THE MICROLAND THREAD..."Home of the Tailwinds"

Louis Cole

Re: THE MICROLAND THREAD..."routing for the tower"

Postby Louis Cole » Wed Dec 05, 2012 7:26 pm

Bundy wrote:
anthonyhugo wrote: Now that's commitment! (^^)
Yip, we've trained Mr Salie well....now that's what I call "gees" (!!)

Good on you Fiz, we roll 5AM mate vhpy

PS...Louis...dont forget your glasses on Thu...the GPS makes more sense with them on! :lol:

Had a nice smooth flight to ML this morning and thanks Alan I suppose I have to come clean about the glasses. Forgot to put them on this morning and had to land on an unknown landing strip close to ML just to check if my GPS was still on track. At first thought that my visor was dirty because I was battling to read my GPS until it finally dawned upon me. Laugh all you want, as sure as you'll still experience an engine out, it will also happen to you one day.
Loneranger
ZU-CEX Raptor 618
25 52.869' S 027 54.940' E
(http://www.opencockpit.co.za)
"Reach for your dreams"

Postby Bundy » Thu Dec 06, 2012 5:18 am

:)

I have no doubt Louis. Funny thing is I actually do have prescription glasses (wearing them as I type this). My left eye is the weak one and I struggle to see the detail on the TV/computer sometimes without them. When I went for my last medical, the quack tested me with them on...then he said, "Take those things off quickly."

I then did the whole eye test over and he said to me my long distance vision is great...he can see no need to wear them flying.
"If you cant see the Cessna at 10 m...then you are pretty stuffed anyway" he said. :roll: :lol:

At least you didnt take off without fastening your seatbelt like a stupid pilot I know well!! :oops: :shock: (**)

I'll catch you guys later, will be there around 5pm. 8)

Postby mulderpm » Thu Dec 06, 2012 6:18 am

Troy told me he is moving out when he is 7.

Postby Bundy » Thu Dec 06, 2012 6:25 am

:lol:

Hard to stay angry when you're a dad....I'll miss the little terrorist too much :) Protractors are cheap. ^

It's actually lekker to see him doing his own "flight planning" on a piece of paper. Will have to get him airbourne soon...(when mom's not looking :shock: )

puff
BeanCounter

Postby BeanCounter » Thu Dec 06, 2012 10:50 am

Bundy wrote:There will be a preflight and short "briefing" at ML on THU early evening (about 17h00) for final details. Let's get the trikes packed and fuelled and ready to go come sunrise.
It's been murder in the office but I'll see you guys at ML some time after 5.
If there happens to be an electrician wandering around the place please direct him to my hangar... :oops: Ja, swaer ##

Postby mulderpm » Thu Dec 06, 2012 11:23 am

Jaco, have your lights gone out. We will fly VFR, so don't worry.

Postby Bundy » Thu Dec 06, 2012 8:18 pm

Well the Elands Squadron is packed, fuelled, preflighted and ready for our trip to Elands....

This is gonna be a wicked trip. (^^)

See you boys and girls bright and early. (!!)
Loco

Postby Loco » Thu Dec 06, 2012 8:31 pm

Travel safe guys enjoy!
Anthony Hugo

Crosswinds

Postby Blue Max » Thu Dec 06, 2012 9:23 pm

Bundy wrote:Well the Elands Squadron is packed, fuelled, preflighted and ready for our trip to Elands
Good to hear.
Had a half hour of smooooth flying this afternoon.
We are having blue skies and zero gravity in the Loskop valey.
Give me a call 2 mor at five and i will confirm weather with you okes,.
Your breakfast will be Boeretroos on arrival, and there-after, boerewors, mieliepap, scramble eggs, toast and salad..
I will probably meet you okes in the sky somewhere.
zero 82559611vyf.
Loco

