Postby Rudix » Fri Oct 08, 2010 9:09 am

James Bentley wrote:Hi Rudi

have sent you Duncan's details

see you tomorrow, have a safe flight

regards

James

Hi James,

Thanks, received!

See you tomorrow, will try my best to have a safe flight......

"Never be afraid to try something new. Remember that a lone amateur built the Ark. A large group of professionals built the Titanic." ;)
Dobbs
Survived second engine out

Re: Fetching new toy, lift found: GP -> KZN

Postby Dobbs » Fri Oct 08, 2010 4:40 pm

Hi Rudi, what time do you expect to arrive at Howick tomorrow, I thought if the time was right I would meet you guys there??
Rudix

Postby Rudix » Fri Oct 08, 2010 4:55 pm

Dobbs wrote:Hi Rudi, what time do you expect to arrive at Howick tomorrow, I thought if the time was right I would meet you guys there??

Hi!

We should be there just after 10 if we do not have to wait for the weather. Departure time is set for before 7am stopping at Bethlehem (167 mile leg) for fuel, from there to Howick (145 mile leg).

Would be great to see you there (^^)

Fly safe,
"Never be afraid to try something new. Remember that a lone amateur built the Ark. A large group of professionals built the Titanic." ;)
sailor

Postby sailor » Fri Oct 08, 2010 7:34 pm

Hey Boet, I will probably be to late tomorrow morning to see you guys off.
You must enjoy your trip there and back :mrgreen: :mrgreen: and fly safe.
Don't take any chances if the weather's not favourable.
(^^) (^^)

Sailor
Rudix

Postby Rudix » Fri Oct 08, 2010 7:42 pm

sailor wrote:Hey Boet, I will probably be to late tomorrow morning to see you guys off.
You must enjoy your trip there and back :mrgreen: :mrgreen: and fly safe.
Don't take any chances if the weather's not favourable.
(^^) (^^)

Sailor

Hi Uncle Sailor!

Thanks! Will try to be safe and I am sure it will be fun, looks like it is going to be a BUSY and FUN day (^^) Yes, if the wx does not play along the trip will be postponed....

Enjoy your day at the field (^^)

Fetching new toy, lift found: GP -> KZN

Postby John Young » Sat Oct 09, 2010 1:12 pm

Hi,

Now what happened? vhpy vhpy

Dobbs of damn fine vintage departed Empangeni for Isitebe to get a Light Flight weather update. Left for Light Flight and couldn't get through so diverted back to Empangeni where it was clagged an raining so diverted back to Isitebe and eventually back to Empangeni - put the braai pack in the freezer for another day.

He flew a whole heap and got nowhere. vhpy

Rudi refueled at Bethlehem and couldn't get through to Howick so diverted back to Bethlehem.

James waited at Eva's for Rudi and I waited for James and Rudi at Light Flight. vhpy

That's the way it goes with the small stuff we fly.

Next time Rudi. !!!!

John ZU-sEXY
Rudix

Postby Rudix » Sat Oct 09, 2010 5:36 pm

Yes, the best made plans of mice and men........

It all started with one of those stunning mornings at Rhino, no wind and a beautiful sunrise.

Soon we were on our way, not a bump the whole way to Bethlehem and clear skies, only some pollution. The engine was purring and life was good.

The Freestate from above.

Arriving at Bethlehem.

Fueling at Bethlehem.

I made a few calls ahead to see what the weather was and the consensus was that we should wait a hour for the clouds to lift and then depart. This was what we did. During this hour the wind started blowing, but it was a tailwind so that was good.

Airborne again it was clear that conditions had changed, it was now a VERY bumpy ride with a 40kn tailwind. Due to the turbulence we ended up at 10K feet where it was not too bad.

It was still VERY hazy with many fires burning, not idea conditions to take photos so sorry if the quality is not what it should be :oops: . Other than the haze it was clear for the first 60 miles out of Bethlehem.

Then the first clouds appeared...

Soon it looked like this, we were doing around 140kn ground speed at this time so things changed quickly.

Then it looked like this....

50 miles from Howick it looked like this, I wanted to head to Ladysmith but the owner of the plane wanted to go back to Bethlehem since he could get avgas there.

