FLY IN MY PROPWASH..!!!

Postby Blue Max » Mon Jun 28, 2010 11:48 am

vhpy vhpy
My aim is to fly from my farm, near Marble Hall, heading West, via the Pans at to the Westcoast and then south along the coast right up to the Northern Border of S.A .From there I will head East and fly back to the farm.
I am go-ing to attempt to meet up with Larry Mgee and others at the Kalaharie Molopo Lodge and will record my progress..!!
If I am only halfway successful I will be happy..
You can follow me in my propwash and see for yourselves..!!!
I will keep a diary under this heading.,,..
Any interrest shown will be mutch appreciated...also help with fuel and accommodation..!!!
I will try and post pics, once I mannage to understand my camara and computor a lyttle better...
Propwash....!!!
I left 06h05..in the headlights of my Bantam bakkie...I used a torch, strapped around my wrist to see my instuments..
Bar in neutral the cruising speed of my 582 Aquilla is 46nm ph.
As soon as I got to my required flightleval my aircraft excellerated to 75nm ph groundspeed...It remained there right through my flight...At certain stages I reached a ground speed of 82 nm ph.!!!
Fly-ing in the dark at that speed had me worried for a while..
I made a happy landing and enjoyed a very nice breakfast with my friends Basie and Linda from Aeroden.
Weather allowing I will head for Vryburg and Katu with a passenger and hopefully another tailwind...
Wish me luck..!!!
Tribal Croc

Re: FLY IN MY PROPWASH..!!!

Postby Tribal Croc » Mon Jun 28, 2010 12:41 pm

Wow Blue Max it sounds like it’s going to be a awesome adventure. (^^)

I’ll be keeping a eye on this post

How long do you think it’s going to take you to do this trip?
Tribal Croc
ZU-ICanXplane
Bushbaby Explorer MK2
Tailwheel fun starts here

#exploringsouthafricanskies
JCH

Postby JCH » Mon Jun 28, 2010 10:25 pm

Fly safe and enjoy "oom" (^^)
Keep us updated on your progress.
JCH
"The more you practice the luckier you get" - Gary Player
ZU-FDA
ZU-FVX

Postby Blue Max » Tue Jun 29, 2010 12:06 pm

:shock: :shock:
Basie and Linda had coffee ready by six and 6h30 I was rolling towards Lichtenburg....
Dit was een van daai dae wat jy jouself vra of jy mal is...!!! Wat soek ek in hierdie trike op 7000 vt in die lug en bewe soos n riet...!! Kan nie land sien nie en net wolke voor my agter my onder my en even bo my...!!! (**) (**) Maar ek vlieg lekker glad teen omtrent 50 knts...Kan nie by lichtenburg land nie .!!! (**) :shock: :shock: Wil nie deur die wolke onder toe nie, te skrikkerig...omdraai.??? no way.!!!...Suid..??? te ver no way..Steek deur na Delareyville...86 knts gevlieg en kan nie land..next stop Delareyville..Sal sien of n ou daar kan land..!!! :shock: :shock:
Op pad soontoe net wolke.!!!...Weer daardie gevoel van...'wat de .F... doen jy ou man...???.. :roll: :roll:
So 10 knt miles voor Delareyville begin ek gate sien en hier en daar n grondpad onder my......What a relief!!!!!!!! :) :)
Vanaf Aeroden tot by Delareyville in totaal 140 Knt Miles..2hrs 50 min. non stop...Tank amper leeg...
Hier is n smart witman in Delareyville...Sy naam is Josef Hugo. Hy het pas sy Gyro lisensie gekry...Hy kom runway toe, help my om die trike in n hanger te sit en kom laai my by die lodge af..!!!! vhpy vhpy vhpy
More oggend na Sishen (Kato) oor Vryburg..about 150 Knt miles..Hoop die weer is reg.!!
Dankie vir al die oproepe en sms,e.. vhpy
Pics to follow.

Postby Blue Max » Tue Jun 29, 2010 4:45 pm

vhpy vhpy Most pilots have experience of the following.!! In case you have forgotten look again.!!!
kalaharie bash 004.JPG
6hoo.winter
kalaharie bash 038.JPG
n honeymoon windkous
LarryMcG

Postby LarryMcG » Wed Jun 30, 2010 9:06 am

Hi Blue

Take it easy, dont push the limits - Thursdays weather looks good!

See you in Molopo.

