No flying over April long weekend

Re: No flying over April long weekend

Postby RV4ker (RIP) » Wed Apr 21, 2010 8:34 am

You need a flight plan. - Sorry.... Any flight outside the circuit you need a FP and an FAC for every flight even it 1 circuit.

IIRC you fill in zzzz in type and then in the remarks box (I think) rmk/type - z149

PS
My problem is how do you activate the FP under the TMA? Who does 1 call? 119.50 or 127.4 or will they monitor 125.80, 124.80?
Wargames

Postby Wargames » Wed Apr 21, 2010 9:08 am

RV4ker wrote:My problem is how do you activate the FP under the TMA? Who does 1 call? 119.50 or 127.4 or will they monitor 125.80, 124.80?
We just call CpT Approach on radio to activate FP once airborne, or you can phone them and tell them that are taking off in 5 minutes.
The Naked Trike
ZU-AVL
"I hate CIRCLIPS!!"
pietmeyer

Postby pietmeyer » Wed Apr 21, 2010 4:26 pm

RV4ker wrote:You need a flight plan. - Sorry.... Any flight outside the circuit you need a FP and an FAC for every flight even it 1 circuit.

IIRC you fill in zzzz in type and then in the remarks box (I think) rmk/type - z149

PS
My problem is how do you activate the FP under the TMA? Who does 1 call? 119.50 or 127.4 or will they monitor 125.80, 124.80?
I have spoken to the help desk at File2Fly about the aircraft type. For all microlights it will be ULAC. As for activating the plan, I will have to call Lanseria before take-off to activate end the cancel once arrived. Alternatively you can call them on the radio after take-off and activate flight plan.

I have filed two plans for Saturday. One departing Ingwe to Aeroden and the other for the return flight. Plans area waiting approval on File2Fly. Now just to see what other crap I got wrong. The lady that I spoke to at File2Fly was very helpfull and understanding. She explained that this is how we will learn. They must have lots of patience now with all the guys never having to file plans and now are forced to file. Most of the places we fly to are not on the map so there the trick is to file the plan correctly with the destination etc.

DEP/DCT and DEST/DCT etc. all these codes will drive me nuts RMK/FAC *^&&^*^&^&@!@!~@ ##
Piet Meyer
Jabi J400 ZU-DUU (Wonderboom)
Bugwar

Postby Bugwar » Wed Apr 21, 2010 5:53 pm

Where did you get the FAC from?
ZU-EHG - Raptor

Vulture Squadron videos
http://www.youtube.com/user/VultureSquadronZA

Postby RV4ker (RIP) » Wed Apr 21, 2010 7:27 pm

SAAF for FAC. (Flight Auth Code) - Can be done on fone. Very helpful.

piet
(^^) (^^) (^^) (^^)
Well done chom. Once all the bitching is done, it not that difficult to do and I bet you the WX will be a belter and the Radio will be dead quiet... Enjoy....

Postby Boet » Wed Apr 21, 2010 7:36 pm

Gaan jy die Animal vlieg die naweek?? Wanneer vat jy hom weg Komati toe? vhpy
Wargames

Postby Wargames » Wed Apr 21, 2010 8:19 pm

pietmeyer wrote: As for activating the plan, I will have to call Lanseria before take-off to activate end the cancel once arrived. Alternatively you can call them on the radio after take-off and activate flight plan.
Hi Piet,

You only need to phone to cancel Search and Rescue. You cannot cancel a flightplan. only SAR. I would suggest not to file SAR on a flightplan, as then you cannot forget to cancel it and hence no big bill for forgetting. (^^) (^^)
The Naked Trike
ZU-AVL
"I hate CIRCLIPS!!"

Postby RV4ker (RIP) » Wed Apr 21, 2010 11:47 pm

Boet wrote:Gaan jy die Animal vlieg die naweek?? Wanneer vat jy hom weg Komati toe? vhpy
Nee. Soek nog lift terug van Komati. Sal more weer vir weeklikse flippie gaan net om seker te maak ek kan nog....

PS
As ek iemand kan kry wat vir my sooo trailer soos die kan maak wa nie plaas se geld cos nie sal ek Animal miskien kan hou.... (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^)

Dan is dit sommer hangar en al... :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
pietmeyer

Postby pietmeyer » Thu Apr 22, 2010 5:13 am

Wargames wrote:
pietmeyer wrote: As for activating the plan, I will have to call Lanseria before take-off to activate end the cancel once arrived. Alternatively you can call them on the radio after take-off and activate flight plan.
Hi Piet,

You only need to phone to cancel Search and Rescue. You cannot cancel a flightplan. only SAR. I would suggest not to file SAR on a flightplan, as then you cannot forget to cancel it and hence no big bill for forgetting. (^^) (^^)
Wargames

On the file2fly flight plans, where is the SAR and how do I set it so that it is not neccessary to call?

