Tedderfield 2012 - Comments

Postby Bundy » Mon Feb 06, 2012 7:29 pm

Once again, thank you to everyone involved. (^^)

As your P.R.O. I would like to know what we can do to make this event even better....

We did have a few hiccups and although the vast majority of you (and me) had fun, there are always things to improve.
Next year will be bigger and better and the advantage we now have is TIME.
Now before you chuck all the rotten eggs and tomatoes at me....let me just say that the turnout at Saturday's event surpassed even our most optimistic predictions. There was a lot of airbourne traffic and ground traffic all sharing the same frequency with the entire JSR south! (**)

This will be improved for next year where we shall have preferably a seperate ground frequency as well as a dedicated airfield frequency.

Right, the floor is yours....let me have it....tell me what you found positive and negative and what you suggest we do differently next time.
ZULU1

Re: Tedderfield 2012 - Comments

Postby ZULU1 » Mon Feb 06, 2012 8:37 pm

Nothing
Centrifugal force in pure Physics does not exist, however this does not apply to Taxi drivers..

Postby Bundy » Mon Feb 06, 2012 8:55 pm

ZULU1 wrote:Nothing
Thank you Mr Lintott...I wont bother sending you an invite to the event....we've booked your space allready 8)
ZS-NEL

Postby ZS-NEL » Mon Feb 06, 2012 9:53 pm

Please do not put Paul Lintott next to me next year. I went home with a complete Chatterbox system, which I could not afford. Just put Athol between us and don't invite Piet Meyer as I already de-friend him on Face Book. :lol: :lol: :lol:

Other wise- was brilliant and there are x12 new action cams out there. So NO excuse for NOT showing some awesome footage. (^^)

Postby John Boucher » Mon Feb 06, 2012 10:00 pm

So... our dearly beloved PRO ;-) (pissy - jy raak toe weg met die Captain Morgan ## finished the Red Heart and needed replenishing!)

My comments will be reserved for in-house but here are a couple...

DUSTBINS
TALK / BRIEFING VENUES IN IMMEDIATE PROXIMITY OF EACH OTHER
MORE VISIBLE MARSHALS ON THE GROUND
AGREED ON THE FREQUENCY (we couldn't get that done in time with what was available to us)
ENOUGH BEER & COLD DRINKS ;-) AND RED HEART RUM
MAYBE A VENUE BIGGER OR BIG ENOUGH TO HOUSE THE VENDORS UNDER ROOF, OUT OF THE SUN AND RAIN?
ZULU1

Postby ZULU1 » Mon Feb 06, 2012 10:13 pm

Sorry Marius, I went home with a very very good action video camera, did the goggles job on the bike, then intended to fly in the morning...eish no intercom, sold everything in existence..

As they say the shoemakers shoes always need mending...

Marius, the Drift HD 170 is an absolute superb piece of kit, to anyone searching for a action cam this toy has a lens that will adjust the angle of attack. simply brilliant in performance also.

Mounts on tubing with a Sikla clamp from plumbers.

So for me Tedderfield rocks ! Without the show wouldnt have known about the products.

Do it again...

Zulu1
Centrifugal force in pure Physics does not exist, however this does not apply to Taxi drivers..

Postby Aerosan » Tue Feb 07, 2012 7:01 am

Well guys, I for one had a brilliant time :!: Apart from the obvious, dustbins freq, etc. it was a magic event. Thank you to all involved and to Tedderfield management for allowing this event. (^^) (^^)

There should be more fields like this

Sanna xxx xxx
Alpha

Postby Alpha » Tue Feb 07, 2012 7:38 am

I think 1 day is kjust not enough...at least a 2 day event.... (^^) (^^)

Was great,

Agree on the frequency and the dustbins...

alanmack

Postby alanmack » Tue Feb 07, 2012 8:35 am

There is an inside story on the dust bins - they were all stacked at my place ready to go but they were not collected! You may have noticed that Herman was working on my car.... at the back of the catering tent.

What was not supposed to be but which was declared to be the last trip ended with my Disco overheating - one of the radiator hose clamps gave up and well ..... you can guess - fixed now so I can take the dust bins back!

