sdfsadf.JPG
sdasdgfa.JPG
sdfasdfg.JPG
aqqeh.JPG
jdujd.JPG
sghsg.JPG
NOT!!!!

:lol: (!!)

Thanks Fiezel....had a lekker morning flight with you on my wing. (^^)
Rudix

Re: THE MICROLAND THREAD..."routing for the tower"

Postby Rudix » Sun Sep 23, 2012 10:22 am

Hi guys!

Was nice meeting you briefly in the air this morning, was great to see someone else enjoying the beautiful morning!

Fly safe,
"Never be afraid to try something new. Remember that a lone amateur built the Ark. A large group of professionals built the Titanic." ;)
KlapperKnop

Postby KlapperKnop » Sun Sep 23, 2012 12:07 pm

Bundy wrote: Thanks Fiezel....had a lekker morning flight with you on my wing. (^^)
Thanks Bundy ... always nice to fly with someone. 8)
ZU-DJE
KlapperKnop

Postby KlapperKnop » Sun Sep 23, 2012 12:09 pm

Rudix wrote:Hi guys!

Was nice meeting you briefly in the air this morning, was great to see someone else enjoying the beautiful morning!

Fly safe,
Likewise Rudi. I thought you would fly with us to Delmas; maybe next time? :lol:
ZU-DJE
Rudix

Postby Rudix » Sun Sep 23, 2012 1:30 pm

KlapperKnop wrote:
Rudix wrote:Hi guys!

Fly safe,
Likewise Rudi. I thought you would fly with us to Delmas; maybe next time? :lol:
I wish I could but I was a bit low on fuel having just returned from Tedderfield, would love to join you sometime!
"Never be afraid to try something new. Remember that a lone amateur built the Ark. A large group of professionals built the Titanic." ;)

Postby Bundy » Mon Sep 24, 2012 7:03 am

Rudi....we braai every 3rd Sat of the month. Keep an eye on the thread and you most welcome to join Sir. (^^) I unfortunately cannot join for Oct 20th due to my Son's B Day but will def be there for the November one. Pull in! (or in your case "push" :lol: )

Was nice to have a 3 axis joining the circuit for a change. 8) :lol:

Postby mulderpm » Tue Sep 25, 2012 11:48 am

Alan & Fiezel, see you guys had a lekker flight to Delmas. I let the weather guru's (& an Outdoor show @ Mibizi) talk me out of flying this weekend. Nice pics Alan.

Is Jaco converted into a Cobra?
BeanCounter

Postby BeanCounter » Tue Sep 25, 2012 3:25 pm

mulderpm wrote: Is Jaco converted into a Cobra?
No, he is not :cry: But I'm close - moving house this weekend, conversion one morning next week, by the weekend of 6 Oct I'm in the circuit. (^^)

I met my hangar buurman yesterday, he needs to get his paperwork current again after a long break but hopefully in the next few weeks we'll have another active member at ML.

Postby Bundy » Wed Sep 26, 2012 7:27 am

Hi Guys,

Right.... its time for us to start getting off the patch a bit. I am flying down to Standerton on Oct 6th for my first bit of "training" for the Two Rivers trip next year...I must get a bit of solo cross country time under the belt boyz :wink:

Fiezel has been itching to go for a "flip to Klip" for a while now so lets org a nice morning brekkie run there after I get back from Standerton? Our kind hosts have offered to org this for us. (^^)

Klip is 48NM away if we route to the east of the built up areas around springs...we hang a right just before we hit Nigel and it's a straight line there. Leave dawn, there by 7AM, have a brekkie, talk some kak and head home.

Pick a Sat guys and lets get the hell outta the GF.As you know Stef and I share DBP and so depending on whose weekend it is, one of us will sit Pax ^

Pick two Sat mornings that will suit you and we'll vote (!!)

For me, I'm avalable on either the 27th Oct or the 3rd Nov.

Postby mulderpm » Wed Sep 26, 2012 11:14 am

Cool Alan. I flew to springs this morning. (!!) 10 minutes there and 35 minutes back. zzzz 30Nm head wind at 6200ft. ## 10Nm down 03 on the ground. Stef did touch and go's until after I came back. (^^) Was real good practise for flying in varying wind conditions. Smooth as a baby's -xX @ 6200ft.

Klipriver sounds good for a morning sortie. (^^) Went there last year for their brekkie fly-in. Was great. Unfortunately this year’s event was blown away. :( Panorama & Circus are also good. :-D Circus restaurant has a great breakfast. !!!!

