Bateleur

Re: THE MICROLAND THREAD..."routing for the tower"

Postby Bateleur » Fri Oct 19, 2012 10:13 am

Tribal Croc wrote:Happy Happy Stef (^^) (^^) Hope you get spoiled ##
Bundy wrote:
It's almost a year to the day that we bought DBP together as well....
Jip Had a quick look and my last flight was on 23 Oct 2011 :(
Thanks Tribal!
Can you believe how much can happen in a year. Crash/rebuild/step it up a notch!!! :lol:
Stef Oosthuizen
Step it up a notch!!
ZU DBP

Postby mulderpm » Mon Oct 22, 2012 7:55 am

Thanks Stef, Dawie and Joe for coming to the braai (^^) WX wasn't good but we did fly and braai even though my flight @ 8h30 was OnE CiRcUiT..Hijaaaah. ##
BeanCounter

Postby BeanCounter » Mon Oct 22, 2012 8:34 am

Bundy wrote:Paul...please write Nick up for a R50 donation to the ML Improvement Fund! ^
Put me down for a double for my no-show on Sat. ## Apologies, I woke up Sat morning to a massive swarm of bees that had invaded my patio and the neighbours looking at me funny. So I first had to sort out the mess and ran out of time. Hope you guys had a lekker braai (^^)

Postby mulderpm » Mon Oct 22, 2012 11:34 am

BeanCounter wrote:Hope you guys had a lekker braai (^^)
Ja, we missed you...it was great. (^^) Cold & windy but grrrreat. Stef will only be able to recover from his Friday birday party on Sunday. :lol: Jaco, Have you sorted out your radio? :(>

Postby Bundy » Mon Oct 22, 2012 11:40 am

Thanks to the guys that joined in on Sat, wow Jaco I've heard some kak excuses before but that takes the cake. (^^) :lol:

Was that Dawid Mentz who joined with Joe? Sorry I missed them....hoop ons sien julle weer volgende maand. :)

Well Bundy will def be avalable at the next one, which as far as I can see will be the 17th November. (^^)

It's Stef's weekend with DBP coming up but I'll be there this weekend as well as I'm going up in the bumps with Fanie. (^^) Training time for me chaps. ^ ....Short field landings, turbulence, sim forced landings all on the cards for the next few months. Maybe I'll see you guys there?

Thanks for making the effort guys. (!!)
BeanCounter

Postby BeanCounter » Mon Oct 22, 2012 12:37 pm

mulderpm wrote: Jaco, Have you sorted out your radio? :(>
Not yet Paul, it's bugging me because I don't know what else to check. The main headset has less than 20 hours on it (highly unlikely it could be batteries) and I tried a second spare headset as well with no result. Chatterbox maybe, but doubtful? I'm going to ML early tomorrow morning to look over everything again -0<
Bundy wrote:wow Jaco I've heard some kak excuses before but that takes the cake. (^^) :lol:
Ag, jou moer Mnr Hussey :lol: Next time I'll just say I couldn't remember the girl's name and she didn't want to leave :lol: :lol:
On a more serious note, the white board we spoke about is in my hangar. If it's the right size it's a donation to the lapa.

Postby Bundy » Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:35 pm

[quote="BeanCounter"] Ag, jou moer Mnr Hussey :lol: Next time I'll just say I couldn't remember the girl's name and she didn't want to leave :lol: :lol:
quote]

...now that would've had US buying you a beer (^^) (!!) (Eish your squeeze is gonna give me PK :lol: )

Jaco, have you had a chat to Paul Lintott fron Airmagic re your comm issue? He is very clued up and should be able to trouble shoot the problem for you.

You not having a good month are you :roll:

Good luck boet, hope it gets sorted asap. Must be something small. (!!)
NickSwardt

Postby NickSwardt » Mon Oct 22, 2012 6:21 pm

Hi guys

Glad you enjoyed the braai, sorry i could not join.
My excuse is not quite as creative as jaco's but after a lengthy 19th hole (^^) friday night i was in no condition to move let alone fly ##
Hope to see you this weekend!

