Awesome Saturday!

Postby Madman » Thu Apr 07, 2011 8:00 am

Morning zzzz

Just wanted to say thanx to Ian for the awesome Flip in his Savannah,really a super funtastic aerie and a really fun to fly with pilot..only pilot I know that wheelies a plane..yip,kept the front wheel up when we landed at Aeroden..to save the front tyre ## s023

Nice place Aeroden,thank you Oom Basie and wife(bad with names,I do apologise)...I was really nice having a coffee with a stunning view of the Magalies..will be sure to fly there often :!:

Also thanx to Trevor once again for helping me put my prop back after the beautiful work Oom Piet done,what would we do without these really talented people..it is from them we learn ^*^^

The start of the day was crappy though,got to the airfield,opened the hangar and found my bird on a limp..right tyre was flat :evil:

So I think an saw the sad dissapointed took in my eye and offered a flip in his aerie.. :P More like I hinted...thanx again Ian :!:

Conrad followed in his Savannah,when I am big,I want to get me one vhpy

When we got back,we had coffee..I quickly took the tyre off and rushed to Yamaha and got the tube replaced..was back at the airfield with my bro in law,put the wheel back and WRJ was ready to fly again...yeeehaaa :!:

It was my bro in laws first time,so after preflight, I briefed him and then strapped him...so I primed the engine like always to get it lubricated..got in and told him that I am going to let rip this here cord to get the engine going,so lean right...so since I primed,the master is on,fuel pump is on,choke on,I flicked the mags on and gave a good pull as always..but this time my left elbow was stopped my bro in laws face...ouch.. :lol: He wanted to see what I was doing...lucky he had on the huge gogs,so he felt nothing ##

We did an awesome 2 hours that afternoon...so lekka,he really enjoyed it..check out the couple of the pics...
Madman Cruising.jpg
Madman Cruising.jpg (46.24 KiB) Viewed 1376 times
Propeller Head.jpg
Propeller Head.jpg (42.45 KiB) Viewed 1376 times
Ford Below.jpg
Ford Below.jpg (42.76 KiB) Viewed 1376 times
Me & WRJ.jpg
Me & WRJ.jpg (43.75 KiB) Viewed 1376 times
Madman.jpg
Madman.jpg (42.01 KiB) Viewed 1374 times
Madman & WRJ.jpg
Madman & WRJ.jpg (46.3 KiB) Viewed 1374 times
YUsie2.jpg
YUsie2.jpg (55.7 KiB) Viewed 1374 times

Re: Awesome Saturday!

Postby Big-D » Thu Apr 07, 2011 8:18 am

Nice story, what flying is all about
Nice place Aeroden,thank you Oom Basie and wife(bad with names,I do apologise)...I was really nice having a coffee with a stunning view of the Magalies..will be sure to fly there often
Oom Basie and Linda are the best, you are quite right, and yes again - The view is stunning (^^)

I take it you flew with Ian from Aeroden? real gentleman - Catch you at Aeroden next time

Tribal Croc

Postby Tribal Croc » Thu Apr 07, 2011 9:35 am

Madman wrote:Nice place Aeroden
Told ya

Aeroden is no 1 (!!)
Tribal Croc
ZU-ICanXplane
Bushbaby Explorer MK2
Tailwheel fun starts here

#exploringsouthafricanskies

Postby Dish » Thu Apr 07, 2011 12:30 pm

The bantam is the wheelie KING boet !!! front tyres lasted 4 years ha ha

good to hear yopu enjoyed our little airfield - opo in again this weekend >?.

Postby Madman » Thu Apr 07, 2011 1:29 pm

Aha..Linda,I will remember vhpy

Ian from Crosswinds..I saw the other Ian's Yellow Savannah..looks like all the Ian's love Savannah's...ha ha ha..its an Ian thing ##

Indeed Aeroden is awesome...you will be seeing me alot there vhpy

Hehe 4 years..the only time I pull a wheelie is when I taxi and hit an unexpected ramp..then my heart pulls a stoppie ##

Postby Dish » Thu Apr 07, 2011 1:35 pm

Flkipping hope so boet, over an above the ice cold beers (afterwards) is such a stunning environment in which to fly. Stones throw from Roodekoppies and Vaal koppies, hartees, buffelspoort etc.. BIG D and i often do the dam busting circuit in the arly morning - awesome... I have become VERY partial to the late afternoon flips, the last two hours or so before sundown - put plane away and SINK an icy amstel - book a room with Linda, have a lekker braai, early night and early sunday flight - home by twelve on a sunday which is awesome.....