I just don't know how we are going to sync our trips with the weather. s027 . I don't like going and then having to hurry my breakfast to get back.
This morning would have been great for the ML monthly braai... (^^)... but how would we know that a month in advance and it was a mid week...not possible for most. We somehow have to be more flexible. Any suggestions? s027

My 2¢ worth...How about....we fly out, land somwhere, have a coffee (from the flask in the pannier bag), talk some k@k, kick the tyres, wiggle the wing, fly back, relax and have a braai. Even easier, when we get back, go somewhere close to ML for a breakfast (Broodblik?) By 10h00 all is done, and who wants to, can go home.¿?¿ !!!! ^^.^

Postby Bundy » Wed Sep 26, 2012 12:31 pm

Paul the weathers going to interfere no matter how we plan these things chom. (I can just hear those blik drivers laughing and saying "Ya I told you not to buy a samoosa!") :lol:

For consistency and continuity I think the "Fly and Braai's" must stay booked for every 3rd Sat of the month. This way no one can say they forgot :wink: (ne Stefan! :twisted: ) ^ :lol: Yes, we will occassionally get zapped by Mother Nature but its important to have one fixed "event" every month. We really must try and encourage newcommers to the sport to join us on that day too. A quick flip or two for the "rookies" and it's amazing how much that does for bringing in "new blood" to our sport!

Lapa is equipped for all weather and once we get that Built in braai sorted our issues are over. Flying not always possible but braaing is a national religion... al sneeu dit, braai sal ons braai. (^^)

That said, I really like the idea of the imprompto "weg vlieg" with the panniers full of sammies and coffee. I dont know about you okes but Bundy has been "patch flying" for way too long. There are many destinations within 50 miles to fly to and back. Once we've gone to Klip, I suggest we hit Savannah Game Lodge (up north) after. Lekker to fly in a group to a runway over the horizon, have a snack and route back. As you suggest Paul we can all head off to a pub or something afterwards too. Bundy is min gepla hieroor...as I always say I cant go home early from the airfield or else my wife will give me chores to do! :lol:

This has the advantage,in that it is not just for fun. Every runway and route has its own set of unique challenges. Approaches are different, runways have different obstacles and lengths. It keeps the skills up there where they belong...this is the way forward I think (well...for me anyways :) ).
At least every weekend (weather permitting of course :roll: ) we will be heading off for a different destination. I'd also like to plan a nice overnighter somewhere every 3 months or so. First one I will arrange is Elands Camp. I will chat to Blue Max and see what dates in Nov we can pick.

Bottom line guys, yes let's make plans but if the weather screws you, the weather screws you....that is part of the game.

Postby Bundy » Wed Sep 26, 2012 12:53 pm

Fiezel....you pick the Klip date chom.

It would be pretty stupid to "vote" on a Sat you cant make it. :lol:

Your choice Sir (!!)
Rudix

Postby Rudix » Wed Sep 26, 2012 2:32 pm

Bundy wrote:Rudi....we braai every 3rd Sat of the month. Keep an eye on the thread and you most welcome to join Sir. (^^) I unfortunately cannot join for Oct 20th due to my Son's B Day but will def be there for the November one. Pull in! (or in your case "push" :lol: )

Was nice to have a 3 axis joining the circuit for a change. 8) :lol:
Thanks Alan, it has been years since I visited ML but I have fond memories of the place as it was at ML that I first flew and started my training! I will make a point of supporting the braai!

Unfortunately it looks like I will also be away on the 20th as I am planning on fetching a new toy (with wings) in Saldanha that weekend but the next one will be booked!

It was great to hear/see some activity the other day, I did a touch and go at Bapsfontein and then I heard you at ML, just had to join for a quick touch and go. I have not landed a 3-axis there but have done touch and goes with a few different planes and one 200 mph fly past 8) I know the runway is fine for the Bush Baby or the Savannah so it will be one of the 2 for the braai.

Fly safe,
KlapperKnop

Postby KlapperKnop » Wed Sep 26, 2012 2:39 pm

Bundy wrote:Fiezel....you pick the Klip date chom.

It would be pretty stupid to "vote" on a Sat you cant make it. :lol:

Your choice Sir (!!)
Alan, I would like to fly when the wind will be very calm. I am easy, I have planned a couple of Saturdays this trip just to turn around at Petit as the wind is too bumpy. The day when the weather forcecast was a "fly allday" it turned out too many bumps at 6000 ft. I am watching the weather as I would like to fly to Klip, then Circus and possibly on the return via Panorama.
ZU-DJE
Rudix

Postby Rudix » Wed Sep 26, 2012 2:43 pm

Bundy wrote: That said, I really like the idea of the imprompto "weg vlieg" with the panniers full of sammies and coffee. I dont know about you okes but Bundy has been "patch flying" for way too long. There are many destinations within 50 miles to fly to and back. Once we've gone to Klip, I suggest we hit Savannah Game Lodge (up north) after. Lekker to fly in a group to a runway over the horizon, have a snack and route back. As you suggest Paul we can all head off to a pub or something afterwards too. Bundy is min gepla hieroor...as I always say I cant go home early from the airfield or else my wife will give me chores to do! :lol:

Bottom line guys, yes let's make plans but if the weather screws you, the weather screws you....that is part of the game.
I have always loved the idea of flying somewhere on a Saturday morning, it does not have to be far but there are so many runways around GP you don't have to go far. I remember a while ago I managed to do touch and goes at 12 different runways during one flight and I was never far away from my home base.

The true spirit of aviation is alive and well in the microlight community and I love it (^^)

Fly safe,