Stoneguard

Loco

Stoneguard

Postby Loco » Mon Jan 14, 2013 8:47 am

Hi guys

I forked out 8.5k for a new NC prop and it already has plenty small stone chips after only 40 hours

I also have the front mud guard on my Aquilla

Can only imagine what the prop will look ike in another 100 hours...

Aybody know where i can get this locally http://www.punkinheadair.com.au/accessories ?

And most importantly is it safe & legal? Will i have to file a mod report with CAA?

Thanks
Ant
Anthony Hugo

Crosswinds
Loco

Re: Stoneguard

Postby Loco » Mon Jan 14, 2013 2:16 pm

Prop-Stone-Guard_600.jpg
Anthony Hugo

Crosswinds
BUKS VAN NIEKERK

Postby BUKS VAN NIEKERK » Mon Jan 14, 2013 2:38 pm

hi Ant,

will this thing not add drag to trike?, check out Alex trike front wheel, he fitted a piece of rubber behind the front wheel, i think that would work better,unfortuantly you wont avoid stone chip completely, any other plans?
Regte manne skiet nie renosters om n horing te kry
Loco

Postby Loco » Mon Jan 14, 2013 2:51 pm

BUKS VAN NIEKERK wrote:hi Ant,

will this thing not add drag to trike?, check out Alex trike front wheel, he fitted a piece of rubber behind the front wheel, i think that would work better,unfortuantly you wont avoid stone chip completely, any other plans?
Hi Buks

You're 100% correct I think very fine netting will add drag but wondering if one uses a type of netting that's not too dense (say 1cm squared!?) then it might be enough to at least deflect the stones away from the prop and still not add too much drag?

And I also have the piece of rubber behind the front wheel but it's not helping much, I have to add I don't actually have chips out of my prop but just lots of small scrapes/cuts which I'm sure will get worse over time

And most importantly does anybody know if I DIY something will it be legal / will the CAA allow such a thing?

I can't get hold of Solowings for some reason phones just ringing eish!?!? Would be nice to get their take on it............

Ant
Anthony Hugo

Crosswinds

Postby Bundy » Mon Jan 14, 2013 4:56 pm

Ant...you need to fly more and taxi less! ## :lol:

Gravel runways prob not helping much either....our NC is also about 40 hrs old now and also got a few scratches here and there. Go look at the average school trike chom...some of those props look like they just mowed the runway :lol: ...but they still go round and round just fine. (!!)

You've spent enough Moolah bud....GO FLY puff
Loco

Postby Loco » Mon Jan 14, 2013 5:15 pm

Bundy wrote:Ant...you need to fly more and taxi less! ## :lol:

Gravel runways prob not helping much either....our NC is also about 40 hrs old now and also got a few scratches here and there. Go look at the average school trike chom...some of those props look like they just mowed the runway :lol: ...but they still go round and round just fine. (!!)

You've spent enough Moolah bud....GO FLY puff
haha I did 40 hours in Dec so I'm trying bru, just this working stuff that keeps getting in the way :)
Anthony Hugo

Crosswinds

Postby Blue Max » Tue Jan 15, 2013 9:07 am

Op die foto lyk dit of die prop blade baie naby aan die vloer oppervlakte is.???????
:?:
Loco

Postby Loco » Tue Jan 15, 2013 11:21 am

Blue Max wrote:vhpy
Op die foto lyk dit of die prop blade baie naby aan die vloer oppervlakte is.???????
:?:
Ja nee dit lyk of hulle dit fyn sny veral as daai trike soos 'n Aquilla op die agterste wiele eerste land :)
Anthony Hugo

Crosswinds
Loco

Postby Loco » Tue Jan 15, 2013 11:30 am

From the proverbial horse's mouth (Solowings):
Hi Anthony
It makes the under cart unstable and it weaves. We have tried it before. You would need a mod approval.
Denise
Damn so I'll just have to live with stones klapping my poor aerie's prop :(
Anthony Hugo

Crosswinds
Hadams

Postby Hadams » Tue Jan 15, 2013 12:20 pm

Hi Guys,

We fly from Panorama and had the same problem on some our friends trikes! Especially an Aquilla and Raptor, both fitted with the stone guards on the front wheel! After 3 prop blades we tried removing the actual guard and the problem was sorted!

Problem was on landing and take-off's, that with the prop pushing on take-off it actually makes the guard touch the surface and by that picking up extra stones than just the tire and hitting the prop, on landing obviously when the front wheel touches down and on braking!

Haven't had another prop strike from stones since last year November!

regards.
Henry Adams
ZU-CEA Raptor Trike
ZU-FTV Sling
Panorama

To be old and wise, one must first be young and stupid! And some of us refuse to grow up!
Loco

Postby Loco » Tue Jan 15, 2013 12:37 pm

Hadams wrote:Hi Guys,

We fly from Panorama and had the same problem on some our friends trikes! Especially an Aquilla and Raptor, both fitted with the stone guards on the front wheel! After 3 prop blades we tried removing the actual guard and the problem was sorted!

Problem was on landing and take-off's, that with the prop pushing on take-off it actually makes the guard touch the surface and by that picking up extra stones than just the tire and hitting the prop, on landing obviously when the front wheel touches down and on braking!

Haven't had another prop strike from stones since last year November!

regards.
WOW thanks for sharing never even thought about that, so the front mud guard can actually be the cause... eish
Anthony Hugo

Crosswinds

Postby mulderpm » Tue Jan 15, 2013 5:22 pm

Ant, I would not modify the Aquila front spat. It has been optimised by the factory. vhpy

If anything, Rhino's runway is reasonably newly tarred, and small residual stones may still be left behind. Do an on foot runway inspection and have it swept if "dirty". Please let me know when you are doing this so that I can look out for the sniffer dog.. :lol: :lol:

The up side is, small nicks, AFAIK, are not structurally dangerous,... just ugly. (**) (**) (**)

See you all on Saturday. WX predicion is K@@@@K ##

Postby mulderpm » Tue Jan 15, 2013 5:31 pm

Henrys report can be coroborated by three Aerotrikes from Springs.
Mc Guyver

Postby Mc Guyver » Wed Jan 16, 2013 8:43 am

anthonyhugo wrote:Hi guys

I forked out 8.5k for a new NC prop and it already has plenty small stone chips after only 40 hours

Aybody know where i can get this locally http://www.punkinheadair.com.au/accessories ?

And most importantly is it safe & legal? Will i have to file a mod report with CAA?

Thanks
Ant
Almost every trike in Oz uses the stone guard.
I have not found any drag or unstable characteristics by using one.
The front wheel is what throws the stones up :x
Loco

Postby Loco » Wed Jan 16, 2013 8:53 am

Mc Guyver wrote:
anthonyhugo wrote:Hi guys

Thanks
Ant
Almost every trike in Oz uses the stone guard.
I have not found any drag or unstable characteristics by using one.
The front wheel is what throws the stones up :x
Thanks I still havent given up completely on the idea, spoke to CAA and they require model/serial numbers and full details before they can issue a mod report
So it will be tough to get a DIY stoneguard approved
Perhaps I should import some and then try get formal CAA approval...
Do you know if the Aussie companies make these for Aquilla trikes?
Ant
Anthony Hugo

Crosswinds