Postby Bundy » Thu Oct 25, 2012 6:09 am

Something different for our next braai guys (^^)

Please go look here: viewtopic.php?f=5&t=19678

Kloot piloot will be giving us an informative talk on 17/11/2012

It is the first of what I would like to become regular talks and discussions to be held at FABA.

Please RSVP on the thread. (^^)

Postby Bundy » Fri Oct 26, 2012 5:40 pm

You sky seekers flying tomorrow?

Ive got a dual booked for 09h30....hoping the weather allows :wink:

Bringing the goose and the terrorist with, Troy needs to learn how to ride his new bike! Figured the grass factory would be the perfect place to teach him (^^) Prob get less "roasties" this way

Fiezel, hope I will see you, need to give you back what I borrowed Sir. (!!)

Postby Bundy » Sat Oct 27, 2012 12:55 pm

Wow...what an eye opener. :wink:

My first advanced training session went well. I really learnt a hell of a lot today. 8)

I will forgive myself the two terrible landings :roll: :lol: ....15knt crosswind was def challenging for me and I'm beginning to understand where my limitations have been. Was taught a completely different technique today to my initial training.... so wish I had made a different choice 3 years ago. :wink:

A lot of practice to come but I must admit I feel much better after this first session. Thanks Fanie. (^^)

Aquilla's are tough!! ^ :lol:

Postby mulderpm » Sat Oct 27, 2012 4:09 pm

Great Bundy, mised you, no pun intended. Geisel I still have your spanner. Thanks Stef.
Rudix

Postby Rudix » Sat Oct 27, 2012 4:51 pm

Bundy wrote:Wow...what an eye opener. :wink:

My first advanced training session went well. I really learnt a hell of a lot today. 8)

I will forgive myself the two terrible landings :roll: :lol: ....15knt crosswind was def challenging for me and I'm beginning to understand where my limitations have been. Was taught a completely different technique today to my initial training.... so wish I had made a different choice 3 years ago. :wink:

A lot of practice to come but I must admit I feel much better after this first session. Thanks Fanie. (^^)

Aquilla's are tough!! ^ :lol:
You will be a more confident, better and safer pilot after the advanced training!

I remember dreading a strong cross wind, then one day I realized I was happy when there is a strong cross wind, a nice challenge! Now I even go look for a runway where the wind is across.

Have fun and fly safe,
"Never be afraid to try something new. Remember that a lone amateur built the Ark. A large group of professionals built the Titanic." ;)
irenehawk
Pre flight checks done

Postby irenehawk » Sun Oct 28, 2012 3:40 pm

Hey guys

I run an Air Scout Group (http://www.9thirene.co.za/) most of the boys in our group have a strong love of aviation. During there training and advancement they are required to do a lot of aviation related training including, airman-ship, air field conduct, navigation, meteorology, ATC and air craft marshaling). Toward the end of there training, around 17 years old, they are required to lead a team of younger boys to complete a community service project that requires a minimum of 40 hours work.

In the past our boys have build RDP houses, made jungle gyms for underprivileged schools, installed emergency lighting at an old age home among other things.

I would like to get these boys involved with Microland for community service (to keep the aviation theme going), is there any thing that these boys could help with at Microland? I have a group that are desperately looking for a project to complete in January.

Hawk

Postby Bundy » Sun Oct 28, 2012 6:43 pm

Wow Irenehawk, now that is a very kind offer. Nice to see young lads doing their part for others. (^^)
A very rare trait these days unfortunately... :roll:

I will talk to Hans (airfield's owner) tommorrow and see what he says. We (the users) certainly have many ideas on improvements but...we need materials to get them done. :wink:

I would really like to take you up on this but at the end of the day, I am but a tenant and I will need to convince my fellow flyers and the owner to come to the party.

Please PM me your tel no, I'd really like to chat to you about it... vhpy