Breaking the LAW & AIRMANSHIP

Postby John Boucher » Mon Apr 19, 2010 1:01 pm

Clearly the lessons learnt by the chaps involved with the Bundu Bashing @ Buffelsfontein (and the chaps that transgressed came clean I have add!) we have to go and read and hear (even on the radio!) the same saga all over somewhere else!

viewtopic.php?f=16&t=12971

This machine has fallen in the sea.... SALT sir, is in the tubes, the electronics, the engine and clearly you ingested some as well as you behaviour thereafter sets the trend on how the authorities shall approach transgressors in future!

So.... who are you?

Re: Breaking the LAW & AIRMANSHIP

Postby Tumbleweed » Mon Apr 19, 2010 2:08 pm

I don't want to condone this incident, neither know who it could be, but.

Whats the chance of this trike not being legal because the 582 or whatever has exceeded it's 300 / 500 hours so has neglected his annual AP and ATF renewal?

Or the pilot, having many hours on type, has not bothered to comply with new test flight because he hardly flies trikes anymore and is so accustomed to doing his maintenance that he'll sort out the mess himself?

Just leaning on the attitude that if the level of compliance becomes too much for some, they'll scud run the odd flippie on the old trike coz thats what they've always done anyway and comply with flying his fixed wing regularly. (Owning a 520 hour Windlass worth thirty grand and crank due)

Just highlighting possible consequences if the bearocracy i.e. part 62 or whatever (maintenance restrictions) smothers or overwhelms the legal responsibility.
Wargames

Postby Wargames » Mon Apr 19, 2010 2:38 pm

Hi Tumbleweed,

Very valid point. But I feel that we as a group should stand up against this, because this kind of behavior will only increase the paper work and administrations overs us. If it means forcing your buddy to do the right thing, then so be it. This is the only to get rid of over administration, and that is self policing.

Now, can the real houtbay splasher please reveal himself.
The Naked Trike
ZU-AVL
"I hate CIRCLIPS!!"

Postby RV4ker (RIP) » Mon Apr 19, 2010 2:41 pm

Obviously not on here.....

Postby John Boucher » Mon Apr 19, 2010 2:56 pm

Aaaah Tumbleweed....

So the transgressor repairs the trike on the fly and in the silent, cleans her up, washes out the engine with some lekker solvents and Jet A1.... puts her together, dries out the electronics with his wife's hair dryer and snip snap Bob's your Aunt - only to either do it again (crash that is) or sell the so called incident free tube & dacron as a baby that never missed a beat!

So now, I was seriously verbal re. the 582 crank issue and still not entirely chuffed with the whole thing. Even prompted me to think of putting a totally different power plant up front. I still have to comply however....
Learjet

Postby Learjet » Mon Apr 19, 2010 3:23 pm

You sure it was a trike? The heresay story I heard (from an NSRI buddy) was that from what they could establish it was probably an inexperienced kite-surfer or powered-paraglider and the oke got pretty much blown into the water and he and his canopy were fished out by a rubber duck. The oke was embarrassed at having provided some good amusement for the other beachgoers and beat a hasty retreat with a dented ego. Sorry to ruin a good witchhunt but it sounds to me like thanks to some sensationalist radio reporting (Boeing crashed into sea!) there was more smoke than actual fire to this story. Anyway, the oke and his whatever-it-was-he-tried-to-fly was gone before the NSRI even got there a few minutes later - and I can't imagine that a trike is the easiest thing to simply fish out of the sea and plop onto a rubber duck or the back off a bakkie and sommer drive off with in 5 or 10 minutes!?
Dave Lehr
Magni Gyro M22 ZU-EPZ
“You're flying Buzz! No Woody we're falling in style!”

Postby Morph » Mon Apr 19, 2010 3:33 pm

According to my work mate, who first hand witnessed the accident, it was a TRIKE, triangle wing, proper undercarraige

Postby Morph » Mon Apr 19, 2010 3:36 pm

Learjet wrote:Anyway, the oke and his whatever-it-was-he-tried-to-fly was gone before the NSRI even got there a few minutes later - and I can't imagine that a trike is the easiest thing to simply fish out of the sea and plop onto a rubber duck or the back off a bakkie and sommer drive off with in 5 or 10 minutes!?
This is what led me to believe they were trying too fly it from the beach. My mate told me they had a bakkie there and his mates were there and they loaded it up and disappeared very quickly. There were a number of ski boats that helped as well

Postby John Boucher » Mon Apr 19, 2010 3:36 pm

Ooooops.......... what now?

Witch Hunt ON! :mrgreen:

Postby RV4ker (RIP) » Mon Apr 19, 2010 3:44 pm

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: Initial report was a 747 ditched in sea....

Postby John Boucher » Mon Apr 19, 2010 3:46 pm

At least we are back at fixed wings of sorts :lol:
Learjet

Postby Learjet » Mon Apr 19, 2010 3:49 pm

According to my work mate, who first hand witnessed the accident, it was a TRIKE, triangle wing, proper undercarraige
Wow... then his talents definitely lie in marine salvage rather than flying! If you guys get his name please let me know and I'll recruit him into the diving rescue unit. Last time we had to recover an aerie (R22) from the sea it took us the better part of 2 days - and that was using a combined team of police & navy divers and the Smit Amandla salvage tug! vhpy :lol:
Dave Lehr
Magni Gyro M22 ZU-EPZ

Postby RV4ker (RIP) » Mon Apr 19, 2010 4:01 pm

Learjet wrote:
Wow... then his talents definitely lie in marine salvage rather than flying! If you guys get his name please let me know and I'll recruit him into the diving rescue unit. Last time we had to recover an aerie (R22) from the sea it took us the better part of 2 days - and that was using a combined team of police & navy divers and the Smit Amandla salvage tug! vhpy :lol:

Agreed I have seen it take longer to rescue a kite surfer or Windsurfer than mentioned...... :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:
Learjet

Postby Learjet » Mon Apr 19, 2010 4:12 pm

but hey, while we're all having some Salem fun, we did receive a report yesterday of a "microlight aircraft" which performed an emergency landing (no injuries vhpy ) on the beach in the vicinity of Koeberg? Do you think he might have got some salty beach sand on the wheel-spats? :lol: :lol: :lol:
Dave Lehr
Magni Gyro M22 ZU-EPZ

Postby John Boucher » Mon Apr 19, 2010 4:32 pm

Dave... pasop vir jou! Next time you okes visit I'll make you vrot on RUM and feed you raw steak!