LM
Still Flying

Postby AndyG » Wed Jun 30, 2010 10:00 am

LarryMcG wrote:Hi Blue

See you in Molopo.

LM
Good advice,

Take off in darkness with a torch and later flying in clouds above, below, voor en agter. Asseblief Oom don't push the boundaries and spoil what sounds like is going to be a wonderful trip

Enjoy

Postby Grumpy » Wed Jun 30, 2010 10:12 am

AndyG wrote:
LarryMcG wrote:Hi Blue

See you in Molopo.

LM
Good advice,

Take off in darkness with a torch and later flying in clouds above, below, voor en agter. Asseblief Oom don't push the boundaries and spoil what sounds like is going to be a wonderful trip

Enjoy
WISE WORDS.......... (**) (**) Enjoy,
wish I was on my way too. Eish next time.
Massimo

Postby Massimo » Wed Jun 30, 2010 2:58 pm

FANTASTIC STUFF (^^) (^^) Enjoy it and please fly safe, and no more afrikaans please it takes me 3 hrs to read anything :(

Postby nicow » Wed Jun 30, 2010 8:51 pm

Paul,geniet dit en vlieg veilig!
Groete
nico@limpopoflightschool.co.za

Postby Blue Max » Wed Jun 30, 2010 10:22 pm

Propwash...30 June...
Left Delareyville for Katu via Vryburg, and Kuruman..Total fly-ing time 3 hrs 30 min..Had to remain in Kuruman until 17h15 for wind to calm down..
Uneventful smooth fly-ing....165 nm in total for the day...Did a lot of crabbing with the wind from the North and North west..
When you fly from Vryburg to Kato on a straight heading you remain above tar rd all the way...
Garry (local Microlighter) and Jeanine met me on the runway...Garry wil join me tomorrow on route to Van Zylsrus..
Thanks to everybody for interrrest shown..also my friends who phoned me and asked me to be more carefull..
Fly-ing above the cloud base was not planned..It just happened.....
At this stage I can not say how long this trip will last....??? Some times it is great to fly..!!! and on other days, you are asking youself; 'what am I do-ing..??'
We will see how it goes..!!!
Will post pics tomorow when my ground crew has sobered up.!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Brian

Postby Brian » Wed Jun 30, 2010 11:33 pm

Enyoy yr trip. It takes serious dedication and brass nuts to attempt something like this.
B safe and keep the thread running, You r an inspiration!!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Bugwar

Postby Bugwar » Thu Jul 01, 2010 10:07 am

Blue Max wrote:Propwash...30 June...
Left Delareyville for Katu via Vryburg, and Kuruman..Total fly-ing time 3 hrs 30 min..Had to remain in Kuruman until 17h15 for wind to calm down..
Uneventful smooth fly-ing....165 nm in total for the day...Did a lot of crabbing with the wind from the North and North west..
When you fly from Vryburg to Kato on a straight heading you remain above tar rd all the way...
Garry (local Microlighter) and Jeanine met me on the runway...Garry wil join me tomorrow on route to Van Zylsrus..
Thanks to everybody for interrrest shown..also my friends who phoned me and asked me to be more carefull..
Fly-ing above the cloud base was not planned..It just happened.....
At this stage I can not say how long this trip will last....??? Some times it is great to fly..!!! and on other days, you are asking youself; 'what am I do-ing..??'
We will see how it goes..!!!
Will post pics tomorow when my ground crew has sobered up.!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Ek was in Van Zylsrus laas maand op pad na Namibie. Sou nie omgee om `n "touch-and-go" op een van daai soutpanne te doen nie...
or as they say in english:
I was in Van Zylsrus last month on my wa to Namibia. Would not mind to do a "touch-and-go" on one of the pans...
SOUTPAN.JPG
SOUTPANNE
ZU-EHG - Raptor

Vulture Squadron videos
http://www.youtube.com/user/VultureSquadronZA
bryan

Postby bryan » Thu Jul 01, 2010 10:40 am

Hi Guys
The rest of the crowd departed East London and Grahamstown this morning.They will join up in Cradock and fly to Upington via Graaff Reinet Hope you all fly safely and have good tail winds. (^^) (^^)
Bryan ZU BFR
Asterix

Postby Asterix » Thu Jul 01, 2010 5:08 pm

Spoke to Blue Max a while ago - he is safe where he needs to be! He made an international trip of it - sure he will enlighten you with details.. :!: :lol: :lol: