FABA and driving to FAKT. Dis die gees. (!!)

Alan, Jaco & Faiz, there are a couple of Savannah Lodges. The one Faiz is refering to is near Mabula lodge (with runway?) and Jaco yours is close to Steve's place. I know Faizel will choose the furthest one regardless :lol:
BeanCounter

Postby BeanCounter » Thu Feb 21, 2013 8:05 am

mulderpm wrote:Ok Jaco, no problem if you fly in to FAKT. I thought you were flying back to FABA and driving to FAKT. Dis die gees. (!!)
Unfortunately I'm not going to FAKT, I have to get to ORT by 10:30 (driving there, not flying :lol: )
Bundy wrote:There must be two with similar names then? Faizel's link is this one...near Ntokozo.
http://www.savannahlodge.co.za/location.html
The co-ords on the location page puts it close to Ntokozo, but their co-ords of the runway on the facilities page is oh, just a little further east - about 107nm past Elands Camp! (**)
KlapperKnop

Postby KlapperKnop » Thu Feb 21, 2013 8:52 am

The one (35nm from FABA) I was referencing is the one closest to Steve's place which I found on vfrplanner.co.za
ZU-DJE

Postby mulderpm » Thu Feb 21, 2013 8:59 am

BeanCounter wrote:Unfortunately I'm not going to FAKT, I have to get to ORT by 10:30 (driving there, not flying :lol: )
Dis nie die gees nie ## Herinder my aan Blue Max se storie. n' Gooie klient van sy Elands lodge wat in Boksburg woon nooi hom uit om by hulle te kom kuier. Sy se vir hom dat sy heeltemaal bereid is om hom by ORT te kom haal. :lol:

Postby Madman » Thu Feb 21, 2013 8:59 am

Morning ':-

Please can I have the co-ords for Steve Bosch's place...what time are you planning to meet there :?:

If you guys are looking for a flyaway..St Patricks Day is coming up soon at Tribals place...The Chain Gang will be there :mrgreen:

Postby Madman » Thu Feb 21, 2013 9:17 am

Found it...it's 63 miles away from Crosswinds ##

Perhaps next time as we all have something to do Sat morning 8)

Have an awesome one s023

<*>
Frank Smallwood
Ready for the first flight

Postby Frank Smallwood » Thu Feb 21, 2013 11:18 am

Hi All,
There is a Savannah lodge airstrip marked on the 1:250000 aeronautical chart for Jhb area. Coordinates given as S 25o 23' 46". E028o 34' 21". Incidentally I have the latest aeronautical maps for south Africa in digital format either as tfw or
tif files. This is the 1:1000 000, 1:500 000 sheets for whole of South Africa and the two 1:250000 for Jhb and CPemtown areas. If anyone wants to copy them they are very welcome. I don't think there is any issue in copying them as you can get for free from the mapping office in cape town if you take inyour own DVD. To get them sent was only R79 which was to pay for post packaging and the blank DVD. They were most helpful and the whole thing was less than two weeks from initial enquiry to getting the disk in my hand. Most of the delay was on my side transferring money to them and sending proof of payment. A really jacked up government department.
My microlight is back at Microland. Flew it back from Denysville at the weekend. I plan to be at Microland early Sarurday morning if you are not going too far I would like to join you.

Cheers frank
Louis Cole

Postby Louis Cole » Thu Feb 21, 2013 11:55 am

Frank Smallwood wrote:Hi All,
There is a Savannah lodge airstrip marked on the 1:250000 aeronautical chart for Jhb area. Coordinates given as S 25o 23' 46". E028o 34' 21". Incidentally I have the latest aeronautical maps for south Africa in digital format either as tfw or
tif files. This is the 1:1000 000, 1:500 000 sheets for whole of South Africa and the two 1:250000 for Jhb and CPemtown areas. If anyone wants to copy them they are very welcome. I don't think there is any issue in copying them as you can get for free from the mapping office in cape town if you take inyour own DVD. To get them sent was only R79 which was to pay for post packaging and the blank DVD. They were most helpful and the whole thing was less than two weeks from initial enquiry to getting the disk in my hand. Most of the delay was on my side transferring money to them and sending proof of payment. A really jacked up government department.
My microlight is back at Microland. Flew it back from Denysville at the weekend. I plan to be at Microland early Sarurday morning if you are not going too far I would like to join you.

Cheers frank
Frank I would like to obtain a copy. Where can I order it from? Would also like to get the chart for Namibia. Could you Pm me please?
Loneranger
ZU-CEX Raptor 618
25 52.869' S 027 54.940' E
(http://www.opencockpit.co.za)
"Reach for your dreams"

Postby mulderpm » Thu Feb 21, 2013 12:20 pm

Welcome back Frank. (^^)

For Aeronautical maps you can also look at the following web site:

http://www.lib.utexas.edu/maps/jog/southern_africa/
Tribal Croc

Postby Tribal Croc » Thu Feb 21, 2013 12:50 pm

Bundy wrote:35 Miles Fiz? You sure chom? The co ords on that site put the main gate at

S 24 52' 59,46"
E 27 50'45.78"

...That's about 82 Miles from FABA? (flying dog leg around the rest area) No mention of a runway either and none visible on Google? KunKuru has one close by though...

Sibaka Lodge is closer (and prob cheaper)...and the Prinsloo's will treat you like royalty. May even have space in his hanger for the trike! He will be the "moer in" with you okes if you fly over his lodge to get to another one.... :lol:

When are you wanting to go? Francios has invited you to the St Paddy's Fly in already. (Mar 16th)

Looks like fun, I wish I could go. (!!)
Se hulle Bundy ($$) ($$) ($$) (^^) (^^)

On a serious note just find out if the runway at Savanna Lodge is in working order ## I fly over there every time and it seems if the runway is getting eaten up by the gras ##
Tribal Croc
ZU-ICanXplane
Bushbaby Explorer MK2
Tailwheel fun starts here

#exploringsouthafricanskies

Postby Bundy » Fri Feb 22, 2013 6:14 am

Frank Smallwood wrote:
Welcome back Sir Francis! We've missed that English accent you cant seem to shake! :lol:

I wont be there on Sat unfortunately but I'm sure a Tailwinds Gaggle of some sort will depart....while you are on the "BOG". (^^)

Postby Bundy » Fri Feb 22, 2013 7:17 am

Bookings for Episode 3 close on Monday guys! ##

If you have not yet booked a spot please go here and rsvp. vhpy

viewtopic.php?f=5&t=20316

Even if you dont have a 503 engine, you will learn a hell of a lot! (!!)
BeanCounter

Postby BeanCounter » Fri Feb 22, 2013 10:12 am

Frank Smallwood wrote: My microlight is back at Microland. Flew it back from Denysville at the weekend. I plan to be at Microland early Sarurday morning if you are not going too far I would like to join you.
You're welcome to join us Frank, it promises to be a lekker flight (^^)
So far:
Anthony (Rhino)
Peter Grant (ML)
Frank (ML)
Beanie (ML)
Anyone else welcome! (Faiz, Stef,?? :( )

Wheels up at 6 am ML. Ant - you get to have an extra cup of coffee, we'll route Rhino and call you inbound.