The trip back to Bethlehem was HECTIC, we were fighting the 40kn headwind and turbulence that was no joke.....

Once we landed and refueled at Bethlehem the owner of the plane decided to head back to JHB since he was worried about getting stuck at Bethlehem with thunderstorms around GP. The flight back was slow and very bumpy, I was real glad to be back on the ground, that does not happen often.....

I am so sorry we did not make it, sorry to everyone who were waiting for us! A special thanks to John, James, Cornell and Kevin who helped with weather reports and suggestions!

So, what now? Well, I do not give up, after I landed at Rhino I organized a plane and pilot (whom I know) to do the trip again. We have not confirmed a date/time yet, it depends on the weather and the availability of the (school) plane but right now it looks like the down trip will be Monday 11 October, not sure yet when I will fly back, might stay a few days on "business" vhpy

Thanks again for the support and interest everyone, will keep you updated!

Fly safe,

Fetching new toy, lift found: GP -> KZN

Postby John Young » Sun Oct 10, 2010 6:34 am

Rudix wrote:right now it looks like the down trip will be Monday 11 October, not sure yet when I will fly back, might stay a few days on "business" vhpy
Hi,

Nice photos. !!!!

Guess we will have to disturb your "business schedule" then. :wink:

John ZU-sEXY
Rudix

Postby Rudix » Sun Oct 10, 2010 7:12 am

John Young wrote:
Rudix wrote:right now it looks like the down trip will be Monday 11 October, not sure yet when I will fly back, might stay a few days on "business" vhpy
Hi,

Nice photos. !!!!

Guess we will have to disturb your "business schedule" then. :wink:

John ZU-sEXY
Hi John,

Thanks!

A disturbed "business schedule" sounds like just the right thing (^^)

cornell

Re: Fetching new toy, second round: GP -> KZN

Postby cornell » Sun Oct 10, 2010 7:47 am

The Last photo actually looks lekker for flying not that bad (**)
Petrol attendent in training
Rudix

Postby Rudix » Sun Oct 10, 2010 9:25 am

cornell wrote:The Last photo actually looks lekker for flying not that bad (**)
Hi Cornell!

I wanted to go under as the ceiling looked high but it was not my call.....

Thanks for your help yesterday, will let you know what the plans are as soon as they are firm.

Fly safe,
Rudix

Postby Rudix » Sun Oct 10, 2010 9:40 am

Update.....

Just had confirmation from all parties involved that we will try again tomorrow (Monday) morning. The plan is to leave Rhino Park at around 6am for a direct flight to Howick. Again flying a Jabiru SP, but a different one this time, ZU-CIA, thanks Dave and Eddie from LSA school!! No specific plans for the return flight yet, that will depend on a few things :wink:

The weather is looking good, lets hope it stays like that.

Postby Blue Max » Sun Oct 10, 2010 10:40 am

vhpy vhpy
Thanks Rudi for the nice pics and informative storey behind it..
Hope you chaps will have good weather next time..
Plse tell us about it again..
Rudix

Postby Rudix » Sun Oct 10, 2010 10:44 am

Blue Max wrote:vhpy vhpy
Hi Uncle Max!

Thanks! Yes, lets hope the weather is better tomorrow. We will also be flying a different, more direct route with less mountains.

Yes, will update the saga again! Hope to have some photos of the baby at Rhino this time......

I think the next plane I will buy will be based at Rhino Park, hopefully in hangar 30, then fetching it won't be as weather dependent vhpy

Fly safe,
JvTonder

Postby JvTonder » Sun Oct 10, 2010 11:46 am

Rudix wrote:
Blue Max wrote:vhpy vhpy
Hi Uncle Max!

Thanks! Yes, lets hope the weather is better tomorrow. We will also be flying a different, more direct route with less mountains.

Yes, will update the saga again! Hope to have some photos of the baby at Rhino this time......

I think the next plane I will buy will be based at Rhino Park, hopefully in hangar 30, then fetching it won't be as weather dependent vhpy

Fly safe,
En wat staan in Hanger 30?
Flying feeds the soul!