Postby Dish » Thu Apr 07, 2011 1:58 pm

Flkipping hope so boet, over an above the ice cold beers (afterwards) is such a stunning environment in which to fly. Stones throw from Roodekoppies and Vaal koppies, hartees, buffelspoort etc.. BIG D and i often do the dam busting circuit in the arly morning - awesome... I have become VERY partial to the late afternoon flips, the last two hours or so before sundown - put plane away and SINK an icy amstel - book a room with Linda, have a lekker braai, early night and early sunday flight - home by twelve on a sunday which is awesome.....

Postby Madman » Thu Apr 07, 2011 2:03 pm

Now that is talking Dish..

When we did our flip there,Ian said the same thing,we should arrange a flyaway there,have a lekka braai,dop,sleep over and do an early morning flip before heading home..I am keen :!:

Do you guys fly every Sat :?: I too normally fly in the mornings,I flew in the afternoon as my brother in law had to work the morning...what Iike about the afternoon flying is that you start off in the ruff and it just gets smooth vhpy

It would be awesome if we could load a video like you can on facebook...not using Youtube..many people are blocked from accessing Youtube.

Couple more pics ##
My Co-Pilot Yusef.jpg
My Co-Pilot Yusef.jpg (31.04 KiB) Viewed 1297 times
WRJ on Bricks.jpg
WRJ on Bricks.jpg (24.54 KiB) Viewed 1297 times
Smile.jpg
Smile.jpg (27.58 KiB) Viewed 1297 times
That was Fun!!!.jpg
That was Fun!!!.jpg (22.29 KiB) Viewed 1297 times
Changing the flat.jpg
Changing the flat.jpg (22.9 KiB) Viewed 1258 times
Last edited by Madman on Thu Apr 07, 2011 4:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby AndyG » Thu Apr 07, 2011 2:45 pm

Dish wrote:Flkipping hope so boet, over an above the ice cold beers (afterwards) is such a stunning environment in which to fly. Stones throw from Roodekoppies and Vaal koppies, hartees, buffelspoort etc.. BIG D and i often do the dam busting circuit in the arly morning - awesome... I have become VERY partial to the late afternoon flips, the last two hours or so before sundown - put plane away and SINK an icy amstel - book a room with Linda, have a lekker braai, early night and early sunday flight - home by twelve on a sunday which is awesome.....

Dish you dog!!! What you doing booking a room with Linda!!!

Postby Dish » Thu Apr 07, 2011 2:51 pm

Funny story actually - LINDA DOES THE BOOKINGs!!! but yes, i get your jibe at the english grammar - should have read " let linda book a room for me" ha ha ha (aaand sooomeetimees Linda stays )
Tribal Croc

Postby Tribal Croc » Thu Apr 07, 2011 3:46 pm

Dish wrote:Funny story actually - LINDA DOES THE BOOKINGs!!! but yes, i get your jibe at the english grammar - should have read " let linda book a room for me" ha ha ha (aaand sooomeetimees Linda stays )
Don't let Oom Basie hear that about Loooovie :wink: :lol:
Tribal Croc
ZU-ICanXplane
Bushbaby Explorer MK2

Tribal Croc

Postby Tribal Croc » Thu Apr 07, 2011 3:49 pm

Madman wrote: It would be awesome if we could load a video like you can on facebook...not using Youtube..many people are blocked from accessing Youtube.
Madman post your vids on www.freetoadventure.com ##

Mods why can’t we load videos directly onto microlighters like they do on avcom :?:
Tribal Croc
ZU-ICanXplane
Bushbaby Explorer MK2

Postby Madman » Thu Apr 07, 2011 4:22 pm

:lol:

I will be sure to book a room... ##

Yeah,it would be awesome if we could just load the videos direct...perhaps have a section called Video Vault where all the members can upload and watch videos...without having to sign up for Youtude or anything else...