I did have a lad cleaning up into black bags and many members pitched in to help - it was after all by pilots for pilots - thanks to all that made it happen - every bit helped and without every bit - it would have flopped.

Fly safe and please do send your photo portfolios to nemo@webo.co.za
NEMO
I have now joined the ranks of wannabe pilots!
Dusty Eagle

Postby Dusty Eagle » Thu Feb 09, 2012 1:11 am

Hi Alan.

What a great event. You and your team deserve the the success you achieved.

The refuse is always a problem and on Monday, our groundsman was muttering about the dozens of bags waiting for someone to collect.

Next year lets chat. For our EAA event I arranged that council drop off a skipwaste which they collected a dew days after the event. I could do that as I am a resident with a rates account.

I also have a hoard of ex Avgas drums for refuse which you can use. We just emptied them every hour os so into the skip waste and let them fill up again.

"Uncle BOB", our esteemed and friendly ATC ended up using my balcony which he believes was perfect for for the job as it took him away from distracting crowd and commentator noise and he had a great view of all arrivals and departures.

Regards.

You are welcome to plan for this again next year, he would just need a ground station set up.
nico

Postby Bundy » Thu Feb 09, 2012 6:57 am

Thanks Dusty,

Your hospitality on Sat will not be forgotten Sir. (^^)

Postby Tailspin » Thu Feb 09, 2012 7:55 am

Ok Here go's

Firstly Yes - Ground Marshals would be a great help. I have been there and it is hell if you are one dude and there are suddenly 8 planes all wanting parking and each pilot wants to be out front. ## ## (**) (**)
Secondly Yes Dustbins - although i must say there were not alot of rubbist laying around and everybody did bring their side so s023 to everybody for not just dumping their mess anywhere.
Thirdly better ventilation in the venues and give a little gap between with a board up fron with the listing of which talk is next and times etc. Missed two talks i wanted to attend (but yes i was having way too much fun checking out the toys) :twisted: :twisted:

s115 s115 s115 s115 The some Idea's :idea: :idea: :idea:
Why not have a group say 3 to 5 people walk around and have a spot prize for the planes that fly in. not everybody wants to be part of a comp but i can say that a pilot would fall over backwards if out of the blue he geets called forward and told - Dude your plane is the cleanest, or your plane looks the most used whatever, it would also add a sense of pride to even the most humble of Pilots and their aircraft. Who says every prise winner must be a pristeen spotless plane :?:

Putting braai's out for pilots who have brought in Braai packs and have no where to tan their meat :?: was a bit of a bummer for us as i think a bunch of open fires with grids not too far from the party would have been a great place to sit and swop K@K stories.

Other than that i would say to all who got this off the ground you guys did awsome and it is a definate thumbs up and YES i will be there next year :!: (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^)

NICE ONE GUYS :!: ^*^^ ^*^^ ^*^^ ^*^^

p.s. Bundy if you do not fly in next year i will personally make sure your bakkie does not have a battery to be jumped ## ## ## s067 s067 s067 s067 s067 s071 s071 s071 s071

Postby Bundy » Thu Feb 09, 2012 12:03 pm

Noted Gav....R900 bucks later...I had a new one fitted on Monday :lol: :lol:

I am definately flying in next year! (!!)
HENNING JOHAN

Postby HENNING JOHAN » Thu Feb 09, 2012 5:03 pm

Bundy wrote:Noted Gav....R900 bucks later...I had a new one fitted on Monday :lol: :lol:

I am definately flying in next year! (!!)
Hallo,Bundy!Ask Alanmack the jumpercables that i borrow to him to start that landie of his!Direct current! (^^) I will say more dust bins as long as the flight line is.I bought a boerie roll and went down to the bottom and no dust bin then i had to carry the paper back to the tent. :roll:
FLY SAFE!!FLYBOY OBD.Aerotrike Scout 503 ZU-CAI.
Thebushpilot

Postby Thebushpilot » Fri Feb 10, 2012 6:49 pm

Personally, I thought it went off extremely well. There are certain issues that the committee are aware of but overall it was a fantastic day, well done to the MISASA committee.