Secunda Airshow and Fly in 20th August.

Postby Tumbleweed » Mon Jun 20, 2011 7:44 pm

We are proud to announce that the Secunda Airshow will take place Saturday, the 20th of August 2011.

Included in the display is the L39 jet, Gabriel Pitts Specials, Bush Air pyrotechnical display, Robinson R22 chopper display, Slick 360, Harvards, Impala, Yak 52, Mazda Zoom Zoom, C188 crop display, Dakota, Sky Divers, Cubby truck landing, Wesbank Pitts Specials and more.

This event promises to be spectacular, attracting a vast diversity of spectators as well as the broader flying community from the reef and surrounding platteland airfields.

All flyers are encouraged to fly in. No landing fees, just R40.00 for your show ticket.

Departure slots will be arranged at regular intervals, but we would encourage you to stay over, get lekker vrot at our festive beer garden (^^) and make use of a discounted accommodation package made available from our sponsors, Graceland Casino.

So have a flutter on the tables and bring the golf clubs. Prices to follow soon but will include a regular shuttle to the airfield. We will also raffle a free accommodation package exclusively for the fly-in pilots.

That’s not all. Several aircraft manufacturers / agents will man a static exhibit and offer introductory demo flips the next day. You may even make prearrangements and book your demo flips with the agent to jump the queue.

If any aircraft manufacturer agents have not yet been contacted, please forward me your details so that I may send you details. There are many established old school pilots, over 150 within our region including Ermelo, Volksrust, Standerton, Bethal, Middelburg and Secunda with the means to upgrade which we would like to expose to new Gyro, ntca, trikes and similar affordable aircraft.

Don’t miss out on a good marketing opportunity. Security will be provided.

Camping at the airfield would be available but very basic and not for sissies.

Fuel is available on site and 95 mogas would be readily assisted with.

See you there.

Leon le Roux.
083 629 111nine

Re: Secunda Airshow and Fly in 20th August.

Postby Tailspin » Tue Jun 21, 2011 7:42 am

Now this sounds like something i can maybe like to Join in with.
If i have nothing else booked i will definately like to Join.

Will call later for more details.

Gavin.

Postby Tumbleweed » Tue Jun 21, 2011 6:42 pm

Thats not all.

FLIPS AND FLIGHTS:
Catch a return flight in the DC-3 Dakota from Rand Airport to the Secunda Airshow @ R610.00 (ecxl Vat) per person, single ticket R310 (excl VAT) per person.
For those who wish to experience a flight in our classic prop-liner, join us for a 10 minute flight @ R250.00 per person. Tickets will be sold on the day, but those who wish to book now, Call Ronéll Myburgh at +27 11 824 2142, or send your booking request via e-mail ronell@dakotalodge.co.za

Also chopper flips, Harvard flips, huge jumping castles for the brats, and if fire engine's your thing, check what Sasol is providing for fire protection.
Blue Eagle

Postby Blue Eagle » Tue Jul 05, 2011 4:32 pm

hi there;

I would love to go; fly with someone as pax - I'll travel light (for a girl)... and I'll share fuel costs... fly in on Saturday and stay and get "vrot" in the beer tent, sleep on the air-field which is not for sissies of course, then fly back on the Sunday... would be lovely.... vhpy
"Every day is an Air Show.... just watch the birds...."

Postby Tumbleweed » Tue Jul 05, 2011 5:50 pm

You sound like my kinda girl. !!!!

Just a few more like you and we have ourselves an awesome festival. (^^) ':- >-(] :idea: :lol:
Thatchman

Postby Thatchman » Wed Jul 06, 2011 2:02 pm

Will the Captain be there?

