Trip to Estcourt/Himeville

Alpha

Trip to Estcourt/Himeville

Postby Alpha » Wed Aug 24, 2011 4:19 pm

Hi All,

Has anyone flown down to Himeville in the drakensberg with a trike? If so what route did you take and any advice if I would like to fly there? (**)

Has anyone ever flown over Sani Pass?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Fly Safe (^^)

Asterix

Re: Trip to Estcourt/Himeville

Postby Asterix » Wed Aug 24, 2011 5:35 pm

I would not fly over the Sani Pass - I know there are people who have - but personally I am too scared. 4kien hoog!! Weer verander MOER vinnig! Moenie!! :evil:

If you would like to get to Himeville I would suggest the following: (based on what we did in April going down to Howick and PMB)

1. Plan a morning leg to Betlehem;
2. Fly an afternoon leg from Betlehem towards Harrismith (east) untill you get to Sterkfonteindam. Turn south, stay over the road that leads down into the Natal Midlands,through the gap, and land at Backpackers, Amphitheatre. Drink Beer.
3.Next Day: From here, you can get to Himeville easily, (weather permitting) lovely flying over the Natal Midlands, and enough places to divert to.

This keeps the Berg to your starboard at all times - you can decide how close you want to fly to it without worrying about getting OVER it - (which I personally will not attempt, look at the hight of it on your map :shock: ) Maar nou ja, ek is maar 'n sissie.. :oops:
Asterix

Postby Asterix » Wed Aug 24, 2011 5:51 pm

If you are interested - check these out:

Both are from our leg : Betlehem - Amphitheatre Backpackers. Once you are there you are in the KZN Midlands, and a lot of options are open to you. Cheers. (^^) (Beware the Dire Straits music..)

http://www.youtube.com/user/VultureSqua ... aqnwu6Jerk

http://www.youtube.com/user/VultureSqua ... p7blwzsBQ8

This one is from there down to Howick, and later on that morning we went down to Camperdown (Light Flight)

http://www.youtube.com/user/VultureSqua ... kCFVBZUO2o

Fly AROUND the BERG - we are NOT boeings.... xxx
Alpha

Postby Alpha » Thu Aug 25, 2011 8:35 am

Hi All,

Asterix, you are a scholar and a gentlemen, thank you for the advice and the heads up about the weather, it is really appreciated. (^^) (^^)
I hereby extend an invitation to the vulture squadron to join us on the dates mentioned below for this trip.

Demon, awesome pics and I must say that trip must have been amazing. I will be in a 503 so I doubt we will make it to land on top of the pass, although that would be great! Thanks for the pics, where did you guys sleep...or did you fly out the same day? I will definitely give you a call later.

I just needed to find out if our fellow aviators think it is a good idea. So a great idea it is!

Next request...

Anyone interested in joining the Chain gang for a flight to Himeville and back on the 30 Sep to the 3 Oct this year...weather permitting of course. We will be joining a group of about 8 guys on On/Off road bikes on a trip to the sani pass and back...hopefully we can show others what Microlighting is all about!

If you want to join, please PM me or call me on oh 7 one 678 nine 309

Blue Skies

Thatchman

Postby Thatchman » Thu Aug 25, 2011 10:01 am

I have been over the Berg and Katse dam (14 000ft) and its moer cold up there.

Agree to the dangers regarding weather - you really need to pick your day and maybe with a 503 its better to go around.

If you looking for a long trip that weekend, why not go to the Africa cup at Numbi. Will be lots of microlights and some of the best area to fly.

Alpha

Postby Alpha » Thu Aug 25, 2011 10:33 am

Thatchman wrote:I have been over the Berg and Katse dam (14 000ft) and its moer cold up there.

Agree to the dangers regarding weather - you really need to pick your day and maybe with a 503 its better to go around.

If you looking for a long trip that weekend, why not go to the Africa cup at Numbi. Will be lots of microlights and some of the best area to fly.
Hi Thatchman,

Thanks for the advice...I think we will definitely go around. I want to do Numbi, but this yearI have agreed to do this trip with some colleagues of mine, but I will definitely be at Numbi next year, I believe it is one hell of a Bash! (^^) (^^)

Thanks for the info

Postby Low Level » Thu Aug 25, 2011 10:37 am

:shock: :shock:

The Rieties guys NEED GT450's to carry their cahoonas around. :lol: :lol:

Postby Bundy » Thu Aug 25, 2011 11:14 am

Wow.. those are awesome pics! I'd be too bang! haha

Sounds like a very lekker trip Alpha.
Enjoy and fly safe! (^^)
Alkemac

Postby Alkemac » Thu Aug 25, 2011 1:00 pm

9980 feet enroute from Harrismith to Dragon Peaks... The view is awesome..

(Pics courtesy of my wife - appeared in one of the Microlighters mag from last year.)
DP.JPG
DP.JPG (29.42 KiB) Viewed 2340 times
DP1.JPG
ZU-DODO

Postby Bundy » Fri Aug 26, 2011 6:52 am

Hey Demon,

How did you guys land in the snow with those "maar" tyres boet? :lol:

Postby Tumbleweed » Fri Aug 26, 2011 7:25 am

Those 'maer' tyres have been anywhere and more than fat takkies have been.

Check the original Landrover mari biscuits.

Demon, you're acting flying without gloves on. Warning- don't wear your Edgars father present gloves when flying over Lesotho. :lol:

I remember clutching the bar freezing to see Big G return from 14 000 feet with a wingover and Henk hands-off taking cool pics. Awesome.
Alpha

Postby Alpha » Fri Aug 26, 2011 7:57 am

Wow...nou is ek lus :o :o

Demon...those are really wicked pics...so one day when I grow up I want one of those GT450's....

Demon when you in the Klip/FAVV area again can I bum a ride?? (^^)

Thank you for all the advice, the wheels are in motion so dates are so Far 30 Sep to 2 Oct...Drakensberg here we come...

Please join if you guys are up to it...

Fly Safe

Asterix

Postby Asterix » Fri Aug 26, 2011 8:39 am

Lets have some details first. Maybe we'll came along. But I think I'll meet you there, no way I'm flying over the Drakensberg - too scared. (**)
Asterix

Postby Asterix » Fri Aug 26, 2011 7:00 pm

Hey Alpha. Details please? ## I have been contemplating a trip down to KZN now for a couple of weeks?
Alpha

Postby Alpha » Sat Aug 27, 2011 7:16 pm

Asterix wrote:Hey Alpha. Details please? ## I have been contemplating a trip down to KZN now for a couple of weeks?
Hi Guys,

It would be great if you join us! As for the route, nothing is set in stone, but it I will say definitely not going over the "Pass" as I am also chicken... So the route looked at is Klip to Frankfort, frankfort to Harrismith, Harrismith to Amphi Backpackers and then Backpackers estcourt and then on to Himeville...that is the idea for now!

Dates are 95% confirmed, departing Klip 30 September and returning 3 or 4 october...still deciding... (**)

Would be good to have you guys with.... (^^)

Asterix, would be good to head down to the coast from there and I know madman and myself will join... (^^)

Open invitation everyone...

Fly Safe