Morningside Farm

Postby Madman » Wed Nov 30, 2011 2:27 pm

Hi :)

Does anybody have any info on Morningside Farm,about 70 miles west of Crosswinds.. :?:

Can we land there and do we pay landing fees..looks like a lodge :?:

Any info will be much appreciated... :mrgreen:

Thank you ##

Re: Morningside Farm

Postby Dish » Wed Nov 30, 2011 2:35 pm

see this thread on Avcom COPIED FROM AVCOM THREAD !!!!!!!!!!

Morningside Farm 254150S 0265441E _ COPIED FROM AVCOM THREAD !!!!!!!!!!

Good Morning Fellow Pilots and Conspiracy Theorists

My Farm Borders Morningside on the North Eastern side. Morningside use to belong to Richard Charter who I understand was a big player in the Aviation arena. Also maid quite a packet out of the Aviation part of the Arms deal....... He sadly drowned in the Orange river approx 3 years ago whilst canoing on his Farm in the Northern Cape.(Some Conspiracy theory about that) Beautifull game Farm with a 9 hole Golf course designed by inter alia Gary Player (I think). The 9 500 ha Morningside farm was sold some time ago to Investec who developed part of the Property by putting out erven along the Golf Estate and some in the "Bush".

Charter himself often flew in with what looked to me like a 737.

Be Safe

Makoppa"Life is a succession of lessons which must be lived to be understood"Makoppa
Rolling

Private message Top
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Report this postReply with quote Re: Morningside Farm 254150S 0265441E
by TC » Wed Mar 17, 2010 12:57 pm

Couldn't have happened to a nicer guy.

We contacted him to ask if we could use his runway as a checkpoint for the World Rally Champs in 2003 and his response was that he would shoot any aeroplane that he sees.My wife keeps saying I don't listen to her or something like that !?
TC
1k poster

Private messageE-mail TC Top
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

by Go Vert » Wed Mar 17, 2010 1:07 pm

TC wrote:
Couldn't have happened to a nicer guy.

We contacted him to ask if we could use his runway as a checkpoint for the World Rally Champs in 2003 and his response was that he would shoot any aeroplane that he sees.

Sounds like a standup fellow Go Vert
Burp!

Private messageE-mail Go Vert Top

by St Micheils » Wed Mar 17, 2010 1:21 pm

I knew Richard and had several meetings with him. Once we flew to Morningside with his PC12 and landed on this runway. a Very astute businessman.... He started out selling parachutes and eventually move on to some bigger stuff (was BAE agent in SA). Lots of high level contacts...... Morningside is a beautiful place with a great golf course ( first 9 designed by Gary Player and second nine by Tyrone Yates). Played in a charity day there once. Yes he had this accident on his farm next to the Orange river. Lots of speculating at that time....Morningside was sold to Investec.
St Micheils
HASSELL checks

Private messageWebsite

Postby Madman » Wed Nov 30, 2011 3:37 pm

Thanx Dish :mrgreen:

I shall fly there and hope I don't get shot :)

Postby Dish » Wed Nov 30, 2011 3:41 pm

Gee bud, why bother - rather look further in the thread there seems to be a very lekker lad, only a few more miles east... and he will give you a hot cross bun and a coke!!
AlanM
Ready for the first flight

Postby AlanM » Wed Nov 30, 2011 3:49 pm

I used to jump out of perfectly good aeroplanes with him
ZU-CDP Aquilla 582
Crosswinds Airfield (near Tarlton) 125.0
Enculeur de Mouches

Postby Dish » Wed Nov 30, 2011 3:54 pm

with whom?

Postby Madman » Wed Nov 30, 2011 4:28 pm

Cool dude..

Do you know which airfield it is :?:

I met a guy that has a farm not far from Potch..we should fly there sometime..he has a nice strip as well :)

Hey Alan,when do you fly..see you also from Crosswinds,perhaps we could fly together sometime :?:

What is the guys name you used to skydive with...I too used to skydive :?:

MICROHEADSON

Postby MICROHEADSON » Wed Nov 30, 2011 4:52 pm

Hey madman!.... whos dish?..... last I heard Dish was mauled by rapid tb infested felines at Mufasa lodge.... :( :) vhpy :lol:
wiskeyfoxtrot

Postby wiskeyfoxtrot » Wed Nov 30, 2011 5:04 pm

s068 s068 s068 s068 s068 s068 s067 s067 s067 s067 s067 s067 s067 s067 s067 s067 s067 s067 s067
s072 s072 s072 s072 s072 s072 s072 s072 s072 s072 s072 s072 s072 s072 s072 s072 s072 s072 s072
s071 s071 s071 s071 s071 s071 s071 s071 s071 s071 s071 s071 s071 s071 s071 s071 s071 s071 s071

EISH !!
" Excuse me while i kiss the sky "

Aeroprakt A22 Foxbat
ZU - DYE
Sport Cruiser
ZU - LSA

Postby Madman » Thu Dec 01, 2011 7:59 am

Wooohooo.... ##
AlanM
Ready for the first flight

Postby AlanM » Thu Dec 01, 2011 4:07 pm

Hi Madman, yea I used to Jump with Richard Charter, and yes, flew out of Crosswinds for 10 years, but don't have an aerie at the moment. I'll pull in and see you guys at the next braai (tell Trevor to sort out one as an end of year bash!)
ZU-CDP Aquilla 582
Crosswinds Airfield (near Tarlton) 125.0
Enculeur de Mouches
Blue Eagle

Postby Blue Eagle » Thu Dec 01, 2011 4:47 pm

Where did you all skydive? How many jumps... I also used to jump out of perfectly good aeroplanes... my last jump was in 2004 though... I did 127... yep - 100th being naked... LOL...they were good years with good memories. (^^)

Stopped on 127 because of a malfunction which my daughter was watching and she left home because I said I'd jump again.. so I had to stop jumping so she'd come home again...

Then I started to fly... (^^)

Linda
"Every day is an Air Show.... just watch the birds...."
BONZAI BELL

Postby BONZAI BELL » Fri Dec 02, 2011 7:26 am

Is it that easy to get the kids to leave home ?
ZU-EOL
Magni M-22

Postby Madman » Fri Dec 02, 2011 7:58 am

Waaaahaaaa ##

You wish :mrgreen:

Yeah,attended boogies in Margate,jumped from 16000ftamsl..was awesome...Started at Potch,went to Nylstroom,then Klerksdorp then finally Carltonville.

Clocked only 120 jumps..never did it naked as it was in the heart of winter..but did a freefly witha a short and t ##

Will do Alan,I enjoyed the last breafast braai/flour bombing vhpy

Have an awesome one..it''s FRRRRIDAAAAAY ##

Postby Dish » Fri Dec 02, 2011 8:01 am

"Started at Potch,went to Nylstroom,then Klerksdorp then finally Carltonville" -
all in one jump ????? LOL vhpy vhpy