Postby Loco » Sat Dec 08, 2012 7:27 pm

Having fun guys? No pics or updates?! :)
Anthony Hugo

Crosswinds

Postby mulderpm » Sun Dec 09, 2012 9:24 am

Right, we are all back safely vhpy .What a weekend (^^) (^^) Couldn't have wished for better WX, company and facilities (^^) Even had a 25 mph tail wind on the way back...did the 80 miles in 1 hr 11 min and smooooth (!!)
Resize of IMG_6474.JPG
JAG waiting for the thunder storm to get out of our way
Resize of IMG_6474.JPG (39.45 KiB) Viewed 1409 times

Postby mulderpm » Sun Dec 09, 2012 9:36 am

More pics.
Resize of IMG_6478.JPG
Resize of IMG_6478.JPG (31.88 KiB) Viewed 1408 times
Resize of IMG_6485.JPG
Resize of IMG_6485.JPG (32.93 KiB) Viewed 1408 times
Resize of IMG_6488.JPG
Resize of IMG_6488.JPG (57.09 KiB) Viewed 1408 times
Resize of IMG_6497.JPG
Resize of IMG_6497.JPG (64.74 KiB) Viewed 1408 times
Resize of IMG_6499.JPG
Resize of IMG_6499.JPG (55.96 KiB) Viewed 1408 times
Resize of IMG_6502.JPG
Resize of IMG_6502.JPG (66.47 KiB) Viewed 1408 times
Resize of IMG_6512.JPG
Resize of IMG_6512.JPG (61.27 KiB) Viewed 1408 times
Resize of IMG_6531.JPG
Resize of IMG_6531.JPG (37.76 KiB) Viewed 1408 times
Resize of IMG_6535.JPG
Resize of IMG_6535.JPG (55.22 KiB) Viewed 1408 times
Resize of IMG_6541.JPG
Resize of IMG_6541.JPG (42.52 KiB) Viewed 1408 times
Resize of IMG_6552.JPG
Resize of IMG_6552.JPG (36.44 KiB) Viewed 1408 times
Resize of IMG_6558.JPG
Resize of IMG_6558.JPG (26.84 KiB) Viewed 1408 times
Resize of IMG_6562.JPG
Resize of IMG_6562.JPG (46.24 KiB) Viewed 1408 times
Resize of IMG_6567.JPG
Resize of IMG_6567.JPG (40.63 KiB) Viewed 1408 times
Resize of IMG_6568.JPG
Resize of IMG_6568.JPG (35.73 KiB) Viewed 1408 times
Resize of IMG_6571.JPG
Resize of IMG_6571.JPG (44.5 KiB) Viewed 1408 times
Resize of IMG_6574.JPG
Resize of IMG_6574.JPG (36.23 KiB) Viewed 1408 times
Resize of IMG_6584.JPG
Resize of IMG_6584.JPG (56.73 KiB) Viewed 1408 times

Postby mulderpm » Sun Dec 09, 2012 9:42 am

That is what Trike flying is all about (^^) (^^) Yihaaaa :shock:
Louis Cole

Postby Louis Cole » Sun Dec 09, 2012 10:25 am

Perfect weather all the way from Elandscamp until before the circuit at ML and then a stomach full of slap chips all the way to a smooth touchdown at Jakkalsdans 40 minutes later. Waterkloof ATC were still sleeping but Lanseria welcomed me back with open arms. Now that you spoilt Microlanders with your long runways know that it is a mere 40 min. flight to me, how about coffee and muffins in the near future on a slightly more challenging runway? What an incredible weekend what with the host, the near perfect flying conditions, the company especially those from Benoni and of course Dionne & Paul and my TRO flying buddy. Bluemax what can we say, you're a legend. One bit of advice though, go and visit your neighbours more often so you at least know where the entrance to their and not their neighbour's game farm is. Pity Jaco and Asterix could not make it, they would have loved it. Looking fwd. to the next one.
Loneranger
ZU-CEX Raptor 618
"Reach for your dreams"
Louis Cole

Postby Louis Cole » Sun Dec 09, 2012 10:34 am

Oh and thanks to Blue Max and Jimmy for the on the job welding of my exhaust bracket. Other than that,. only the real thing with the correct spelling could better CEX on performance. vhpy vhpy vhpy vhpy vhpy
Loneranger
ZU-CEX Raptor 618
"Reach for your dreams"