Postby Tumbleweed » Wed Jul 06, 2011 2:36 pm

SECUNDA AIR SHOW PROGRAM FOR SATURDAY 20 AUGUST 2011

TIME AIRCRAFT DISPLAY PILOT/TEAM

7:00-10:00 Aircraft arriving

9:15-09:45 Pilot Briefing Hangar S1 All display pilots
Dakota Take-off
10:00-10:10 2 * L39 Aerobatic Display Charles Urban
Dakota Land ( Refuel)
10:15-10:30 4 * Pitts Special Gabriel Aerobatic Team Scully + Team

10:30-10:40 Bush Air C172 Display C172 Bombing Display CC. Poccok
Dakota Take-off
10:40-10:50 1 * R22 Helicopter Display Danie Terblanche
Dakota Land ( Refuel)
10:50-11:00 1 * Slick 360 Slick Display Radio Kansel Johnie Smith

11:05-11:25 4 * Harvards Flying Lions Aerobatic Team Scully + Team
Dakota Take-off
11:30-11:45 1 * Impala Impala Display Dawid Laas
Dakota Land ( Refuel)
11:45-12:00 1 * Yak 52 Monkey Display Dave Gouws

12:00-12:15 2 * Extra 300 Mazda Zoom-Zoom Brad Bennetts

12:15-12:30 3 * Yak Yak Formation Display Charles Urban

12:30-12:40 1 * Extra 300 Aerobatic Display Barrie Eeles

12:45-13:00 Dakota Dakota Flying Display Capt. Flippie Vermeulen
13:00 Take-off Sky Divers
13:00-13:30 Secunda Radio Flyers Model Aircraft Display
13:30 Sky Divers Land
Dakota Take-off
13:30-13:40 All Aircraft Departing Slot Visiting Aircraft
Dakota Land ( Refuel)
13:40-13:50 Bush Air C172 Display C172 Bombing Display CC. Poccok

13:50-14:00 Glider display

14:00-14:15 1 * Cub and Bakkie Bakkie Landing Scully + Team

14:15-14:30 1 * Yak 52 Monkey Display Dave Gouws
Dakota Take-off
14:30-14:40 1 * R22 Helicopter Display Danie Terblanche
Dakota Land ( Refuel)
14:40-15:00 3*Microlite Snake formation Jay Hyde

14:45-15:00 4 * Pitts Special Gabriel Aerobatic Team Scully + Team

15:00-15:15 1 * Impala Impala Display Dawid Laas
Dakota Take-off
15:15-15:25 1 * Slick 360 Slick Display Radio Kansel Johnie Smith
Dakota Land ( Refuel)
15:25-15:35 1 * Extra 300 Aerobatic Display Barrie Eeles

15:35-15:50 3 * Yak Yak Formation Display Charles Urban

15:50-16:00 2 * Extra 300 Mazda Zoom-Zoom Brad Bennetts
Dakota Take-off Return Home
16:00-16:10 4 * Harvards (Final Display) Flying Lions Aerobatic Team Scully + Team

16:10 All Aircraft Departing Slot Visiting Aircraft

AND THEN THE BEER GARDEN TILL LATE
Blue Eagle

Postby Blue Eagle » Wed Jul 06, 2011 2:43 pm

Mmmm - thanks Tumbleweed... still no offers of being someone's "pax".... :(
Anyway - FYI - I contacted Ronell and she says the return flight on the DC-3 is actually R700 and not R610... they will leave at approx 08:00 and the return flight will be later in the day, perhaps late afternoon. She's yet to confirm times to me. Eish - R700 is a bit steep for me for a one day trip; would have considered if it was a week-end trip...

Linda
xxx
"Every day is an Air Show.... just watch the birds...."

Postby Tumbleweed » Wed Jul 06, 2011 5:29 pm

Hi. Thanks for the heads-up. Their info to us was R610 exl vat so not far from R700.00

From what I believe though is that most seats are taken. This income is purely for ther account and just a side attraction to the show. Local flips are been offered I believe, for R250.00
Paul Meanwell

Postby Paul Meanwell » Mon Jul 11, 2011 11:37 am

Any detail on special deals from Graceland?
Drink Triple,
See Double,
Act Single!

