MISASA - What do you want us to do for you?

Postby John Boucher » Sun Oct 24, 2010 5:09 pm

Good afternoon all

The 2010/2011 Committee of MISASA have taken the bulls by the horns and are feverishly looking at alternative ways to add so much more value to it's existing members and new prospective members! I would appreciate suggestion and input from members what you want us to do do, what you think we are doing right and what we are lacking in.... If we don't hear anything then I'll regard it as a positive answer and just accept we are doing everything right! vhpy

With the success of the Search & Rescue presentation by Santjie White and the Accident Investigation presentation by Chris Williams at Morningstar - I plan to host 4 Regional S&R presentations for members of MISASA. Our ARCC Angel will present it and there will be representation from either CAA or RAASA on a selected topic. It is also my intention to co-ordinate this with either a Fly-In weekend or just a plain old breakfast! Please note that this is still early days and in the embryo stage but.......

The proposal for Port Elizabeth is being discussed this weekend at the PE Airshow with Skybound. Maybe the East London chaps can venture over? (^^)
A venue for KZN & Gauteng will be decided upon and would appreciate input from you guys to make it work for maximum exposure!
And finally I hope to use Vredendal Fly-In for the last one for the year

Looking forward to hearing from you guys (& gals)

JB
MISASA PRO

Re: MISASA - What do you want us to do for you?

Postby DarkHelmet » Sun Oct 24, 2010 6:11 pm

Gauteng S&R Arranged for 13 Nov at Aeroden, maybe expand on that?

Postby John Boucher » Sun Oct 24, 2010 8:15 pm

Hi DH thank you for your comment .... I think that is the one that would have taken place with the Swartkops Fly-In and follows in the footsteps of my offer? Bundy had asked for the initiation (duly done) but time was not on our side. If you guys have already arranged with Santjie - wonderful! Anything specific you would like to see or hear there? Maybe some feedback from Alex ... ?

The S&R presentations I mentioned are planned are for my schedule next year :-)
KFA

Postby KFA » Sun Oct 24, 2010 9:56 pm

What about hosting an instructors/Ap seminar for the okes in the southern side of SA. As an instructor/AP you have to attend these seminars and I can just imagine that it costs a pretty penny for the Cape guys to come up the GP if they even bother. Why not hold one in GP and one in Cape Town per year?

Postby John Boucher » Sun Oct 24, 2010 10:00 pm

Thanks KFA.... will convey this to the rest of the Committee.... :)

I do know however that it gets organised centrally to have all role players rub shoulders with each other as opposed to a North & South thing.
Last edited by John Boucher on Mon Oct 25, 2010 8:04 am, edited 1 time in total.
ZULU1

Postby ZULU1 » Mon Oct 25, 2010 5:55 am

John, obviously I know most of the top brass well, its good that all is well in each portfolio..the mag is good (Alan and Donald bullied me back into joining and did a small jig) just one thing, the name. It needs a marketing overhaul as many members still think of days gone by.

Cheers Paul
Centrifugal force in pure Physics does not exist, however this does not apply to Taxi drivers..

Postby Bundy » Mon Oct 25, 2010 6:31 am

Hi John,

DH has organised a presentation at Aeroden as mentioned and we will be attending that one but would certainly attend another one next year as well. Looking forward to it! Perhaps Rhino Park would be a good option for hosting it? Leprechaun is based there and it is a really nice venue to fly in to as well.

Postby John Boucher » Mon Oct 25, 2010 8:13 am

@ DH.... let me know if you need anything for the event!

@ Zulu1.... Paul, be ready for next year for the fly-in or presentation. You may even get a technical spot to speak about a topic eg. Transponder
I doubt if a name change again will change the perception. Alan has delivered what he promised iro Microflight Africa and it is up to us and all contributors / scribes to keep up the standard and improve. What needs to be done is DATABASE & ADDRESS integrity and see that members receive their mags!

@ Bundy.... Alan, I think we can start working on that and maybe co-ordinate that with when I fly up for a committee meeting. Will advise on dates!
Stephan van Tonder

Postby Stephan van Tonder » Mon Oct 25, 2010 12:04 pm

I see that Misasa is also not paying for the instructor seminar this year. The funds must have been used for something more worthwhile.
Nuts about Cheetahs. Petit is the place.

Postby Morph » Mon Oct 25, 2010 1:14 pm

Stephan van Tonder wrote:I see that Misasa is also not paying for the instructor seminar this year. The funds must have been used for something more worthwhile.
Stephan, it's a choice of increasing fees, or asking the instructors to pay R200 towards a lekker lunch and venue hire at Rand Airport. Not the Aeroclub/RAASA building. This is not unreasonable is it?

Postby John Boucher » Mon Oct 25, 2010 1:22 pm

Thank you for answering Morph.... but I need to add the following....

Stephan....
I see that Misasa is also not paying for the instructor seminar this year.
Contrary to what you may assume, there are costs involved and covered by MISASA. There is a moer of a lot of work, arrangements, effort & handouts etc. that go into such seminars! But Morph has covered this already.
The funds must have been used for something more worthwhile.
Be the comment out of pure ignorance then be informed - money is well spent and not flaunted or flashed around. Wouldn't it have been grand if I had to say to you that we flushed it down the toilet at Teazers?

Be the comment with malice - then I say this - Sarcasm is the lowest form of wit!

But then reading this sentence again, I get the impression that you are of the opinion that the Instructor's Seminars are not worthwhile? If this be the case - then comment constructively to assist us to rectify whatever shortcomings there may be!
Last edited by John Boucher on Mon Oct 25, 2010 11:35 pm, edited 2 times in total.
pietmeyer

Postby pietmeyer » Mon Oct 25, 2010 2:35 pm

John

Thanks for all the effort that MISASA is doing for microlights. I also enjoy the mag but seeing that you asked what MISASA can do for us, let me just ask this

How about hosting a Miss. Microlight competition (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^)
It would make for some great pics in the mag :twisted: :twisted:
Piet Meyer
Jabi J400 ZU-DUU (Wonderboom)
CFB Bantam
Survived first engine out

Postby CFB Bantam » Mon Oct 25, 2010 4:33 pm

Hi John

Andrew Pappas (Mr. Bantam - Nelspruit) asked me to contact any MISASA committe member in order to find out what competitions us Bantam pilots need to or can participate in to possibly obtain Springbok colours?

Can you supply me with info regarding such events - where and when and the procedures?

Much obliged

CFB Bantam
Brits

Postby John Boucher » Mon Oct 25, 2010 4:51 pm

@ pietmeyer - my sentiments exactly sir! Alan Mac received so many positives iro of the softness centrefold it can only "sow & reap" benefits! :-)

@ CFB Bantam - I'll forward your request to Mervyn Reynolds (if he hasn't seen it here) and put you guys in touch. PM me your e-mail address please!
ZULU1

Postby ZULU1 » Mon Oct 25, 2010 5:33 pm

John, more than happy to do a presentation, but what may be interesting is to arrange for my mates from the Mountain Resuce club. They are the nutters that hang from helicopters. I have spoken to Rob Thomas (121.5 on Avcom).

At least you are getting some response, I would still like a trade show though similar to Splash in Birmingham, it would be healthy for the sport and include the RC modelers, PPGs, obviously Gyros, LSAs and possibly the flight sims. I have mentioned this before, this becomes a window of the sport(s).

Cheers Paul
Centrifugal force in pure Physics does not exist, however this does not apply to Taxi drivers..