Is this Normal??
Hi All
So I have been in the market looking for a second hand Gyro and been have making a few inquiries around the place. So last week I email this this guy, lets just call him Bob. I ask Bob if he still has his gyro for sale, Bob replies yes he does and he has several other interested parties looking at the machine as well. No problems I say, However Bob advises me that if I would like him to reserve the gyro for me then I will need to make a R30,000 non refundable depost to his account. He then goes on to state the he works on a first in first served basis. Ok I know I am Australian and we aren't always the sharpest tools in the shed but Geeezzzz it this normal practice??? I can understand a request for say a R5000 deposit or similar but R30,000 non refundable does seem a little over the top.Is there something I'm misssing???
Darren
So I have been in the market looking for a second hand Gyro and been have making a few inquiries around the place. So last week I email this this guy, lets just call him Bob. I ask Bob if he still has his gyro for sale, Bob replies yes he does and he has several other interested parties looking at the machine as well. No problems I say, However Bob advises me that if I would like him to reserve the gyro for me then I will need to make a R30,000 non refundable depost to his account. He then goes on to state the he works on a first in first served basis. Ok I know I am Australian and we aren't always the sharpest tools in the shed but Geeezzzz it this normal practice??? I can understand a request for say a R5000 deposit or similar but R30,000 non refundable does seem a little over the top.Is there something I'm misssing???
Darren
- Gyronaut
Re: Is this Normal??
Sounds like 'honest Bob' is setting you up Darren. Thats a crock of %#!+
Willing buyer/willing seller. Check the machine out, if you like what you see, make him an offer - he can take it or leave it - or offer it to the next gullible guy. 10 guys put down his required R30k - he can give it away for free.
- John Boucher
Stuur vir Bob in sy moer in! 

A Bushcat is Born - CH 211 C "Super Excited"

- RV4ker (RIP)
Con. Deposit (non refundable nogal) in this market
i think bob is drinking his avgas
Did you try Wagtail
Last I checked he had a good couple Woer Woer's for sale..

i think bob is drinking his avgas
Did you try Wagtail
Last I checked he had a good couple Woer Woer's for sale..
I'd tell "Bob" to bugger off if I was you. 

- Air Hog
- Location: Kroon Airfield, Home of Rosslyn Microflyers, Pretoria
I think I know who "Bob" is. I paid a R10,000 deposit and when the deal fell through, it took more than 3 months to get my deposit back and only after threatening of exposure on this site.
Just my 2 cents
- Jabbanaught
Tell BOB to go look in the mirror from behind and read his name (bob ) or asshole
Autogyro - Calidus ZU- ???
Magni M22 - ZU EGA
- MAGNIficent
- Got my wings at last
This sound like a broker/agent and not the owner!
Hi All
Hmmm it seems the more I dig the more info thats coming to hand. It seems BOB has a bit of a reputation of taking peoples money and then not following through with his promises. I try and not take things hear from third parties to seriously as there is normally two sides to every story, but it seems a bit of a trend is developing here. The following is a cut and paste from the email I recieved.
I got a few potential buyers on this Gyro at the moment and if You are serious about the
Transaction I would require for You to put down a non refundable holding deposit of
R30 000-00 in the following account:
Maybe its time for a name and shame campaign
Darren
Hmmm it seems the more I dig the more info thats coming to hand. It seems BOB has a bit of a reputation of taking peoples money and then not following through with his promises. I try and not take things hear from third parties to seriously as there is normally two sides to every story, but it seems a bit of a trend is developing here. The following is a cut and paste from the email I recieved.
I got a few potential buyers on this Gyro at the moment and if You are serious about the
Transaction I would require for You to put down a non refundable holding deposit of
Maybe its time for a name and shame campaign

Darren
- bobthebuilder
- Pilot in Command
Just so everyone knows ....... It's not me!
I don't even own a wirly bird.
Byron Kirkland
- Jabbanaught
OzGyro wrote:Hi All
Maybe its time for a name and shame campaign![]()
![]()
![]()
Darren
Darren i agree , We should protect other guys that might fall for this !
Autogyro - Calidus ZU- ???
Magni M22 - ZU EGA
- bluesmancoops
- Pilot in Command
- Grote
- Passed radio course
John Boucher is reg , stuur hom in sy moer met Gyro en al , Hy maak van ons almal `n fool , hy kan by die Landbank loop job soek , as hy eerlik is kan hy mos sy Gyro met foto en al hier adverteer . Ek is so die moer in vir jou part dat ek sommer nou `n dop gaan drink .Cheers .
Hi All
Darren
Translation please someone.Grote wrote:John Boucher is reg , stuur hom in sy moer met Gyro en al , Hy maak van ons almal `n fool , hy kan by die Landbank loop job soek , as hy eerlik is kan hy mos sy Gyro met foto en al hier adverteer . Ek is so die moer in vir jou part dat ek sommer nou `n dop gaan drink .Cheers .
Darren