Postby Tumbleweed » Tue Jul 12, 2011 3:13 pm

Good news is the Snake Trike formation will also be displaying.

The Graceland Casino special rates offered will be R695.00 single (B&B) & sharing R795.00 B&B

Tel: +27 (17) 620 1294

Fax: 086 295 7780

Email: FSingh@graceland.co.za

www.graceland.co.za

Thats not all.

Graceland Casino has graciously offered awesome free weekend give aways for two to several of their resorts country wide and these will be raffled exclusively to;

All fly in pilots,

All exhibitors doing static display on Saturday and demo flips on the Sunday fly-in.

There's no pressure to return home straight after the airshow. Stay over and get festive in our beer garden - shuttle service available- and book your demo flips with the exhibitors the next day.

Should any aircraft manufacturers / agents / suppliers who have not yet been contacted please foreward me your details. There is a lot of interest in the new products on the market and this is an ideal oppertunity to expose yourselves to the flying fraternity who don't troll the internet.

Leon
083 629 111nine

Postby Tumbleweed » Mon Aug 01, 2011 4:37 pm

Had several inquiries as to whether flying in on the Friday is OK.

Of course it is. The more the merrier. There's ample space to tie down and serious 24 hour roving security is provided. I've tried to organise hangar space but we're shuffling aerries in hangars to accomodate various exhibits i.e. ATNS, weather and tentatively the SAP Flying section who will present career oppertunity brochures e.t.c. to da people.

Friday evening's potjie secret is out and with the Harvards ready to offer one on one, 15 min aerobatic flips for R1 600.00 from Friday afternnon till Sunday, we might just have to test the brewerie's draft machines to check that the cash bar is all is in good working order. (^^)

I'm told that hotel reservations are filling up fast but will give a give a list of ideal B&B's if required.

For any aerrie static exhibitors still considering to display, please commit early as space is quickly being reserved and we're getting several inquiries regarding the Sunday demo flips. Join the gyros, Dynaero, Ibis and more and expose the latest models to a huge flying base.

Postby Tumbleweed » Tue Aug 02, 2011 7:44 am

Copy of a private message response.

" Hi,

You're welcome to camp over. There will be ample toilets but no offical shower. I will try find out by the amo workshop if they have a shower and will inform.

I will post the official notams but we will have atc. Change from 124.8 to 122.00 5 miles out, circuits are to the north of Sasol, runways 29 or 11.

I will arrange with the marshals to dedicate a trike camping section as close to the activities as possible.

There will be avgas sold off a truck and I will have a few 20 ltr jerry cans of 95 unleaded in my hangar.If thats not enough and I'm tied up then whoever can take my bakkie keys and run down the road to the pumps and refuel.

So far the only costs is the R40.00 show entrance fee but there seems to be some resistance by some flyers to have to pay at all. We'll re-evaluate against income before the time.

Without a main corporate sponsor we have to cover R150 000.00 just to provide fuel for the display aircraft but so far we're coping very well.

Postby Tumbleweed » Tue Aug 02, 2011 3:53 pm

A copy of a prive message which I thought to post here as genral info.

I was asked about catering facilities or the need to bring food.

" Hi,

Friday evening will be a potjie or spit braai for the incoming display pilots, atc, the club members working late with final preperations and the odd fly in pilots. If it grows then we'll probably sell braai packs and run the cash bar.

For the duration of the show there will be various food vendors, mostly by charities i.e. churches e.t.c. from boerewors rolls, jaffles, curry & rice and pannekoek. If that looks to run low then we'll probably revert to braai packs @ R25.00.

Booze will be ample and the resident restaurant is prepared to provide breakfast and coffee for both Saturday and Sunday on masse.
Mogas

Postby Mogas » Tue Aug 02, 2011 9:10 pm

Very keen to fly-inn and camp Saturday night.
R40 ticket no problem.
Shower is a must have! Please advise if it will be available or not.
Nottaquitta