FLY MY THUNDERBIRD

Postby Blue Max » Tue Oct 26, 2010 7:40 pm

:) :)
I need some-one to fly my Thunderbird Mk 11, from my farm at Marble Hall to Springs.
Distance, 74nm.
The Aerie was ATF by T Davies and is in tip top shape.
Please, if you know of anybody who can help call me at zero 8 two 55 96115. (Paul)
Urgent..
tx

Re: FLY MY THUNDERBIRD

Postby RV4ker (RIP) » Tue Oct 26, 2010 9:35 pm

If it has 4 stroke Try Uder?

Postby Tailspin » Wed Oct 27, 2010 7:16 am

Hi RV4

It is a MKII so it will have a Rotax 582.
The MKIV has the 912/4

I think this is how they define them.
BONZAI BELL

Postby BONZAI BELL » Wed Oct 27, 2010 7:42 am

Paul
Laat weet my as die Thunderbird op Springs is . ek sal daar ook n bietjie uitvind of iemand daar jou kan help
ZU-EOL
Magni M-22

Postby Blue Max » Wed Oct 27, 2010 3:40 pm

Dankie Swannie,
Ja dit is n 582.
Ek soek nog iemand en sal bly wees as ek teen die naweek die aerie saam met iemand kan gaan haal..
Ek neem die pilot deur plaas toe, ons braai n vleisie en drink n dop, ons slaap daar Vrydagaand en Saterdagoggend vroeg vlieg ons tot by Goose se airstrip naby Pta, ons land daar, brekfis en kyk hoe daai DC6 inkom om daar te land, dan vlieg ons verder na Springs toe. Kan net lekker wees..!!!
Keep on looking.
tx
witwillem

Postby witwillem » Wed Oct 27, 2010 9:31 pm

Haai uncle Blue max , I can fly basic magnum and quicksilver so I fink I should be ables to fly this thunderbird aerie of yours . Willempie
Pat Two

Postby Pat Two » Wed Oct 27, 2010 10:20 pm

Would have loved to help... Unfortunately I only have JabiSP/ UL on my LSA license... Good luck!
Jaco P.
old no 7

Postby old no 7 » Thu Oct 28, 2010 7:32 am

Hi Paul,
Here's an offer: To any skinnky =<85kg T-Bird pilots
Meet me at Kitty Hawk, I fly you up to Blue Max in my gyro, you take the T-Bird to FASI, I bring you back from FASI to FAKT

Any takers?
ZU-f-ALL

Postby Blue Max » Thu Oct 28, 2010 5:05 pm

Hi old No 7,
Welcome back..Swannie from Springs told me you got a new Gyro...congrats..
Thank u very mutch for the offer..
Jaques Heyns from Tarlton offered to help me and I have already vasgemaak met hom.
I will see around anyway cause I,m going to be busy flying bigtime.!!!
JJJ

Postby JJJ » Thu Oct 28, 2010 7:57 pm

Enjoy your Thunderbird.
JJJ
ICEMAN

Postby ICEMAN » Thu Oct 28, 2010 10:05 pm

where are you going to hangar in springs- im in 23 with my t/bird............ perhaps we can link up in a few weeks time with 2 x birds for a kak soek patrollie? ##
ZU-CPW..... t/bird mk2
Hoedspruit Civil Airfield
Hangar 8

Postby Blue Max » Sun Oct 31, 2010 6:55 am

Hi Iceman, We brought the T.Bird in on Saturday..Had a smooth flight from the farm at Marble Hall...I handed it over to Paul Kingsley and I am not sure in witch hanger he parked it..I notice a T Bird at Springs on Sat morning when we landed, must have been you....I will start with my training on Monday morning...
Jaques Heyns from Krugersdorp who flew it to Springs commented that the rudder is to 'hard' and not suitable for a pilot in training...I wil like to hear your comments on this..
I'm always available for a kaksoek patrollie..bigtime.!!!
ICEMAN

Postby ICEMAN » Sun Oct 31, 2010 8:20 am

yip that was me in bound from microlands brekkies. I almost bought SPS about 6-7 years ago- beautiful colours..... will send u a pm.
ZU-CPW..... t/bird mk2
Hangar 8
t-bird

Postby t-bird » Sun Oct 31, 2010 9:09 am

Hi Bluemax If the rudder is too hard - hard to press down with feet, then take it to Trevor Davies, they had a front fork upgrade were they replaced the bearing on shaft a few years ago.

Perfect training airctaft and you will learn to use your feet . I have started on T-bird.

Callie
ICEMAN

Postby ICEMAN » Sun Oct 31, 2010 9:19 am

Blue Max wrote: Jaques Heyns from Krugersdorp who flew it to Springs commented that the rudder is to 'hard' and not suitable for a pilot in training...I wil like to hear your comments on this..

Taxiying with full stick back and its very light on the rudders/nosewheel. Flying is also just as light- - when i trained i almost found it "too" light and was sometimes putting in rudder control without even realizing it.
ZU-CPW..... t/bird mk2
Hangar 8