Thanks
Piet Meyer

Postby Gyronaut » Thu Apr 22, 2010 6:40 am

Gents

SAR is only applicable if your flight ends at a controlled airfield.
If you have SAR NML at anything but a controlled airfield as destination your flight plan will be rejected.
If you leave it out I think it defaults to NIL. Otherwise its /RMK SAR NIL.
Bugwar

Postby Bugwar » Thu Apr 22, 2010 7:45 am

We are obviously not talking the same language here.

Just got of the phone with Maj. Senekal at SAAF. "NO FLYING WITHIN 50NM FROM ELLIS PARK FRIDAY AFTERNOON WITHOUT A TRANSPONDER"
ZU-EHG - Raptor

Vulture Squadron videos
http://www.youtube.com/user/VultureSquadronZA
airborne edge
Pre flight checks done

Postby airborne edge » Thu Apr 22, 2010 9:36 am

Still cannot get a clear answer on my question of, do I need a flightplan if I take off from Crosswinds (Tarlton) 24 nm from Ellispark and head west (Carltonville way) early in the morning. Can somebody maybe tell me :?:
Wargames

Postby Wargames » Thu Apr 22, 2010 10:00 am

airborne edge wrote:Still cannot get a clear answer on my question of, do I need a flightplan if I take off from Crosswinds (Tarlton) 24 nm from Ellispark and head west (Carltonville way) early in the morning. Can somebody maybe tell me :?:
YES

No SSC, NO Flightplan, No FAC ==> No flying
The Naked Trike
ZU-AVL
"I hate CIRCLIPS!!"

Postby RV4ker (RIP) » Thu Apr 22, 2010 10:13 am

JetRanger wrote:Gents

SAR is only applicable if your flight ends at a controlled airfield.
If you have SAR NML at anything but a controlled airfield as destination your flight plan will be rejected.
If you leave it out I think it defaults to NIL. Otherwise its /RMK SAR NIL.

Not sure that 100% correct. You can have SAR for any flight, you just have to specify who with and when it would become active.

In my case I often fly from FAVB, FASR, FAJK, Taung, FADL, FABS, FARG, Coves, to either of the others with RMK/SAR FAJS+1hr.(ie Search and Rescue would be with Jhb and would become active if not cancelled by me 1 hr after expected ETA provided my FP was activated somewhere along the line - FP "expires and is deleted off the system 2hrs after ETD IIRC). If you land at a controlled airstrip the SAR is cancelled automatically (most of the time) when you land (successfully)... If you land in the sticks (uncontrolled) you would either cancel with the controller (Info or area controller) at TOD (airfield in sight) or Jhb Briefing telephonically once you have landed with the arrival time.

IIRC
Default is SAR NML and they will call you to confirm with who and how long after ETA to activate. In theory low level (124.80) flight plans are "possible" and I have done them, but raising the controller to activate and cancel are often problematic low down, especially in the "sticks".

If you forget they will call the pilot (I always put cel no. on FP) and if you answer you are obviously alive and they then get grumpy and KAK you out for not cancelling. When I do long Xcountry flights I set alarm to remind me to cancel FP 20mins after ETA. If you a repeat offender they then may take issue and take further action....
pietmeyer

Postby pietmeyer » Thu Apr 22, 2010 10:40 am

Here with the response I got from ATNS with regards to Search and Rescue in the flight plan. Now another question. If I have filed my Flight Plan but do not fly on that day. Do I still have to phone and let Lanseria know that I am not flying and that the plans wont be active?

Search and Rescue
We recognise and use 3 possible SAR requirements. It is stated in field 18. Below are the three types, along with a description.
RMK/SAR/NIL – No search and rescue.
RMK/SAR/NML – Normal Search and Rescue. To be used whenever landing at an ICAO designated manned aerodrome. Your Search and Rescue is cancelled automatically when you land, by the atc on position at the airfield.
RMK/SAR/ZZZZ+1hr – ZZZZ is to be replaced by the last atc station you had contact with, or with the closest atc manned aerodrome. Should you be landing at an unmanned aerodrome, but still desire to have SAR, you use this option. It is your responsiblity to cancel search and rescue within one hour of your planned arrival by calling the station you listed and cancelling SAR with the atc. Please note, that in the case of you NOT cancelling your search and rescue due to forgetfulness or negligence on your part, you can be held liable for the costs incurred by the ARCC to try and locate your whereabouts
Piet Meyer